We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kathmandu”
Review of Hotel Manang

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Manang
Ranked #48 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Kathmandu”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is my first visit to Nepal for 4 days/3 nights and I really enjoyed the place, even though I only stayed at Hotel Manang and toured the Kathmandu valley and UN Heritage sites. With the very professional service given by the hotel and Club Himalaya Holidays staff, I am planning to come back with more friends to see other tourist spots in Nepal. From: tidex2000

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank polski812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    177
    75
    18
    10
See reviews for
68
80
49
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Our trekking company put us up at the Hotel Manang, but it would not have been our choice. The room was musty and the bathroom cramped. The location on the edge of Thamel made for easy access, but there are many other hotels in Thamel with better facilities for less. On the plus side, breakfast at the sunken restaurant, included in the price, was good, and the ATM just outside the hotel had the highest withdrawal limit we found - important if you want to minimize bank fees.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juwart01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I had a very pleasant experience staying and availing the services during my 8 day visit to nepal during dasara vacation. The travel desk folks NIranjan and suchitraji took exceptional care of the most minute details of our vacation from the start to the end. My family had the best vacation of their life so far. I wanted to thank hotel Manang and their affiliation Majestic tours and travels for making our trip very memorable

Sankar Natarajan
Hyderabad
India

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sankar26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I have been staying in Hotel Manang since 1999. It has come a long way and still one of the most cosiest place to stay in Kathmandu despite being located in one of the busiest tourist location in Thamel Kathmandu. The ambience and layout of the hotel has not changed very much but the progressive upgrading of the rooms has ensured that guest would have a comfortable rest in their rooms. Whats impressed me is the service standard of the staff as they are now more professional in the dealings.

Room Tip: I would recommend rooms that faces the east and on the higher floor to get a good skyline of Kathman...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zainal2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Great hotel to be in if you wish to be in Thamel, where all the shops and bustling tourist area is. Lots of restaurants around so you are never short of food. Breakfast at Manang is not that flash though

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Loong L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I stayed here with my family (total 8 persons) for three nights in August 2013. The staff was fantastic. They picked us up at the airport, carried our bags and greeted us with juice. When we departed, they farewelled us with nice-looking scarfs (that had their logos on) for all of us.

The B&B plan included breakfasts, and we had a nice one on a day when they served puuri bhaji.

In our Nepal travel package, the transportation (to all sites, to and from the airport, and to and from Pokhara) was arranged by the hotel. They provided us with a comfortable minivan operated by a decent, honest driver. We liked him, too.

This hotel has an incredibly friendly staff. The location is good too - all the shops in Thamel are within walking distance. The cost is within range, too. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SMNiazArifin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipoh, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

When I reached the airport there were no one to pick us. Frustrated I called the hotel using a friendly local guy's phone- to my surprise through phone the hotel arrange 2 taxi which was there to pick us. Upon arrival v were greeted well. They were very sorry as there were some miscommunication. I believed it is genuine.
Though breakfast was nothing to shout about - was clean, mixed of western n eastern. There was hot water through out the day. Get use to the frequent current cut off for few min.
The staff were very friendly I would say very humble in fact. The Operation Manager Suresh is a real sweet talker, u can get him at any time, most of the time ur request are fulfill.
Overall they made us feel at home

Room Tip: No great views so any room would be same
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manugar61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vaishali
Hotel Vaishali
#107 of 198 in Kathmandu
335 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avataar Kathmandu Hotel
Avataar Kathmandu Hotel
#34 of 198 in Kathmandu
247 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marshyangdi
Hotel Marshyangdi
#91 of 198 in Kathmandu
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#1 of 198 in Kathmandu
568 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arts Kathmandu
Hotel Arts Kathmandu
#36 of 198 in Kathmandu
132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gaju Suite Hotel
Gaju Suite Hotel
#32 of 198 in Kathmandu
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Manang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Manang

Property: Hotel Manang
Address: Paknajol, Thamel P.O. Box 5608, Kathmandu 44601, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Manang 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Manang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manang Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing