We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Durbar Square”

Kathmandu Durbar Square
Book In Advance
More Info
$32.00*
and up
Private Half-Day Tour of Kathmandu Darbar Square and Swayambhunath Temple
Ranked #11 of 176 things to do in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Monuments, temples and wandering animals dot this bustling town square, which is also where Nepal kings are crowned.
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Durbar Square”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

There's a fee to be paid at the entrance, which will be employed on maintaining the square. Locals hang out, and the fact that there are no cars, makes this Durbar a nice place to stay for a while. Even thought all the terraces around it are quite touristic, they offer amazing views and ok food.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,401
    1,093
    520
    120
    65
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I had a guide so I did not get lost. If you do not have a guide, make sure you have a map. The Pottery Square was amazing.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MyGapYear1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“We saw Kumari”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

With just a simple shout from our guide, we got the chance to see the Living Goddess, Kumari. Great experience i must say.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank sultanmuzaffar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Old city”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Unlike anything we have seen, walking to get to the square lots of shops and different modes of transport of goods. since it is a holiday during this time lots of people especially young ones every where very festive like Christmas back home.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank zaniffa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
373 reviews
155 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“The happening place”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

this is the town square, sort of the old town. This is where the royal palace is, some temples, shops, museums, a big town square. Nepal has very unique architecture and this is the hotbed of it. Do walk through the museum, it is not huge but very informative about the past rulers of Nepal.
I'm glad we had a guide to explain everything so consider getting a guide for a 1/2 day to tour this square.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lasa88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kathmandu Durbar Square also viewed

Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to Kathmandu Durbar Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing