We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Valley Guesthouse
Nearby Hotels
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$168
$150
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$97
$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$40
$29
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$37
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Thamel(Kathmandu)
$34
$25
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Nepalaya(Kathmandu)(Great Value!)
$16
$14
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
$29
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Shambala(Kathmandu)
$77
$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveler rating
18
14
12
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
14
12
4
1
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 49 reviews
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Great location and a very good breakfast included. But the budget rooms are on the dark side of the building and can be cold and moisty. You might have to ask for an extra blanket in the dry/winter season. The large sun-side rooms are not really budget rooms. Rooftop terrace is a great place, nice Stupa view, and can be very warm and relaxing. But as most of the building it needs soms renovation. The Dutch and Nepalese flagg on the roof are for example worn down, and that's a shame! Seems that the managment does not pay much attention to the (rented) building, they don't live nearby and leave it over to the staff most of the time. The staff is kind and modest, but not very involved. A lot of Dutch visitors. WiFi worked in room 107. Most times I had a cold shower, but that's also depending on when to take a shower. And it seems that rooms on the top floor have more hot water. In general it's better to check the reviews if you want to stay in a place with a guarenteed hot shower in Nepal (which I did find).

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

This guesthouse is clean and has nice rooms. From the rooftop terrace you can overlook Kathmandu, and see the Boddhanath stupa. The location is great because of the atmosphere around this stupa, and it is quiet at night :) The only downside is that half of the personnel is not really friendly. They seem to care more about their laptop and Facebook than helping people. Other half is helpful, so it depends on who you deal with. I would recommend this guesthouse if you seek a quiet and clean place in Kathmandu!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelKv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

The location of this guesthouse is virtually unbeatable. It is very close to Boudhanath and not too far from Pashupatinath. The staff are wonderful and the facilities are quaint and comfortable. I visit Kathmandu often and can't imagine staying anywhere else for as long as budget is of any concern (likely, forever).

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BJ G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

The Valley Guesthouse has a great location and pretty reasonable price range. We stayed in the "large apartment", which was very spacious. This would be a great place to stay for a couple of days during a warm time of year, but it seemed like the longer we stayed the more chance there was for things to go wrong - the kitchen sink seemed to drain out on the floor, we went through 3 doorknobs (the first one didn't lock and the next one locked too well and we had to break it to get in to the apartment), and the toilet shot water out of the handle whenever you flushed. The wifi worked really well for the first month that we were there, and then hardly at all for the second. Also would not recommend staying there in winter - I only had about 5 hot showers in 2 months and it seemed like the building wouldn't hold much heat. Having said that, we had no real major complaints during our stay. The breakfast was excellent, especially the coffee. The staff were helpful and friendly and generally tried to sort it out if something was amiss.

Room Tip: The large apartment is spacious, but on the noisier side of the building (the side nearer the gate).
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarlaBNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Located just beyond the fabulous Garden Kitchen restaurant off the main path around Bodhannath Stupa, this place has warm service and clean, basic rooms. We did not get a stupa view room, unfortunately, but as expats looking for a chilled night out, were not disappointed. Rooms were clean, comfortable, reasonably priced for the size/quality. The rooftop is fantastic, with views over Boudha and the hills ringing the Kathmandu Valley (and the airport, which somehow doesn't ruin the aesthetic). Breakfast was fine, toast and hard boiled eggs and bananas. The staff were keen to replace coffee and milk when the dispensers ran low.

The building feels a bit cold and impersonal, despite the colorful buddhist paintings that adorn the lobby walls, and the beautiful trekking photos and maps that the owners use to decorate the hallways. I think it's just such a big building, it's difficult to make it feel cozy.

However, we found the staff very hospitable and, typical of Nepal, welcoming and courteous at all times. We bought a bottle of wine in a nearby shop, asked for a couple of glasses at reception, and sat on the roof watching the lights go out across Kathmandu... A lovely evening.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bzchrmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews