We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel With Excellent Service!!”
Review of Hotel Manang

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Manang
Ranked #49 of 202 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
1 review
“Amazing Hotel With Excellent Service!!”
Reviewed November 16, 2011

We have spend in Hotel Manang, Great Time. Everyone was kind and always smiling. They Were helpful. Even when we left our new bags in roof before trekking, They were waiting for us when we have come back it was nice.

We will definately come back to kathmandu to HOTEL MANANG of Course.

Thank you hotel manang for giving us such a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: * Take Rooms on the fifth floor at backside of the hotel....nice view of stupa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abdul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    177
    75
    16
    10
See reviews for
67
80
49
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luton, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

As part of a 2 week trip across India and Nepal, this was possibly my favourite hotel overall. We were on a budget, so I'm sure there are nicer/fancier hotels out there, but this was great value, great service, and just had a really nice atmosphere about it.

We were very impressed by the staff, who helped us find the best things to visit (we were on a rush 1 night trip to Kathmandu). The courtyard restaurant had a cosy relaxed feel, we ate there twice and were very impressed.

The room was pretty normal, with a TV, nice big bathroom etc. The price was reasonable, a little more than we had been paying elsewhere, but we certainly weren't disappointed and feel it was worth it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobTwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

We stayed here two nights (at the beginning and end of our trip). The rooms aren't overly impressive and comfortable but they were very good by Nepali standards. The rooms were clean and the restaurant is good. The service here was very good and the staff is very helpful. There is free WiFi and, if you travel without a computer like myself, there is a computer that is free to use in the lobby.

Room Tip: I slept both times facing the main road and it was quite noisy with horns beeping (this is Nepal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn12_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
affligem
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2011

This year my wife and I stayed in Hotel Manang for 10 night and we can say that we always sleept very well, and this at the beginning of Thamel.
We sleept there years ago, but now it is a new hotel, everything is better, cleaner and more beautifull than in the past.

The room was correct, spacious and clean. Each days the room was cleaned very well by lovely lady-cleaners, and each day a new flower in the room.
We must say that all the hotel was very clean.

All the staff (from manager to cleaner) is very helpful and kindly.

The restaurant give us tastefull and more than enough food with a smile and a lot of attentions. The bakery products were delicious... and the coffee (no words).

In this hotel we received a lot of values for our money. We recommended this place to all our friends.
Rita and Daniel - Belgium

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ikkeAffligem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Pros - good localization (handy), WiFi, Staff (Good service and polite), Breakfast Variety
Cons - Bathroom need some improvements, food portions are very small, pigeons at the window sometimes are annoying.
Balance - Definitely I would stay there again.

Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank RW_Brazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
347 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Stayed here before and after a trek to Everest Base Camp with Travel & Trek.

During the first stay we had a fairly poor room with a hard bed and a view of a brick wall.

On the way back we were given a twin room with more hard beds that smelled of smoke instead of a non-smoking double. When we complained we were told that it would take a couple of hours, but they would be able to move us and we ended up with a much better room next door to the first one that had a nice comfortable double bed and didn't smell, so thumbs up for the service.

Both bathrooms weren't particularly modern, but after we got back from 2 weeks in tea houses on the trek it seemed like luxury.

Breakfast was pretty good and every other day there was bacon available which was a nice touch.

One evening before the trek we had dinner at the Thamel Base Camp restaurant which wasn't very impressive and from that point we ate out in Thamel, which provided a multitude of excellent options.

They do also offer bag storage whilst you are on the trek including safety deposit boxes for valuables too which is nice.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulwilkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed October 28, 2011

My nepalese friend selected this hotel for 3 friends and I in preparation for a trek. The hotel offers many amenities, including easy access to Kathmandu, good breakfasts and a very amenable staff. The rooms are sufficient, nothing fancy. But for the casual visitor to Kathmandu, a great value.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vaishali
Hotel Vaishali
#110 of 202 in Kathmandu
336 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marshyangdi
Hotel Marshyangdi
#93 of 202 in Kathmandu
229 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alpine Hotel & Apartment
Alpine Hotel & Apartment
#41 of 202 in Kathmandu
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Avataar Kathmandu Hotel
Avataar Kathmandu Hotel
#36 of 202 in Kathmandu
249 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gaju Suite Hotel
Gaju Suite Hotel
#31 of 202 in Kathmandu
438 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apsara Boutique Hotel
Apsara Boutique Hotel
#30 of 202 in Kathmandu
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Manang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Manang

Property: Hotel Manang
Address: Paknajol, Thamel P.O. Box 5608, Kathmandu 44601, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Manang 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Manang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manang Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing