We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Pashupatinath Temple
from $58.00
More Info
from $32.00
More Info
Reviews (3,808)
Filter reviews
2,922 results
Traveler rating
1,656
834
288
89
55
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,656
834
288
89
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bagmati river lord shiva holy men funeral pyres hindu religion cremation area dead bodies loved ones holy place take pictures must visit place entrance fee world heritage site interesting place cultural experience death monkeys
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 2,922 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

This is one of the most popular temples of Lord Shiva around the world. Once in the temple, all you can feel are positive vibes. Positivity all around. Definitely a must visit if you’re in Kathmandu.

Note: Non-Hindus are not allowed inside the temple. Nonetheless, they can purchase a ticket for NPR 1000 and enter the complex to see the temple from outside.

Thank Sachins29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago

Good religious place for Hindus but the approach road is in Shambles.Inside the temple there was not much rush on the day of my visit

Thank bpchoudhury1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

This is a must see place. It has an amazing atmosphere. It's a place where you can spend any hours. Don't miss evening aarti, it's just awesome. The rituals, the chanting, small temples...all make this space special.
I visited Pashupatinath 2 times in few days and I'm gonna visit it again before leaving.

Thank 841kristinek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

I expected a lot... and I saw a not very clean temple complex. Foreigners are not allowed into the main temple - fair enough - that's also why you DON'T have to take off your shoes (someone could've told us before we did... they actually took our shoes and gave us the number, but didn't tell it was unnecessary!). Then you take a stroll to the other side of the river, you can see people burning bodies of the deceased... it all looked dirty though - the river, the bank, the stairs... everything.
Then there are monkeys - be careful, they're aggressive and I saw one attacking a woman to get her shopping bag. There are also cows... so there's cow poop. And people walking there barefoot. It was pretty gross.
It's a pity because it's an interesting place, and if it was better taken care of (and for 10$ a ticket it really should!), it would be an amazing attraction.

Thank ankyfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It is nice place to see the a lot of cultural & traditional activities there but the entrance fee is very much expensive.
It shouldn't be more than $ 2 USD.
At overal we enjoyed there with tour guide who explained us about hindu cremeation at the river side next to the main temple(Aaryghaat).

Thank Webcker1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A trip to see the temple and its surroundings.
Non Hindus are not allowed inside the actual temple so our visit only involved outside views.
Surrounded by colourful stalls the actual temple and cremation site sit right on the holy river.
We saw several cremations taking place in what is a very public show of grief.
Further up the hill are numerous Shrines to Shiva with trident symbols and also phalic representations.
Holy cows and monkeys abound

The Holy men caused concern in one of our party especially as they rubbed human ash on themselves

Very interesting visit

1  Thank dajohnstone59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

This temple, on the banks of the rather dirty Bagmati River, overlooks the cremation area for Hindus . One can see the funeral pyres along the steps leading down to the river. While non- Hindus are not allowed into the temple, its surrounding and images of the interior are impressive. The entrance fee for tourists is 1000 Nepali Rupees. You can buy fruit at the entrance to feed to the numerous monkeys who live in the trees surrounding the site.

Thank NZAdventurer1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a large Hindu temple location which is spread over a large area. Its on the outskirts of kathmandu. Be prepared to see cremations taking place which for western cultures may be a little disturbing but this is the culture and how these events happen.Interesting place. Cremations tend to occur in the morning and early evening so you can either time a visit to be there or avoid as desired

Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were destined to meet the Lord Pashupatinath that evening.The temple closes down at 7 pm, and we reached there at 7.10 pm. There was a motley crowd and people were being asked to leave the temple premises. Do not know why, the guard asked us to hurry and visit the Lord, before He went into rest. Words fail me in describing the satisfaction that we got after "meeting" the Pashupatinath. The temple is very clean and was well lighted. We also got to witness the aarti across the river, from the ramparts of the temple. What else could we ask for ?

Thank Pratik_Priya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We did a 4 stop tour in Kathmandu and for me this was the best one. Although lots of earthquake damage still exists it’s one of the places where it still feels very connected to the Hindu religion and not be over run with tourist traps and shops.

There were a few cremation ceremonies whilst we were there which was very interesting to watch. Get a guide you can explain to you what’s what as there is very little in the way of information or directions inside.

Thank NikanV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews