We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This time very disappointing..”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Utse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Utse
Ranked #73 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Kilkenny, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“This time very disappointing..”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

This was our 5th Hotel on our round the World Holiday. We've been to Nepal on four occasions before, and stayed at the Utse back in '96. This time was very disappointing, the room was not up to standard, the Air conditioner was pushing out hot air when the daytime temperatures were in the 30's. The ceiling fan fell apart one evening so we moved room. This room was extremely noisy, being connected to a duct travelling four floors. The windows wouldn't close properly so we couldn't lessen the noise. At first the air conditioning wouldn't function, so someone had to go onto the roof to rectify it.
As we arrived, builders were moving into the restaurant to make alterations, so this curtailed our use of what was the best feature of the hotel. The staff tried very hard to ignore what was happening around them, but on occasions even they were pressed into cleaning up after the builders.
One small point we posted a card to relatives in England at the Utse reception, it's probably still there as it's the only post undelivered.
All told, we would not recommend the Utse, unless you could be reassured these conditions have been rectified. How you achieve that is another matter, the Nepali's are well known for telling you what you want to hear.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussiePomKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    46
    11
    13
    1
See reviews for
9
40
38
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Utse has friendly, helpful staff, a great restaurant and lovely clean rooms. It's well priced, as well. You are welcomed more like a friend than a client. The hotel is well located, just far enough from the hustle and bustle (and noise) of Thamel, but still within an easy stroll. The restaurant in the hotel serves excellent, authentic Nepalese/Tibetan food and is highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter_4WD55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresden, Germany
1 review
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We always stay in Hotel Utse when we are in Kathmandu and we like it very much! We always feel like home. The stuff is very friendly and the atmosphere is so warm. The hotel could be find Inkatha, which is the suburb right next to Thamel, but less crowded.

Thanks to all of you @ Utse!

Michael, Steffen, Heike and Gerti

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island
1 review
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I've been staying at Hotel Utse since the late '90's, and it's come to feel like home to me. The staff are wonderful--warm and friendly, food is great, decor is lovely, rooms are basic (especially the bathrooms) but pretty and very clean, and the prices very reasonable. I always know that the people at Utse will welcome me like an old friend, which is how we feel about each other. Located in Thamel but close to the edge.....one can be in the midst of the busy-ness or quickly out of it in a minute's walk. Oh yes, and the rooftop garden is wonderful! Thanks to everyone at Utse, I feel like I have a family in Kathmandu.

Room Tip: I prefer the higher floors and sunnier, lighter rooms on the South side of the hall/building.....the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karla528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guam
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 20, 2012

40 years of travel , 96 countries and a thousand or so hotels, I have never felt so welcomed.
A great location in Thamel, pleasant restaurant, lobby and rooms. The decor reminds me of my trip to Lhasa 30 years ago. Very Peacefull
To Mama Utse and her crew . Thank You Very much. I felt like you adopted me. It felt like I finally found home... See you again and again,

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Stayed for one night in April, the peak season. The rooms look old and are very very basic. The bathrooms were congested and were certainly not designed to provide comfort. For example, forget rinsing your face, one could not even bend and use the wash basin as there was a glass bar just above the washbasin tap. The furniture was pretty old and there was hardly any place in the room left to move around. I have nothing against tibetan bhuddist prayer flags, but am sure not every one likes them in their hotel rooms.


The only plus point I could figure out is the bid size bed, which are not usual in budget hotels in Kathmandu. We had a much much better stay in another place in Kathmandu and that too at a lower price.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abhishek D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 26, 2011

If you're visiting Kathmandu--it's the place to stay. Within walking distance or taxis to anywhere worth visiting. The atmosphere is warm, comfortable and intimate. The restaurant and the attendants are all tops! . Loved the little outdoor roof top breakfast area. Thank you for a lovely stay! I hope to see you again.

Room Tip: I was happy with my room 304- great view, quiet and some extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.3 mi away
Heritage Home Hotel & Guest House
0.3 mi away
Ambassador Garden Home
Ambassador Garden Home
#25 of 193 in Kathmandu
654 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Vajra
Hotel Vajra
#101 of 193 in Kathmandu
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#16 of 193 in Kathmandu
746 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel The Sacred Valley Home
Hotel The Sacred Valley Home
#27 of 193 in Kathmandu
353 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
#13 of 193 in Kathmandu
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Utse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Utse

Property: Hotel Utse
Address: Jyatha, Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Utse 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Utse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Utse Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing