We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“my stay in manang”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Manang

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Manang
Ranked #51 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“my stay in manang”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

i stayed in hotel manang from the 31st of october to 6 september..Had found the hotel through travel sites and had booked online.the hotel turned out to be very nice with all the facilities one needs.I was given a room on the 5th floor with a lovely view of the city.The room was well appointed and looked very nice,,the bathroom specially very clean.The bar and restaurant staff were very friendly and helpful and the meals generally good for the price.It was a most njoyable stay with the best part being the hotel was very quite in the night inspite of being in thamel which is a place full of bars and clubs.I would recommend the hotel because i think it is good value for the price they charge..

Room Tip: rooms on the top floors with a view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dmcruise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    172
    74
    18
    11
See reviews for
65
79
47
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dharan, null, Nepal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 16, 2012

“One of the peaceful hotel in Thamel” . Thamel is the main hub for all tourist in Kathmandu. Hotel Manang is located just next to main thamel area so it was very easy for us to explore the Thamel area without much bother. Besides their service is good and not very expensive.

Room Tip: Renovated rooms are really classy. Make sure you choose them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

First visit to Kathmandu and this was our first hotel. My brother and I shared a large twin room and it was easily big enough for all our trekking gear. Very comfortable. Staff were excellent and the food was superb. We had one slight hiccup on our return from the trek and that was that because we came back earlier than expected they needed our room so they organised another hotel..... Not good, but they did look after us when we returned in the morning and the evening.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed here as it was the joining hotel for our trek with G Adventures. We checked in a few days early and were given a smaller room than we paid for with twin beds, when we explained the situation they promptly moved us to a bigger, better room at the front of the property. The firt one had no balcony but better views over the city, so either would be fine. Just make sure you get what you pay for.

When we arrived around midnight they opened up the kitchen and cooked us dinner and gave us some beer which was a nice touch. The room was clean and they provided all of the amenities you'd expect in a hotel of this price. The restaurant is great but the breakfast's aren't the best as they serve western food (which in my experience is never good in a developing country - the local breakfast's are better). There is a guard at night time and a guard dog as well. It is on the outskirt of Thamel so the street is quiet late at night.

Overall we were happy with the service and standard. However, when we left a day early and gave the appropriate notice the staff demanded money and wouldn't let us leave. It was only $30 but based on principle I refused to pay. What annoyed us the most was that another trekker from our tour had already paid for a room and the hotel staff said there was not one available and tried to put her (a solo traveller) in a dingy hotel down a dark alley. We had to get our trekking guide involved and eventually they gave her our room and we didn't pay based on us writing a positive review online.

In short, ensure you get what you pay for and don't pay until you arrive. Otherwise, you should have a pleasant stay.

We stayed here in November 2011.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms at the front have spacious balconies, the rooms at the back have better views of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ELAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homg Kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Spent two nights in Hotel Manang. Notably is the hotel's good services and friendly staff. Room size is pretty good by Kathmandu standard. My 2-beds room was quite basic and clean but is quite old. The bathroom was in a run down condition with cracks and leaking faucets. Water was brownish as well. Location is right at the centre of Thamel that has a lot of shops and restaurants but on a quiet street. Not a good value for money comsidering the many other hotel options in Thamel but acceptable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yume Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

During our last trip to Nepal in third week of September, we stayed at Hotel Manang for 3 nights with my family. we took two rooms. It was a wonderful trip, we went to Pokhara and came back again after 2 days and stayed at the same place. We choose This Hotel becouse of location, it is on the edge of Thamel but very quite and peace for soud sleep. Rooms are now new reovated with bathroom, free WiFi, mini bar facility and the good thing is 24 hours room service in room.
Morning breakfast is buffet system and excellent, it is in open garden restaurant with continued tea and coffee. Free internet in lobby, If you are non-veg, tandoori chicken and nan is delicious among the Thamel.
Hotel is absolutely service oriented. Staffs were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay. this is the mail positive aspect of the Hotel Manang.

Room Tip: Upper floors like third to fifth are suggestive, quite, sound sleep and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nirmaladarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panipat, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in a 2-beds room layout with a group of 02 couples.. It is an average 3 star hotel with basic amenities. Reception area was spacious and welcoming. However, the welcome drink was too overly sweet for my liking. Rooms were clean and comfortable but window view was blocked by a brick wall of the neighboring building still undergoing construction. There was a reasonable spread of dishes for breakfast, especially the cook-to-order eggs/omelettes were great. Food ordered via room service was good. A few downsides were the frequent power disruptions, the cleanliness of the tap water (was yellowish!) and the turnaround time of the room towels.In toilet frequent accumulation of water & toilets are so small & foul smeel spreads inside the room.

Room Tip: 1. Before booking the room first have a look in the toilet cleanliness. 2. For vegetarian there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tyagikb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marshyangdi
Hotel Marshyangdi
#93 of 193 in Kathmandu
223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vaishali
Hotel Vaishali
#100 of 193 in Kathmandu
329 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#5 of 193 in Kathmandu
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Avataar Kathmandu Hotel
Avataar Kathmandu Hotel
#39 of 193 in Kathmandu
235 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kathmandu Guest House
Kathmandu Guest House
#35 of 193 in Kathmandu
1,109 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apsara Boutique Hotel
Apsara Boutique Hotel
#30 of 193 in Kathmandu
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Manang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Manang

Property: Hotel Manang
Address: Paknajol, Thamel P.O. Box 5608, Kathmandu 44601, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Manang 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Manang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manang Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing