We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very different shiv temple” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pashupatinath Temple

Pashupatinath Temple
Book In Advance
More Info
$81.00*
and up
Pashupatinath Temple and Bodhnath Stupa Tour from Kathmandu
Ranked #5 of 173 things to do in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very different shiv temple”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

It is quite unlike a shiva temple. It's a shanti peeth and only Hindus are allowed in the temple. The place is divine and has a good feel to it. One one side of the temple there is a cremation ground which has a bad stench to it. Overall good experience and recommended. Beware of the touts on the way

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rajat54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,931 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,632
    853
    296
    99
    51
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
739 reviews
316 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Nice - but not a favourite”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

There is a bit of a walk, past the inevitable hawkers, to get to this temple. It wasn't my favourite.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ali_Hawkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hindu Temple”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

This is a UNESCO supported site and is undergoing quite a bit of redevelopment. You can also witness a live cremation!!!! Something I found upsetting in Nepal in general is that you cannot enter a hindu temple unless you are a hindu.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trovel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, USA
Level Contributor
299 reviews
150 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Worth a Visit for Westerners”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Everyone should come here to witness the public Hindu cremations. As a westerner, when you get there you should pay for a guide (negotiate first - no more than a few hundred Rs) to understand more of why its a public ceremony and the reasons behind the part of the ceremony. It's a sad yet fascinating place, but like I said, worth seeing once.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marc U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
129 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A true cultural experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

We discretely viewed a funeral from the far bank of the Bagmati River. While the smell and smoke were unpleasant, it was something we had never experienced in our lives. The sadhus roaming the grounds, various families waiting for their loved ones to be cremated, and people with various health problems begging for alms added to the tone. As non-Hindus, we were not allowed to enter the temple itself, but we did walk up to the front and look inside as far as we were able. The children using magnets to fish for coins in the river was interesting as well.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Thea2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pashupatinath Temple also viewed

Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to Pashupatinath Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing