We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome place”

Nir's Toast Bakery & Restaurant
Ranked #103 of 758 Restaurants in Kathmandu
Price range: $0 - $6
Cuisines: Indian, Pizza, Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Description: Nir's Toast Bakery & Restaurant is part of the Nepalese NGO Sailung TriNetra. As such, the profits help run 5 schools and a health centre in villages in Ramchhap district, East Nepal. Since its establishment in 2006, over 40 locals have also have been trained as chefs, front of house and waiters etc.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“awesome place”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

we enjoyed our Dinner and loved hot lemon ginger with honey.The restaurant atmosphere was awesome and the service was excellent.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jliets w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clmartin69, Owner at Nir's Toast Bakery & Restaurant, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Hi,

So glad that you enjoyed the food....spread the word!

Cheers

Claire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    17
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Breakfast on the patio...”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Wonderful food at amazing prices ($150 for breakfast). Nir is personable and friendly and this little hide away a favorite of travelers. The restaurant supports schools and programs in Eastern Nepal.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clmartin69, Owner at Nir's Toast Bakery & Restaurant, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Hi,

Thanks for your kind words of support. The prices are going to have to go up soon, we are barely making a profit as the price of things from the market has gone up so much and we haven't increased our prices to reflect this. But we hope you still come and enjoy the food!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“nice place :)”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We were here for a coffee but then it changed to dinner and we ordered some momos and veg soup ,the food we ordered was looking really fresh :) We choose to sit outside and overall we had a great time .

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank sangmoyenla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clmartin69, Owner at Nir's Toast Bakery & Restaurant, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Hi, glad you could stay and enjoy the food! Please spread the word about our place!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great menu, slow and friendly with www”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

"Toast", at the end of long hallway off of Phulbhari, is a westerner's magnet. Free www and nice outdoor seats are partly why. Do watch out, after the farmer next door fertilizers it stinks in the garden and flies can be bothersome. Mostly, though, it was no problem. Plan to wait an hour from order to food on the table. Everything I had there was good, and the place is known to be okay for the non Nepali belly.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank icysparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clmartin69, Owner at Nir's Toast Bakery & Restaurant, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Hi,

Thanks for your review of our place. We are constantly training new staff as this is one of the main objectives of Sailung TriNetra..so apologies if the service is sometimes slow

Cheers

Claire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Palak Paneer yet in Nepal”
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

I see now why western students around here often eat nowhere else. Inexpensive and delicious, this "off the main drag" locale should not be missed in Boudha. (Off the main drag because it's not always entirely easy to find, but well worth it anyway). Highly recommended, and it wasn't just because of Sarasvati!

Helpful?
1 Thank YesheGyamtso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clmartin69, Owner at Nir's Toast Bakery & Restaurant, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Hi,
I'd glad that you managed to find our place, thanks for your encouraging review!
Cheers
Claire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nir's Toast Bakery & Restaurant also viewed

Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to Nir's Toast Bakery & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing