We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEPAL TOUR”
Review of Hotel Manang

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Manang
Ranked #55 of 207 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in a 2-beds room layout with a group of 02 couples.. It is an average 3 star hotel with basic amenities. Reception area was spacious and welcoming. However, the welcome drink was too overly sweet for my liking. Rooms were clean and comfortable but window view was blocked by a brick wall of the neighboring building still undergoing construction. There was a reasonable spread of dishes for breakfast, especially the cook-to-order eggs/omelettes were great. Food ordered via room service was good. A few downsides were the frequent power disruptions, the cleanliness of the tap water (was yellowish!) and the turnaround time of the room towels.In toilet frequent accumulation of water & toilets are so small & foul smeel spreads inside the room.

Room Tip: 1. Before booking the room first have a look in the toilet cleanliness. 2. For vegetarian there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tyagikb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (416)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

282 - 288 of 416 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2012

My family was booked there (three rooms) in the first week of September for three nights. The reception looked ok, but we were allocated rooms on the Second Floor. The rooms were sooo old and lousy, practically falling to bits and uninhabitable (nobody of us dared use bath/shower)! We complained about the rooms, and were given another three rooms on the third and fifth floors - what a difference having decent refurbished rooms!!! However, that was not all, as, due to the refurbishing process taking place, the noise of cutting and fixing tiles did not stop. Another complaint, and they stopped after around 30 minutes!!! Not such a pleasant way to start your stay in a hotel!!
The new rooms were ok, clean, modern, with AC, minibar etc. Food was served in a covered courtyard adjacent to the hotel, within the premises. Food was nothing to write home about.
The hotel is located in Thamel, and was thus surrounded by shops.
Another typical attitude of the hotel's customer service attitude is that I was charged for some items missing from the minibar. I complained about it to the Manager, and their 'cool' reply was that, once the chit was issued, then it could not be reversed, so it had to be paid. However, he was prepared to give me a free bottle of water to compensate (which had obviously cost mush more to pay than if bought from across the road). They just didn't seem to care about it all!!
All in all, if the refurbishing program is ended and all rooms would be up to standard with no works going on, and with an improvement in customer care towards its residents, it would be recommended. Otherwise, with my experience, I would not recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mfadami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in a 3-beds room layout. It is an average 3 star hotel with basic amenities. Reception area was spacious and welcoming. However, the welcome drink was too overly sweet for my liking. Rooms were clean and comfortable but window view was blocked by a brick wall of the neighbouring building still undergoing construction. There was a reasonable spread of dishes for breakfast, especially the cook-to-order eggs/omelettes were great. Food ordered via room service was good. A few downsides were the frequent power disruptions, the cleanliness of the tap water (was yellowish!) and the turnaround time of the room towels.

Room Tip: WiFi signal is stronger on the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oktray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Hotel Manang will be remembered by us only for the service quality and the special arrangements for us during our stay .
It is an average 3 star hotel.
The rooms we got were not luxurious at all. Moreover, the construction going in he hotel made it really noisy and uncomfortable for the guests.
Food was good.
Located in the heart of the city.
The market is just few footsteps away from the hotel.

The management ans staff should be appreciated for their co-operation, service and customer follow-up.

Our entire trip in Nepal was arranged through the hotel manang and they did a fairly good job.

Room Tip: Go for the newly constructed rooms which are away from the road side .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vinx_vinay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Nothing special about this hotel as this hotel is even lacking the required basic comfort/facilities .I advice not to prefer this hotel or if you still want to see go directly without any agent in between because these agents will talk about 5 star & give you 1 star rating hotel in the end.
I was double cheated by Pack & Go Holiday Pvt Ltd & their local Nepal's agent Mr. Sunil Aggarwal by providing me a package for 3 N & 4 D at a very high price .The first feeling of the room provided was of some third grade guest house .

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anjali628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Located right in the centre of Thamel so you really get to feel the hustle and bustle of the city. Staff are really friendly and helpful. Rooms clean and comfortable and modern. Wifi available in reception area. Has a bakery and ATM attached to it which is really convenient.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scoobydoo27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Hotel Manang consider to be one of the best hotel with a very good service. First of all me and my friend were given a room with an extremely amazing mountain view. Bathroom is new, clean with hot water.WiFi worked perfectly. Hotel staff is friendly and helpful(guys from the reception thank u lots))))). Convenient and quiet location. Will definitely stay in this hotel again. Thank you guys for you service,warmth and assistance.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helena m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#10 of 207 in Kathmandu
337 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avataar Kathmandu Hotel
Avataar Kathmandu Hotel
#37 of 207 in Kathmandu
264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambassador Garden Home
Ambassador Garden Home
#34 of 207 in Kathmandu
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#7 of 207 in Kathmandu
677 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ganesh Himal
Hotel Ganesh Himal
#16 of 207 in Kathmandu
629 reviews
0.3 mi away
Backyard Hotel
Backyard Hotel
#22 of 207 in Kathmandu
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Manang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Manang

Address: Paknajol, Thamel P.O. Box 5608, Kathmandu 44601, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: $36 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Manang 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Manang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manang Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing