We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel stay at perfect location”
Review of Hotel Marshyangdi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Marshyangdi
Ranked #97 of 207 Hotels in Kathmandu
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Hotel is very close to Thamel which is very easy to roam, eat and shop.
Well maintained, comfortable and very helpful staff.
Food is also very good including multicuisine, Indian, continental etc.
Rooms are provided with Flat screen TV along with Dish tv connection, ac and comfortable beds and blankets to cope with coldness.
Room service is also excellent.

Room Tip: Prefer first and second floor rooms rather than third floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mohanpmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 234 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2014

Hotel is located in Thamel close to restaurants and shops. Breakfast selection is nice. Room is not that spacious but clean. As regular electricity shedding is common in Nepal, the hotel generator only works for 1-2 essential light in the room during the time.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank Arisantoso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

The Hotel Marshyangdi was a comfortable clean base to explore an complex confusing city. It always felt great to come back to the comfortable lobby with a coffee bar serving Illy coffee drinks and the nicely designed courtyard restaurant with simple and reasonably priced safe food. The rooms were comfortably furnished and clean with firm beds and plentiful towels. The staff tried to be helpful in every way. The one caution is to be extra careful not to drink the tap water or brush your teeth in it as I did get giardia from an absentminded mistake. The price of the hotel is extremely reasonable for the quality.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed here before and after a trek. I wasn't expecting much, but I was pleasantly surprised. The rooms are basic but had what we needed to be comfortable. The lobby was a nice place to sit and relax, the courtyard was very pleasant, and the food was good. The service was friendly, and I appreciated that there was a buffer between the hotel and the busy street. Everything we needed was in walking distance. If I am ever back in Kathmandu I will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roulettegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed here for 10 days in November 2013 - had a wedding to attend
The staff are FABULOUS - the "standard" rooms are a disgrace (the hotel is divided into two sections - the main section [with elevator] comprising deluxe rooms and suites and the Annex A comprising standard rooms [no elevator] - the annex was six floors - we were in room 215)

There are three types of rooms - standard, deluxe and suites
We booked for what we thought was a deluxe room and ended up being put in a "standard room" - We spoke to the Manager and we requested the upgrade - we were told the HOTEL is booked out - no rooms - even after being willing to pay extra.

The hotel states "The Annex A is an addition to the existing Marshyangdi property adjoining the garden - it has 40 basic standard rooms with attached bath" - yes the room we had could be described as BASIC

The "standard" room - beds were bunks with futon tops - hard as boards - could not sleep well

The Hotel guaranteed power back up during power cuts (the power in Kathmandu goes off twice a day minimum) - NOT TRUE - the only back up was one light - and if that did not work - a candle and box of matches. The only rooms that had full power back up were the suites.
The power in Kathmandu goes on and off regularly. We chose this hotel as they guaranteed full power back up - one of our party uses a CPAP machine at night to sleep. At least the power stayed ON most of the night - the earliest it would go off was 05 00 hours

The bathroom consisted of a two metre by two metre room that included shower, basin and toilet. Hot water was intermittent - some times yes mostly NO - just mildly warm

Our "Standard" room faced the street - could not open the curtains - the view was the next bedroom - some three metres away. That did not bother us that much - we kept the curtains closed

the room was fitted with a TV which worked when the power was ON

The breakfast was great - could not fault - the staff got to know us as we stayed for and extended visit and we got freshly made omelets etc.

It is the FABULOUS staff that make our stay tolerable - you could not ask for better staff

We discovered we were bumped done to a "standard" room - due to a conference being held and several large tour groups staying - being bumped down to a lower grade room is a regular trick in Kathmandu - we heard similar stories as ours.

If you wish to stay in "deluxe" rooms or "suites" - this hotel is OK but very pricey - the Kathmandu Guest House is better value

For standard rooms try the HOTEL UTSE (where some of our group stayed) - much better quality standard rooms - nice beds, better quality bathrooms

PLEASE BE AWARE THAT ANY RATE QUOTED IS ++ - THAT IS THE RATE QUOTED + 10% SERVICE CHARGE AND THEN 13% VAT ON TOP OF THAT (that is 23% extra)

Room Tip: If you wish to stay in "deluxe" rooms or "suites" - this hotel is OK but very pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

This hotel is ok, it has a nice courtyard and a dinning area to have a drink or meals. Breakfast is also ok most time they cooks eggs to order. In Thamal amoungs the tourist shopping and all the trecking stores. There are better value hotels than this. They seems to hold the price as a few tours start from this hotel. If you can spend about the us$50 there are better value for money in Thamal.

Room Tip: Check the rooms before you agree, as there are different standards of room.. even at the same price...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poorany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed here as part of a group tour to the Everest base camp. The hotel lobby and dining/courtyard area are really nice but the rooms were very basic: small, unremarkable and average bathrooms. It did seem a bit hit or miss as the second time we stayed here we were in a much larger room - until we were asked to move room for maintenance reasons. It is a bit confusing as the hotel does have a main building and I'm guessing the rooms there are pretty nice, but also has an annex building that has average quality rooms. We also were on the 6th floor so with no lift it was a real hike (and good practice for Everest trekking!). If you're staying here as part of a tour it will be fine, but otherwise perhaps seek better value.

Room Tip: A balance perhaps: Ask for a room on a lower floor but keep in mind that street noise can be annoyin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Squads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Manang
Hotel Manang
#55 of 207 in Kathmandu
416 reviews
0.0 mi away
Avataar Kathmandu Hotel
Avataar Kathmandu Hotel
#37 of 207 in Kathmandu
264 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kathmandu Guest House
Kathmandu Guest House
#35 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ambassador Garden Home
Ambassador Garden Home
#34 of 207 in Kathmandu
660 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#10 of 207 in Kathmandu
337 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#14 of 207 in Kathmandu
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marshyangdi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marshyangdi

Address: | Chaksibari Marg, Thamel, Kathmandu 13321, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: $36 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marshyangdi 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Marshyangdi has been providing quality services to travelers and adventurers since 1990. The hotel has rooms ranging from the standard to Deluxe, Junior suites and Suites. Hotel Marshyangdi has its roots in Manang, a remote district nestled in the western mountains of Nepal. Manang is well known among trekkers and travelers for its challenging trekking routes and unrivaled natural beauty. The name of the hotel is derived from the Marshyangdi river that flows through the mountains of Manang. Marshyangdi means "raging river" in Manangi dialect. Marshyangdi rivers is also one of the most sought after white water rafting runs in Nepal. Hotel Marshyangdi has served thousands of satisfied clients in its long and glorious history of 24 years. Hotel has groomed up a lot and gained widespread fame in the 24 years of its service. The hotel now has 3 Suites, 3 Junior Suites, 65 Deluxe besides the regular 24 standard rooms. The hotel is famous for its services and the state of the art facilities. We welcome you to our hotel situated in the heart of Thamel and look forward to serving you in the future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Marshyangdi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshyangdi Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing