We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and simple place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Backpackers INN
Ranked #80 of 477 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 19, 2013

A nice and simple place to stay before or after some of the hiking trips. Location of the hotel in right in Thamel area. surrounded by shops and restaurant.

The front office staff are very friendly and able to assist you for your onwards trips and transport.

However the setback is the noise , as such the sleep quality is not so good specially before 10pm and after 5am.

However highly recommended for a night or two.

Room Tip: Try to choose the room at 4th floor which will reduce the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tamil1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

28 - 34 of 52 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed at Hotel Backpackers for four days while in Thamel. The hotel is a steal for the amenities provided- hot water, very very clean, friendly service and great location. Would recommend having some ear plugs due to some dogs that live near by and bark pretty loud but that is out of the hotels control. The roof top restaurant offers a wide selection of food for a great price but leave plenty of time for preparation as the meals take a while to come out. Overall if I ever make it back to Kathmandu, I will definitely be staying here again! Thanks

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed here on either end of our trek and it was a great place for the price. It is very basic, but it is everything you need. The first time we stayed, we did not have hot water in our room (407) but the room when we came back (405) had hot water and we appreciated a hot shower after 10 days of trekking. The fact that we had a private bathroom in our room was great. Some rooms have shared bathrooms. The front desk people are very nice and recognize you as you walk in and out from shopping. They also sell water bottles up front for 25 rupees.

At first, you don't think it looks clean, but we saw multiple times people scrubbing floors so it is clean, just run down. It is noisy from the traffic of Thamel and dogs so ear plugs ARE A MUST if you want to sleep and a sleep mask is a good idea as well.

There is a restaurant on the rooftop which is dirt cheap and pretty good (expect instant coffee) but plan to wait a bit. The service is not fast and one morning we ordered, they had to run out to the shop to buy ingredients for what we ordered. You can call ahead from your room and order which is a good idea if you are pressed for time.

Overall, for less than 20 dollars a night, this place is great. It is in the heart of Thamel, is safe and I would totally stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blondie4908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I spent one week here. The staff are very helpful, especially Dashruth, the manager. It is very good value for money, I paid $10 a night for a single with ensuite.
The shower was always really hot and the bed was comfortable. It also had good cable tv! It has a nice roof top terrace. The food and drink werent up to the same standard but due to its great location, in the heart of Thamel, there are numerous place to eat and drink. This didnt bother me as i like to eat and drink somewhere other than my hotel.It was quieter than I thought it would be. I would highly recommend Backpackers Inn for the budget traveller who wants abit of comfort.

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the back away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Were here for few nights. Staff are friendly and attentive. Rooms facing street are quite noisy at nights and in the early morning, make sure have ear plugs on. Has hot shower, room rate will be more reasonable if can discuss in person. Location is just a bit under Thamel, called Jyatha, easy to walk around, 30 mins walk from the bus stop dropping from Chitwan.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank klin13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

nice hotel in Thamel !the host is really helpful and kind! location is great,nearly center of Thamel !room is clear and comfortable,we need to book some bus ticket,the host will help you and Charge very reasonable fee,that is really important, cause we have a bad experience with another Hotel...,anyway,this is a good place to stay,and just like home!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed here one week.Good location,very clean and price is good. Easy for shopping.Staffs are very friendly and the boss is very kind.很好很干净很便宜。楼下就是川菜馆,隔壁就是拉面馆,对面也是川菜馆。购物很方便。是背包族理想的居住地。屋顶有花园和餐厅。2013年3月到该店居住,来回住了几次,感觉性价比不错。位置也很方便,交通也很方便。

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sw l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#35 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,689 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#57 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,258 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#15 of 210 in Kathmandu
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#4 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,294 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#58 of 210 in Kathmandu
716 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Family Home
Hotel Family Home
#5 of 210 in Kathmandu
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Backpackers INN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Backpackers INN

Address: Jyatha | Thamel, Kathmandu 977, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 477 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range: $12 - $18 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Backpackers INN is located in heart of Thamel, Kathmandu’s hub of touristic area within walking distance of the Royal Palace, the shopping and business district and areas of tourist interest. The hotel is unique, starting from its prime location. The service is friendly, polite, personal, catering to all the needs of a discerning guest. The hotel aim's to provide standard accommodation and service with a touch of warm Nepalese hospitality at best prices.24 Rooms of International Standard neat and clean, homely and relaxing accommodation. All rooms have en-suite Bathroom with 24 hour hot and cold shower, cable TV, Telephone, wall Fan, WI FI, Room Service, Laundry & Valet Service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Backpackers INN reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing