We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Place in Town.”
Review of Hotel Excelsior

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior
Ranked #107 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best Place in Town.”
Reviewed June 12, 2011

The best place in town to stay for me.I am in Kathmandu twice a year for order winter collection for my shop in Munich Germany.
It is the good place to stop when you are passing City in shot time and the best place to stay when you come to know Nepal or to Work.
Comfort to move around and to be in the Hotel,clean,cozy,harmony..................
(Top Secret) I love the Apple pancake with Ginger Honey Tea on the Roof Top in the Morning .

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nujareenita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    44
    10
    4
    5
See reviews for
9
18
31
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Excelsior Hotel in Kathmandu for 10 days in Mar/Apr 2011 and found it delightful. If you are looking for a quiet, friendly Hotel at a good price this is the place for you. It is run by a delightful Husband/Wife team and they keep everything in tune. The breakfast is enough for a full day and the rooms are comfortable.
This is our second stay at the Hotel and it will be our choice on our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmtraveler155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

the hotal is perfectly located,high level of service,very quiet and good value for money

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yfarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 10, 2011

The rooms have been recently refurbished,and are very comfortable with the De Luxe rooms having fridges, kettles, glasses etc, but, the price remains very reasonable. There are also inexpensive rooms across the lane. The staff are friendly and help and advice is always available, with the kind owner being a fund of information about Kathmandu and Nepal. I have stayed at the Excelsior nearly every year since 1995, and feel that it is my home away from home. It is very well situated in Thamel, with supermarkets, banks, shops and restaurants nearby, and there is a very good restaurant in the Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chenresig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2010

Ok, you will survive. But there are better options for this pricerange. Linnen was not completely spotless (stains), floors in rooms could do with a makeover, bathroom was not comfortable: no hot shower (only a cold shower and one warm tap). You will slide though the shower for at least one day, beacause shower-water runs all over the floor (use sink with shoes on). Staff is very friendly, can't complain. Beds are similar to rocks. Did not have much sleep. Advantage is you won't oversleep and have lots of time to look at the temples in town. And you will be happy to get out of youre bed.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoBodySPerfect1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2010

This is an overpriced, badly managed hotel. You pay for internet in the room, but you don't get it, except intermittently and even then the connection speed is pathetic. They blame it on the ISP, but the internet café 20 metres down the street has no problems whatsoever.
You would think that US$40 per night would include electricity round-the-clock. But it doesn't. They only switch the generator on if you beg them to, and they act like they are doing you a big favor.
They don't know what clean is. Everything is full of dust and grit. The elevator breaks down or stops short of the floor you want. The maid left my room unlocked after cleaning it, so it was open to theft all day. If you complain, the manager and the reception staff become rude, verbally aggressive and insulting.
The room rate doesn’t include breakfast, but it does include blaring loud music from the huge discotheque next door. It’s guaranteed to keep you awake until the wee hours.
On top of all that, when I checked out they stung me for using MasterCard, claiming that the Finance Ministry obliges them to convert the dollar rate into local currency. They choose to use the worst possible exchange rate.
Overall, this is the most unpleasant hotel experience I have had during 20 years of living in and travelling around Asia. The Excelsior is appalling value for money. Don't let them put you through what they put me through.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bangkok_Resident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2010

I actually stayed in the Excelsior two times, before and after a 19 day trek.
The hotel is ideally located in the heart of Thamel, convenient to shopping, eating, transportation and tourist attractions.
The staff was outstanding. They allowed me to store my excess luggage while on the trek and saved my room for my return. They followed up promptly on my emails and met me at the airport on arrival.
For less than $50 dollars/day, I consider the Excelsior an excellent value.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drew3663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Blue Horizon
Hotel Blue Horizon
#85 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Temple Inn
Hotel Temple Inn
#60 of 198 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ganesh Himal
Hotel Ganesh Himal
#19 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Avataar Kathmandu Hotel
Avataar Kathmandu Hotel
#34 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Jay Suites
Hotel Jay Suites
#25 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alpine Hotel & Apartment
Alpine Hotel & Apartment
#44 of 198 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior

Property: Hotel Excelsior
Address: P.O. Box 9432, Thamel | Narsingh Camp, Kathmandu, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Excelsior 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing