We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good rooms average food”
Review of Malla Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Malla Hotel
Ranked #158 of 209 Hotels in Kathmandu
Reviewed March 8, 2014

The hotel could be easily one good middle class hotel with big good rooms.
The people are very polite and very helpfull. Even in the restaurant where everything is a disaster.
Nothing works. Not the order you give comes as you specified nor the food is to the level you expect..It Is disorganized .Easily you can stay here but take your meals elsewhere..The breakfast is not bad . Just ordinary.
It is shame when even the small cafes and hotels have free Wi Fi for the guests the hotel MALLA ask hefty price for the privilege.

Room Tip: Sleep here , eat elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BIZAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 209 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2014

We stayed for two nights before trekking and one after, eating dinner on all three.

The central location was good for shopping and site seeing; the Thamel area was five minutes walk away (if you didn't get run down on the way).

It could be seen as a somewhat pretentious tourist hotel with the elaborately turned out commissionaires, but they were helpful and friendly. Reception staff were a bit dour but got things done.

Our rooms were comfortable but had paper thin walls.

Meals were self-service, not in keeping with front of house pretensions.

The food and service was fine, apart from on our final morning. Our tour manager had arranged an early breakfast for our party but the restaurant was closed at the appointed time. I saw the receptionist who seemed incredulous but eventual produced a very dishevelled waiter, who slowly set out a buffet for our party and one or two others. So a half-breakfast for us as we had a plane to catch.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buxtonjonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Stayed here for one day at the start of my trip and three days at the end . It was very quiet when I was there as it was out of season , everyone was very friendly from the door man to the cleaners . The food wasn't great & watch the prices of beer by the pool ! At least it's only 5mins from the main town

Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
Thank fraddondrifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

This felt like a hotel in old worlde Britsh Raj days, very grandly decorated! We stayed in this hotel with my family, my husband and I in one room, and my teenage boys in an adjacent room. The rooms were comfortable though dated and in need of maintenance, but I suspect luxurious for this part of the world.We had breakfast every day (included in the package) and the staff knew our regular breakfast orders every morning! We had dinner twice in the restaurant, the a la cart is much better than the buffet which was a little average. The staff are super friendly and eager to assist and were never far away to refill your tea or bring you more bread or open the door for you with a salute! Lovely cocktail bar overlooking superb and well kept gardens. A welcome respite from the hustle and bustle and hurley burley of Kathmandu street life just outside the door!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scooterpooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

It seems this is the best 5 star hotel in Nepal, Very good location near the "Thamel" and walking distance from most of Kathmandu's main sites. The rooms are big, well equipped and housekeeping is good. The hotel restaurant can do better.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MickeyHacohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed our first two nights in Kathmandu prior to trekking.
On arrival all the staff from doorman to porters a and reception staff were lovely, smiling and helpful. Excellent communications and ease of booking in
Our room had everything needed, we ate out in Thamel both nights of our stay.
On arrival after trekking again staff were very good and restaurant meal although expensive for Kathmandu was very good.
The hotel let us store our spare kit as we went whitewater rafting for two nights, unfortunately the hotel was fully booked on our return we had been warned it was on our initial booking therefore our trekking company booked the shangrila hotel we were sad to leave malls but would stay there again

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Brecon999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

The hotel is a lovely clean hotel just on the outskirts of the main shopping /tourist area. We had breakfast included in our package it is recommended. The hotel is a little dated but the for the area, it’s very luxurious. The beds were big and very comfortable and the pool is set in a relaxing atmosphere.I’ve read some reviews slating this hotel but what people need to remember is they are in Kathmandu which is years behind some of the top tourist areas and the whole area is dated and needs upgrading!. We used the hotel as a stop off when we travelled to Mount Everest and were able to leave some of our gear in the hotel until we returned. I would recommend this hotel and comparing it to most of the other hotel

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
1.5 mi away
Baber Mahal Vilas The Boutique Hotel
2.2 mi away
Aria Boutique Hotel & Spa
Aria Boutique Hotel & Spa
#70 of 209 in Kathmandu
299 reviews
2.3 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#14 of 209 in Kathmandu
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
#91 of 209 in Kathmandu
498 reviews
2.0 mi away
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
#7 of 209 in Kathmandu
495 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Annapurna
Hotel Annapurna
#68 of 209 in Kathmandu
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malla Hotel

Address: Leknath Marg, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#47 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: $136 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malla Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Malla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malla Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing