We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Om Tara Guest House
Ranked #73 of 433 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great little hostel”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I really liked this place! I stayed here multiple times. Each time, they gave me a fair price and I never felt like I was overcharged. The rooms were simple and the bed was comfortable. It was actually the softest bed I slept on in Nepal. The wifi was a little spotty, but no worse than any of the other places I stayed at in Nepal. The power will go out at times, but you will find that anywhere you go in Kathmandu. The water was hot! It's located in a good spot on Thamel.

Cons: The shared bathrooms were a little dirty. It was no worse than anything else I found in Kathmandu though. I think that's mostly due to the shower and toilet being in the same room. That's Asia though. You get used to it. They close the door on the street a little early. Kathmandu shuts down by like a 11 o'clock, except for a couple bars. If you come back after that, you might just have to knock on the door. I never had a problem with it. If you see the door closed, don't freak out. Just knock.

Room Tip: Stayed in a couple different rooms and they were all quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trace C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    17
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
15
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kathmandu
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The Om Tara family are really nice and it is a good place to stay in Thamel. Close to everything you could possibly need in Kathmandu. Near to Durbar Square. Good place to book a domestic flight maybe or even go trekking or take part in an adventure sport. All you could need!

Room Tip: Get one with a fan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dronji J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Very friendly staff but there were bedbugs all over and that's just a headache not worth having... Otherwise the location is great as it is withing walking distance to Durbar Square or to get out into the "real" Kathmandu.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kabul, Afghanistan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I agree with positive reviews here. Especially the guest house management is friendly and can arrange a range variety of things while making you feel at home. Location is almost as central in Thamel as it can get all services being within walking distance.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank PowderPiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varanasi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Om Tara Guest House is a very nice place to stay in Thamel. Centrally located, clean room for a good price and service and friendly staff. Wifi is working all day, they have hot shower 24 hours and it was easy to get along with the other guests. the staff is trying to make you feel at home, which I did because of their service, advice and chats.
It is a good location to discover Thamel and the sights on walking distance (Durbar Square, Swayambhunath, Narayanhithi Palace Museum), for places further away the staff is always willing to advise you about the options to visit other sights in Kathmandu and the Kathmandu Valley.
The guest house is on walking distance from the bars and restaurants (ask the staff and they can advice you), a small supermarket and all kind of shops are at the same street and around the block.
I really enjoyed my stay in Om Tara Guest House and recommend it to all my friends and when I get back to Kathmandu, I know where to stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tijnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandnes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Nice clean place with good room. 24hour reception and free wifi in the rooms even when the power is out (witch happens all the time in Kathmandu due to loadshare) Many bars resturants and Stores in the area.

Great personel witch will help you with travel advice or any other thing you need.

Recommend to Stay here to all my friends!!! Its like a second home, The Omtara Geusthouse.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the main can be very noise but courtyard side is very quite and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Haystackbaloon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

When looking for a place to stay near Thamel in Kathmandu this place will treat you right. It is close enough to the heart of Thamel without being suffocated by the mobs of people. There are a few very good restaurants within a minutes walk, lots of shops with every item imaginable, and a small convenient store for the essentials. The rooms are quaint and well taken care of, and the thing that makes this the ideal place to stay in is the staff. They are attentive to anything that you may need and provide services and information for trekking, buses, and traveling needs. Room prices here are more than reasonable, and will fit into any budget you have. They also have free wifi and hot water round the clock. Whenever I find my way back to Kathmandu, this is the place i will stay yet again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jafar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#2 of 198 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#33 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#50 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#11 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#7 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#37 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Om Tara Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Om Tara Guest House

Property: Om Tara Guest House
Address: Near JP Road, Kathmandu 5034, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 433 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Om Tara Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your Om Tara Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing