We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent Nepal”
Review of Hotel Manang

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Manang
Ranked #48 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Penang Island, Malaysia
1 review
“Magnificent Nepal”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Excellent service from Staff at all levels -friendly and anxious to please. The hotel itself is well appointed, very clean and comfortable -a real haven in the midst of a busy city. We were on a fourth floor and unfortunately the lift wasn't working but that was the only fly in the ointment.
Housekeeping was first class and our room was kept spotless at all times and if "extras" were required, they were immediately on hand.
This hotel is fortunate to have a Manager who takes a personal interest in your stay and is only too willing to arrange a tour of the surrounding countryside. Without him our holiday in Kathmandu would not have been as successful and rewarding as it was.

Room Tip: Book well in advance and state your requirements
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terul1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sureshshrestha, Manager at Hotel Manang, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
We are enchanted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you were satisfied with the services rendered by our staff.

I, personally, feel proud to satisfying you and your friend for your good holiday.

Your positive review makes us in motivated for a better improved staff attitude and service. We are in hospitality province so we always doing best for our guest, who are coming here far from their home town and who loves Nepal.

Thank you for being with us and you had promise to me next visit with your more friends.

Best Regards

Suresh Shrestha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    177
    75
    18
    10
See reviews for
68
80
49
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
jalandhar
2 reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I just came back from there and i saw a few hotels before zeroing in on this one. it was clean and had power backup and a great WiFi connection. The hotel staff is very courteous. Food was great. i loved their Indian and american breakfast. Rooms were clean. There is very little you do at hotel when you go out with friends. overall Kathmandu is not a very happening place but this one is at the heart of it. whatever night life is there. you will find it around this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rickykhatri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sureshshrestha, Manager at Hotel Manang, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
We would like to appreciate to you for your kind review about our Hotel. We always give attention to serve our best service to every valuable guest at anytime.

We are awaiting to welcome you and your friend once again. For more information and further booking e-mail us any time.

Hotel Manang Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 1, 2014

The staff was very friendly and helpful at all times, The hotel was clean enough so to speak, the room was good! we got 405 which was very clean.
The food in the hotel was average, but we had a better dining experience out side.
plenty of night clubs and restaurants in the area.
Always remember to bargain :-)

Room Tip: Call the hotel 1 day before you arrive and ask for a clean room, i made sure the reception understoo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shiraad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sureshshrestha, Manager at Hotel Manang, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
We would like to give you thanks for being with us. It’s a great pleasure to know that our staffs are focusing to serve good service to you.

Regarding the food we regret that you had notified with our food and we have discussed your review with our team to improve in any ways. We would like to let you know that in our Restaurant Tandoori Chicken & Naan is unbeatable in among any restaurant in Thamel.

Hope in next visit you’ll get great tests food in our Hotel. Thanks again for your great review.

Hotel Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

This hotel was personally recommended by a local chap and we are very grateful for his suggestion. The hotel is clean, the service is courteous and friendly plus the decor and surroundings are ornate and well-kept. The hotel is also security conscious. My girlfriend and I stayed here and recommend it 100% to fellow travellers in KTM.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosco_Disco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sureshshrestha, Manager at Hotel Manang, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Really we would like to give you thanks for valuable Hotel Review. We always maintain and concentrate in guest service and guest satisfaction.

Furthermore we assure that upgrading continuously guest service. Awaiting your 2nd visit in Nepal and staying with us,

Suresh Shrestha
Hotel Manang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful hotel!! Amazing sleep. Would definitely stay at again and highly recommend.

I travelled from Canada for my Kathmandu friends wedding. My boyfriend and I stayed at the Hotel Manang.

I read the reviews before we booked regarding a camera in the room and decided to speak to the management before we booked.

The manager showed me the 6 CCTV cameras the hotel has for security purposes. One camera shows an alley way. The back alley camera can see a couple hotel windows - but not inside the room. The camera is completely for security!! There should no confusion - these are all for security reasons.

We couldn't have asked for anything more!!
- The water was hot (not always in Nepal).
- The room was quiet.
- The bed was really comfortable.
- The room had electricity the entire time (due to Nepal load-sharing it usually is only 11-12 hours a day).
- The room was warm.
- Free Wifi.
- The staff upgraded us for no reason!
- We also received a great rate.
- The staff and manager were very helpful and friendly.

Best hotel I've stayed in Nepal. Very highly recommended.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sureshshrestha, Manager at Hotel Manang, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for this helpful review in tripadvisor.com

Good to know that you regarded our services for security camera, staff beheviuor, Free WiFi and other activities are really cherished for us.

Your stay and your recommendation with us even more memorable.


Suresh Shrestha
Hotel Manang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indialantic, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed 3 nights in Kathmandu(Thamel ). It's beautiful and the staff is excellent. We were treated very well.This hotel is well managed, good facility, Close to the Thamel town attractions.
i have experienced the best service in this hotel..the rooms are really relaxing and the service is also really good..the hotel is situated in the best place of the town..so i think this is best hotel in the town.......:-)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank celen r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sureshshrestha, Manager at Hotel Manang, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
We would like to give thanks for being with us and thanks again for our hotels comment.

We are always pleased to give our best service to all our honourable guest. We are increasing more room and service infavour to Guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Have been to Ktm in Dec '13. We reached in the midnite at 2pm . The staff was excellent and gave us piping hot food even at that hour.
We were family friends and had 5 rooms. Everything was good. The food was good and so were the services.
Special thanks to Ms. Suchitra, Mr. Niranjan and F& B Head Mr. Ramesh . All of them were very helpful &made our stay special. You can contact Ms. Suchitra , owner of Majestic Travels and she shall help and guide you for entire Nepal with their wonderful services.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wgrenuka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sureshshrestha, Manager at Hotel Manang, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
We would like to give thanks for choosing our Hotel. Pleasure to know your stay with us was good and we assure you that we’ll serve our best service in coming days too.

Hope you ‘ll repeat to stay in our Hotel Again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vaishali
Hotel Vaishali
#107 of 198 in Kathmandu
335 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avataar Kathmandu Hotel
Avataar Kathmandu Hotel
#34 of 198 in Kathmandu
247 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marshyangdi
Hotel Marshyangdi
#91 of 198 in Kathmandu
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#1 of 198 in Kathmandu
568 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arts Kathmandu
Hotel Arts Kathmandu
#36 of 198 in Kathmandu
132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gaju Suite Hotel
Gaju Suite Hotel
#32 of 198 in Kathmandu
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Manang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Manang

Property: Hotel Manang
Address: Paknajol, Thamel P.O. Box 5608, Kathmandu 44601, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Manang 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Manang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manang Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing