We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably clean and well run”
Review of Hotel Excelsior

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior
Ranked #104 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Stayed here in 2011 in deluxe room for $50 a nite. I thought it was pretty good for Kathmandu and I've been to Nepal 6 times in the last 15 years......had a bit of noise from the local bars but that's thamel.....at least they stopped at midnight.....
The room was clean and comfortable..... Much appreciated....and then a free mini van to airport.....they pick up too

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shaney007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 109 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2012

My friend and I spent about 4 days in Kathmandu, all at the Hotel Excelsior. If you ever need anything, from transportation to luggage storage to tourist information to a friend, the Excelsior has it all! The staff is absolutely incredible and they will do everything to make your stay comfortable and relaxing. The rooftop garden is a sanctuary in the bustling city of Kathmandu. I suggest soaking up the sun with a cup of tea and a book for a break from the city. Thank you Hotel Excelsior!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FJWanderer4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

I stayed at Hotel Excelsior for 6 nights in December 2011 and had an excellent visit. It has a great location: the heart of Thamel, but on a side-street with less traffic. There are lots of great restaurants, shops, cafes, and bars nearby. They have two computers for internet usage in the lobby, a restaurant, and a really pleasant rooftop garden. We stayed there over the holidays so some nights the bars nearby were loud late into the night, but it is definitely in a quieter location than many Thamel hotels and usually the noise would subside by midnight. Services were excellent; the hotel staff is incredibly friendly, helpful, and welcoming. They helped us navigate the city, call taxis, and kept our luggage when we visited Pokhara for a few days. The room we stayed in was beautiful with big windows, classy furnishings, and a really comfortable bed. They even provided really warm extra blankets since it was winter.

Overall, it is an excellent hotel. I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: If you like natural light, ask for a corner room. Ours had beautiful windows on two walls!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nonkka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

I have stayed at the Excelsior Hotel on my annual trips to Nepal for many years. The staff are friendly and welcoming. I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else.
And don't miss the jewelry shop in the foyer - beautiful unique pieces.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartinaKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2011

You can find hotels of great quality in Kathmandu, but what really matter is the treatment you receive in this hotel . It is situated in the centre of thamel, the bustling part of kathmandu. The hotel is very clean and the price is very reasonable. If you like shopping or like to go out for dinner, there is no better place to stay than this hotel. Every year I go to Kathmandu for business purpose, I go straight to this hotel. The reason is very simple. I feel at home.
I I can only recommend you, but check it yourself.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tenzing W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

My wife and I travel to Nepal yearly and have stayed at the Excelsior Hotel for many years. It is in the heart of THAMEL but off the main streets so it's handy but not crazy.
Great food at the hotel restaurant and wonderful rooftop garden.
Rooms are very good; the staff warm and welcoming. The owner and his wife are charming, wonderful people; it is a pleasure to know them.
We will stay here again - and again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Single female (33 yrs old) stayed at Excelsior in October for 2 nights before trek in Bhutan and 2 nights upon return.
I liked the following about the hotel:
I found the hotel conveniently located in crazy Thamel:
- Located off the main street of Thamel, in a quite alley (yet not a scary one)
- Relatively quite at night (shops open between 6 and 7 in the morning and that creates a lot of noise due to steel roller doors being pulled). Partying does happen, so having an ear plugs is a good idea just in case.
- Large food / toiletries supermarket around the corner (1 lt bottle of water c. 10 Rp ~ 13 cents).
- All good shops like authentic North Face, Marmott etc very close.
- Hotel room was very clean, with balcony, high ceilings, bed linen very clean and beds were very firm (i liked it). TV in the room shows lots on channels (even Russian NTV).
- Bathroom in the room was clean, good hot water pressure, good drainage in the shower (very important); but overall it is an average bathroom - don't expect luxury or modern stuff.
- Restaurant area is on the ground floor next to reception - quite nice and clean, good breakfast (c. 280 Rp for a large farmer’s breakfast with bacon, potato, eggs etc). Clean. You can also have dinners and lunches there - apparently the kitchen works all day from 6am. NB: all prices have a surcharge of 10% + 13% - in total c. 23% on all food, hotel rooms etc.
- hotel provides free airport pickup - which i found of great help because once you see Thamel for the first time - you will think you will never ever find your way around.
- Hotel also changes currency on the spot (all currencies in fact incl HKD, USD, AUD etc).

The taxi from hotel to airport cost around 400 Rp at night and 300 Rp during the day / morning.
We negotiated a taxi for a full day to go to Bhaktapur (~16 km away) and Monkey Temple (inner city) for 2,000 Rp = c. $25; next day we also took a one way taxi to Patan for 300 Rp (the same back). Taxi to Pashupatinath Temple (cremation site by the river in Kathmandu inner city) was around 200 Rp one way. I also took a rickshaw from hotel to Kathmandu Durbar Square for 100 Rp one way.
It makes sense to plan your day program and get a full day taxi if you are short on time.

One of the bext restaurants we had a few lunches and dinners was Everest Steak House in Thamel (Google it before you go / or ask your hotel in Kathmandu). Great steaks - huge portions (1 is enough for 2 people), great quality meat, very tasty, relatively clean - they mention on a menu that they use iodine to sterilise dishes and cutleries (nice touch!). Steak with French fries and salad cost around 650 - 750 Rp i.e. just under $10. Everest beer was quite light, but completed the picture.

Shopping in Thamel is fun...but be careful if you prise yourself on having a good taste and think you found a really great quality stuff for which you are prepared to pay. You may be disappointed, when you find out that another shop sells the same thing for 3,000 Rp and you just paid 9,000 Rp. For the cheap things it does not matter cause majority of souvenirs are relatively cheap, but if you are on a hunt for a good quality pushmina, cashmere, jewellery (God forbid to buy that in Thamel unless you have a recommendation), make sure you check all (and I mean it), all shops in Thamel before you agree to pay the price which the shop owners asks you to pay. And never tell you price first - always wait for them to tell you their asking price...it is not as easy as it sounds - you may spend hours bargaining and still won't know what's the asking price. I was caught like that once - used my western mentality, compared the price to prices at home country and thought that the deal was not bad. I found a great looking pashmina, the best I have seen in all Thamel and paid $100 for it. I shopped for 2 more days for other stuff, and suddenly saw the same pashmina (in only one other shop in all Thamel) and the price was $40.0. What can you do - just learn.

Be very careful with jewelleries - my friend told me her story when she almost bought a string of pearls (black pearls), agreed on a price and put them on her neck to have a look. When she asked her friend to take the pearls off, she noticed that the skin on the neck had a residue of colour - the black pearls were coloured (not real at all). Very lucky :)

I found the trekking gear in abundance; however for the essential stuff like your socks, boots and rucksack, I’d stick to good brands in home country. Most of the backpacks are fine, but their stripes are not worth the price – they are almost impossible to adjust with a single pull (you need both hands etc). Trekking pants are all regular length i.e. they don’t stock a short version – none of the waterproof pants will suit as the models they stock are not adjustable at the bottom.

At the authentic North Face Shop they have quite a range of stuff, however the prices are not better than US online sites and just slightly cheaper in Australia.

Weather in Kathmandu between 7th and 22nd October was hot during the day - close to 30C - 32C. In the evening though it gets a bit cool - so a scarf or a light sweater will help.

Liquid hand sanitiser and a toilet paper (none in the toilets) is a must.

Room Tip: Room 206 had a great shower (I mean good water preassure and drainage). Room on a 5th floor had poor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LanaRus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.2 mi away
Mandala Boutique Hotel
Mandala Boutique Hotel
#74 of 210 in Kathmandu
96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ambassador Garden Home
Ambassador Garden Home
#38 of 210 in Kathmandu
670 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Nepal Tara
Hotel Nepal Tara
#120 of 210 in Kathmandu
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Karma Boutique Hotel
Karma Boutique Hotel
#84 of 210 in Kathmandu
18 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Address Kathmandu Hotel
The Address Kathmandu Hotel
#48 of 210 in Kathmandu
190 reviews
0.3 mi away
Taleju Boutique Hotel
Taleju Boutique Hotel
#34 of 210 in Kathmandu
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior

Address: P.O. Box 9432, Thamel | Narsingh Camp, Kathmandu, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range: $30 - $41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Excelsior 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing