We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Marshyangdi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Marshyangdi
Ranked #92 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed at this hotel on two occasions during September. Stayed in main building. Quiet and clean rooms. Good restaurant. Breakfast consisted of a reasonable choice of self serve food but don't expect a typical American breakfast. Good Wi-Fi for less than a dollar a day. Location is central for attractions in Kathmandu and is in the heart of the Thamel tourist area. As with all hotels in Kathmandu there are power outages (restrictions). Longest in the dry season due to less Hydro. Some more expensive hotels such as the Shanker have good generator backup but at this hotel the elevator and the AC were off for about 6 hours each day of our stay.

Room Tip: Main building on higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank _mssutherland33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    91
    63
    27
    17
See reviews for
20
57
31
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria British Colombia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

I arrived in Kathmandu two nights before I met my trip group and stayed at the hotel Ganesh Himal just outside the main tourist area and it was delightful. On the other hand, this place was an extreme disappointment. Our room was dirty and extremely damp. They place us in the "annex" which I think is code for dumping the tour groups. No elevator and each landing is a dirt trap with rooms facing out into the corridor. The floors are carpeted and just disgusting and the bath stinks. We stayed there twic and the second time we were "upgraded" to the main building. Here we were given a room with a tiny tiny window looking out into the corridor. The bath was bigger though and we had wood floors. This hotel was twice the price of the Ganesh Himal. The staff was somewhat uneven in its helpfulness. Go somewhere else and skip the lobby.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katheann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kathmandu hotels

Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

No complaints. Can be treated as value for money
Located in heart of thamel hence great place for foodies n shoppers.
Main problem faced was the frequent power cuts in kathmandu. Though generator back up is avlbl the lift and ac wont work during the powerplay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hrbilgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

1) Overpriced! Euro 65 - are you kidding me?
2) Jack-hammers & other construction noise before 7 AM
3) Only place in 10 days in Nepal that charged extra for (super-slow) Internet access
4) A/C not working most of them time, same true for fan
5) Bathroom DIRTY!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hudel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

I didn´t pick this hotel. I stayed here for 6 nights as part of a group tour. Overall I had a great experience in this modest 3 star hotel. I stayed in 2 rooms because we first stayed in Kathmandu for 4 days on our way to Tibet and when we get back we stayed anoter 2 nights.
In both ocations my room and bathroom was very clean as well as the linens and towels. It is to say that the furniture is very simple and modest. The bathroom is old (dosen´t have that brand new shiny look) but it is clean. All my basic needs were fullfiled.

I only had breakfast and it wasn´t very good. The coffee is ok, fruit was tastless, the bread was really good but the scramble eggs offer in the buffet where really bad. Some days they have a chef that prepared the eggs the way you want (scramble, fried, omeletes) and those are really good. Avoid the ones on the buffet. The staff is very nice, kind and always willing to help you. I didn´t have problems with the language, every one I speak to they had a very good english.

It is very importante to say that I always felt safe, there is a guard in the main entrance that always welcomes you in. Also the kind of guests that stays here are (mostly) tour groups or families.

I didn´t heard any complain of the rest of the people I traveled with (we were 16) everyone was pleased.
It has been sayed many times the great location…. You are in Thamel!!! So be prepared to shop hard. The most amazing things you could find are here:silk,cashmere, yak wool, trekking clothes (great quality) cotton etc,etc.

You can exchange money just in front of the main entrance of the hotel, is the same rate you would find all over Kathmandu so exchange there. Next to the Hotel is a internet cafe where you can also make internacional calls. The internet is very slow but very cheap.

You have to be aware that Nepal has serious problems with electricity, so is not just in the hotel is all over Kathmandu there are blackouts from 6 to 9 hours dayly. If you want to have a cold beer or coke at 2:00 oclock you are going to have it tepid. A side the elevator in the lobby you would find the dayly schedules from the black outs. Don´t forget to check it , specially if you are checkin out with your luggage or ask for a room in the 1 floor.
I DEFINITELY stay here again !!! if you are a luxury traveller this is not the hotel for you, is a modest, clean and secure hotel

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melgozeplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

Stayed here two nights in total (Kathmandu was our starting and finishing point of our week in Nepal) and it was great. This accommodation was part of a package and although the rooms were small, we were happy to see that they were also clean and comfortable. Wifi was spotty in the room but we just went downstairs to reception when we wanted to use it. Breakfast was delicious. No complaints. Unfortunately on our last night there were a few noise complaints directed at us once we got back to our room after a night out. We were obviously a little louder than we realised, but I think the walls must have also been pretty thin as well; we certainly could have been a lot worse!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobesB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in May as part of a group tour. There are two parts to the hotel- the main building where the rooms are slightly better than the sub standared ones housed in the annexe building adjacent.The location of the hotel is great and the service not too bad. The only thing to watch out for is the cleanlieness of the rooms which left a lot to be desired! The carpet was filthy even after it had just been vacuumed and the worst part was we left covered in bed bug bites on our last day before returning home! Wouldnt come back but all in all an ok hotel for what you'd find in Nepal.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rac24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Manang
Hotel Manang
#47 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.0 mi away
Avataar Kathmandu Hotel
Avataar Kathmandu Hotel
#37 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kathmandu Eco Hotel
Kathmandu Eco Hotel
#12 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#18 of 193 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#9 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apsara Boutique Hotel
Apsara Boutique Hotel
#28 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marshyangdi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marshyangdi

Property: Hotel Marshyangdi
Address: | Chaksibari Marg, Thamel, Kathmandu 13321, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marshyangdi 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Marshyangdi has been providing quality services to travelers and adventurers since 1990. The hotel has rooms ranging from the standard to Deluxe, Junior suites and Suites. Hotel Marshyangdi has its roots in Manang, a remote district nestled in the western mountains of Nepal. Manang is well known among trekkers and travelers for its challenging trekking routes and unrivaled natural beauty. The name of the hotel is derived from the Marshyangdi river that flows through the mountains of Manang. Marshyangdi means "raging river" in Manangi dialect. Marshyangdi rivers is also one of the most sought after white water rafting runs in Nepal. Hotel Marshyangdi has served thousands of satisfied clients in its long and glorious history of 24 years. Hotel has groomed up a lot and gained widespread fame in the 24 years of its service. The hotel now has 3 Suites, 3 Junior Suites, 65 Deluxe besides the regular 24 standard rooms. The hotel is famous for its services and the state of the art facilities. We welcome you to our hotel situated in the heart of Thamel and look forward to serving you in the future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Marshyangdi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshyangdi Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing