We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simply the best”
Review of Hotel Manang

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Manang
Ranked #49 of 201 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Mogadishu, Somalia
1 review
“simply the best”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

very nice hotel,good environment,good location,all the stuffs are in the hotel very good specially Mr.suresh who is operational manager is really very good man and very helpful...

reg..

Mohammed Irshadul Haque and his wife

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KingHazari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    177
    75
    16
    10
See reviews for
67
80
49
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights before and after my trek. The staff were very friendly and warm. Rooms were good and the hot shower was a blessing in the cold nights.

The restaurant food was also delicious and had a nice European feel to it. Restaurant staff were always attentive to your needs too. This is a hotel worth returning to.

This hotel would do even better if staff could recommend visitors places and restaurants they could visit or explore instead of just recommending their in-house restaurant.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank dinnosaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Very good hotel and staff. The hotel is centrally loacted in Thamel and just start of the tourist shopping area. It has lovely decent room, staffs are very friendly and good people especially Mr. Suresh who is ready to help you at any extend. Other staff like Hema and few others who really take good care. Hotel has good facilities like Wi-fi, Bath tub, mini refrigerator etc. Over all good hotel value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 32sawant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Friendly, accommodating staff, reasonably clean, good location, and secure. Wifi worked, decent breakfast. Stayed there for a couple of nights either side of the EBC trek, and everything worked very smoothly here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 2, 2013

This hotel is strategically located in the Thamel area which is also an area where most tourists stay. There are many restaurants, souvenir shops and small pubs which are walking distance to the hotel. The hotel itself is very cozy and the rooms comfortable. What makes the stay here even more memorable is the staff. Everyone was friendly (from the manager to the guard) and the concern shown when we stayed in Pokharra/Nagarkot says a lot about this hotel and its management. Would definitely stay here again if we were to make another trip.

Room Tip: Any room would be good. Its not like you'd want to stay in the room the whole day, right?
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4Nicholas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surat, India
2 reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We were two families with four night stay at Manang during the festival time of Diwali Nov-13.We occupied room no. 406 and 409 . We all enjoyed our stay at Manang.. Being Diwali time the Hotel was beautifully decorated with fresh Marigold flowers and lamps.The rooms were comfortable and clean with cozy beds. We liked the Nepalese cultural show at the Thamel Restaurant adjecent to Manang.The vegetarian food served to us was delicious with Indian touch(Chapatis)on our request.The location of hotel is very nice on the edge of road with the Thamel market place just adjecent to it yet detached from the noisy hustle bustle of the market.Many restaurants were available at walking distance , the market place is a shoppers delight.The travel desk of Hotel Manang very well planned and organized our tour to Pokhra, Manokamna mata temple and visit to Kathmandu spots, the overall journey being very comfortable in the mini Bus provided. The hotel has commendably wonderful staff with great hospitality sense.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bindu g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I stayed in Hotel Manang with my family for five nights in October 2013. Really enjoyed ourselves. The hotel was in a great location in Thamel, although this is a tourist area, we were in a quieter part which felt very safe and not too noisy.

We were in a family room 401 which was clean, spacious and had a lovely view of the surrounding city and hills. Basic facilities which is all we needed with a hot shower and wifi in the rooms and reception (great to look up maps on google etc).
There are safety deposit boxes in the reception area (not in rooms) but staff were always present there and I had no concerns over safety.

All staff were lovely with a great sense of humour and very easy going, eager to help. In reception Anil and all staff were so helpful with lots of information on places to visit. (especially charitable organisations we wanted to help). Sanjay and porter staff were nice as well as the front gate guards! The kitchen staff were lovely too: Ramesh giri, Suresh, Krishna and chefs such as Ram who would make certain dishes that may not be on the menu (or without meat as we are vegetarian).
There was also a wee dog who I learned was part of the crew lol and although he had no name, he was very quiet and harmless so I named him Mothi (beads) :-)

The market stalls were great to browse any time of the day and there are also many restaurants within walking distance. The hotel is great in that it is not in the 'thick of it' in terms of hustle and bustle.

We saw a lot during our stay and even flew to Pokhara and Sarakhot which was amazing.
I will definitely love to return to this hotel and travel to see more of the beautiful country.

Room Tip: Other side of main entrance (back) has nice views and is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Priya01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vaishali
Hotel Vaishali
#107 of 201 in Kathmandu
336 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marshyangdi
Hotel Marshyangdi
#92 of 201 in Kathmandu
229 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alpine Hotel & Apartment
Alpine Hotel & Apartment
#42 of 201 in Kathmandu
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Avataar Kathmandu Hotel
Avataar Kathmandu Hotel
#34 of 201 in Kathmandu
249 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gaju Suite Hotel
Gaju Suite Hotel
#33 of 201 in Kathmandu
437 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apsara Boutique Hotel
Apsara Boutique Hotel
#31 of 201 in Kathmandu
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Manang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Manang

Property: Hotel Manang
Address: Paknajol, Thamel P.O. Box 5608, Kathmandu 44601, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Manang 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Manang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manang Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing