We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The wait staff was competent without being cordial.”
Review of Forever Cafe

Forever Cafe
Ranked #518 of 732 Restaurants in Kathmandu
Price range: $3 - $5
Cuisines: Italian, Steakhouse, Pizza, Cafe, International, Asian, Nepali
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
California
Level Contributor
220 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“The wait staff was competent without being cordial.”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

It was raining and I was tired of looking for a place to eat so I stepped over, checked out the menu, and went in. The atmosphere is quiet and comfortable - it was a bit less than half full at 6 pm. As the place filled up the atmosphere remained comfortable.

I had a rosemary chicken with roast potatoes and vegetables. The meal arrived in about 20 minutes. The chicken was tasty but stringy, grizzly, and not tender. The potatoes were nicely cooked and deliciously flavored with rosemary and peppercorns, the veggies were crisp and flavorful but the cauliflower was cold. The portions were more than adequate. The napkin was a 5" crumpled paper square. The wait staff was competent without being cordial. The bill includes a 13% VAT tax which is ridiculous: this restaurant is not close to the quality that justifies the tax. A real mixed bag but I'm not likely to eat here again

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    9
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
74 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Just ok”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Ate lunch there with a bunch of people, they have wifi, but most restaurants do in this area. The food was nice but took a long time to come, there was some mix up with my friends orders and since we were a lot of people it took like an hour for the food to come. For me this place was just ok, there are better restaurants to experience in this area of Kathmandu.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank NCohenTelAviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Thamel's Best”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Thamel is saturated with so many restaurants now that it could be hard to find the right place to enjoy great food in a relaxing atmosphere. Look no more ! This place is fantastic ;) after traveling for awhile It was great to find a place that had a variety of different cuisines, great customer service and a great atmosphere. I cannot recommend it enough and you will not regret stopping by grabbing a bite to eat, a cup of coffee and a good book ;) enjoy beautiful Nepal !

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very tasty pork chop”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I was comfortable to walk inside this cafe for lunch of its welcome frontage. Also attracted by the coffee machine at the entrance. I gave a try on their pork chop and it was really tasty & delicious. Well marinated pork chop served with baked potatoes & some boiled French beans, carrots & cauliflower. The pork chop comes with a dip and this taste will be forever registered into my taste buds...very very nice.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carolgohteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
125 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“great food”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Great roasted chicken! Yummy~~~ I also had my first and last coffee in kathmandu in this cafe.
Good service and free wifi.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chinchillas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Forever Cafe also viewed

Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to Forever Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing