We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“satisfactory hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Malla Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Malla Hotel
Ranked #140 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
New York, NY
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“satisfactory hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2008

I stayed at the Malla Hotel for 2 nights in June 2008 before moving to a Buddhist monastery in Kathmandu, where I volunteered for a month. To be honest, I usually stay at very high-level, excellent quality hotels and I really did not want to spend too much money in Kathmandu so I chose the Malla Hotel. Overall, the room was clean and well air-conditioned, which meant a lot in the hot summer nights. However, the water in my bathroom was brown and the hotel reception immediately sent men to try to fix the problem but to no avail - they ended up moving me to another room next door. The water there still had a taint brown color to it but I accepted it and moved on. The service was good - the reception was very helpful and as I said, the room was always clean. These were the things that were important to me. I can't speak much for the food as the breakfast looked pretty bad and I didn't eat it. I ate one night the dinner from the hotel but again, the buffet did not look too appetizing so I only ate the boiled rice.

If you are looking for a clean hotel in a good location of Kathmandu, I would recommend this hotel. But just don't expect what you would receive from a 4-star hotel in the states or in Europe.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — the facilities
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank VeryFrequentTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    80
    69
    28
    7
See reviews for
19
49
23
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, NV
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2008

I stayed at the Malla Hotel at the beginning and end of an Everest region trek. The hotel was very nice and room was good. Bed mattress was very hard, but that was fine for me. The staff is especially good. At the end of the trip, the night before my flight home, I came down with salmonella ( probably contracted at a restaurant in Thamel, BE CAREFUL). The staff was very good at checking on me throughout the whole night while I was severly ill. They continually brought toilet paper, sprite, and even offered several times to get me a doctor. I was impressed by the genuine concern they all showed.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank NVScott43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2007

We stayed at the Malla 3 nights at the beginning of our holiday. The hotel was OK. The room was quite good and we were pleasantly surprised. However 2 things annoyed us. We had to buy water at the bar because bottled water is essential and they only gave us 2 bottles for the 3 days. The bar charged an outrageous 200 rupees for a bottle that costs nothing on the street (that only happened once!). The hotel was clearly set up for group travel and all the tables for breakfast and dinner were reserved for groups, which made us feel like independent travellers were not welcome. We had to share with other people to be able to sit down at all. On the plus side, the location was good, although the road outside is insanely busy all the time which makes getting to it rather time consuming! When we returned, we stayed at the Darawikas and it was another world, but a lot more expensive of course.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2007

After a days sight seeing in Kathmandu the Hotel Malla is a welcome retreat. Set in attractive grounds with swimmimg pool and aviary it is a complete contrast from the dust and noise of the city. We stayed here at the start of our Nepal trip and also for the final night. It is in a fairly central location making it a good base for getting around.

The rooms were clean and everything was in working order. We had 3 meals in the main hotel and one in their Chinese restaurant next door, food was good but not outstanding. Early breakfasts were organised on two mornings when we had flights to catch. The hotel has a few shops in the lobby and a small business centre. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Liked — Set back rom the hustle and bustle
  • Stayed March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester
Level Contributor
98 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2007

We stayed here in a party of 15 in March 2007, and enjoyed the visit. It is a well appointed hotel, in quiet grounds, and seemed to be well located for visitors. There are nice public rooms and good bedrooms. The bedrooms are well furnished, and the bathrooms have all the usual medium-class hotel fitments, towels and bits. The tap water is rather brown and certainly not for drinking(!), but flasks of drinking water always provided. Nice fruit baskets on arrival, newspapers , etc.

There is a nice and quite busy bar, sitting areas and terrace, coffee shop, and pleasant grounds, including a swimming pool. There are various rooms for meals (sems to be a main dining room, and also a breakfast room). The main hotel food was perfectly acceptable if not exceptional - we also ate in their Chinese restaurant which is linked, and had a good meal here.

The staff were all very good - helpful, polite, and cheerful. Good security arrangements and felt totally safe. Good hotel shops also.

All in all, a place we would be happy to return to if visiting Kathmandu again.

  • Liked — Safe, secure and reliable base. Good staff.
  • Disliked — The whole city is very crowded, jammed with noisy traffic, and suffers from air pollution. But that is Kathmandu, not the hotel!
  • Stayed March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Jobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2006

I stayed at this helpful and friendly Hotel at the start and finish of my stay in Nepal and enjoyed the quite and clean environment, a welcome change from the bustle and pollution of the town. Good facilities including an excellent massage for £7! For information, I got a very good deal on the internet before I arrived.

  • Liked — clean, quiet and facilities
  • Disliked — surrouding area
  • Tips/Secrets — book on internet for good rate
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank tymon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2005

I really enjoyed my stay at the Malla. Two friends and myself were doing a 21 day trek around the Everest region, and found the Malla quite convenient to Thamel to buy our last little supplies, and say no to Tiger Balm.

10 minutes walk to Thamel, and all the resteraunts, bars, shops, etc. We also walked to the technical district (can't remember name) and this was about 25 minutes.

Rooms were quite nice, breakfast smorgasboard was good and the sauna/steam room after the trek was great for aching leg muscles. It was quite nice to retreat (escape) back into the gardens after walking around Kathmandu.

  • Stayed November 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.2 mi away
Yatri Suites and Spa
Yatri Suites and Spa
#50 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#22 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#36 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Aria Boutique Hotel & Spa
Aria Boutique Hotel & Spa
#57 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Annapurna
Hotel Annapurna
#58 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Woodland Kathmandu
Hotel Woodland Kathmandu
#96 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malla Hotel

Property: Malla Hotel
Address: Leknath Marg, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#42 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Malla Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Malla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malla Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing