We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Marshyangdi - my home in Nepal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Marshyangdi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Marshyangdi
Ranked #94 of 194 Hotels in Kathmandu
Southampton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hotel Marshyangdi - my home in Nepal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2007

We have stayed at the Hotel Marshyangdi with our kids a number of times and now refer to it as 'our home in Nepal'. The staff are great with the kids who were only two and three when we first went as a family. Apart from the professional and friendly attitude of the staff and management what I like most is that you can get breakfast from 6 in the morning - you do not want to be laying around in bed when there are so many things to see and do within a few meters of the Hotel. Try wandering down to the shopping district of Assan at 7.00 am- hey I could go on writing about this hotel all day (it is where I met my wife)
Dave Capps

  • Liked — Great service
  • Disliked — primitive facilities by western 3* standards
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Charpimanche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    86
    62
    27
    17
See reviews for
18
56
30
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2007

We had a wonderful stay at the Hotel Marshyangdi in Thamel. The hotel was centrally located in Thamel and within walking distance to restaurants and shops. The staff were pleasant and helpful and the rooms were clean. There is a security guard on the premises all day and the gates to the hotel are locked at night so the atmosphere is very safe. Overall, we had a pleasant stay and we would be happy to stay there again on our next trip to Kathmandu.

  • Liked — Centrally located
  • Disliked — Breakfast buffet
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Padparadscha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2007

Clean, friendly, efficient and reasonably central 3 star property . We agreed a very reasonable rate by contacting them directly. There were no problems with any aspect of the check-in or check-out, and while we were there the staff and management were always helpful and friendly. We opted not to include breakfast at the hotel because the local cafes and restaurants are open for longer and offer more variety (and at a better price), but otherwise it was a great deal for the few days we were in Kathmandu.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank SanMarco2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2006

I travelled to Kathmandu for the first time in Aug 2005. I was a 41 yr old stay at home mum - who wanted a break and I got it! I came to Nepal to do some sightseeing and visit the charity projects I support and the Hotel Marshyangdi was home for roughly a week. I am hardly the backpacker type and wasn't in Nepal as a trekker. I don't mind roughing it and was open to different standards of accomodation during my stay, but once I was driven onto the forecourt of the hotel, I was amazed. Wonderful entrance, flowers/plants & a welcoming lobby area. I was greeted with a cold drink and given a temporary room (so I could get some sleep - while my room was being made up. It was early in the am and many guests had yet to check out - so having a bed to crash in was a welcome sight.)

Once ready, I had a nice room with 2 single beds which was clean and comfortable - and cool in the heat, the staff were friendly and food was great. I had to leave the hotel for 3 days while I went to other parts of the country and returned for my final night - and the staff upgraded me to a bigger room. A wonderful surprise.

I really enjoyed talking with the staff and was sorry to have to leave. It became my home from home for a brief time.

I plan to return to Nepal in 2007 with my eldest daughter - and hope to show her all the sights & sounds of Kathmandu & Nepal on a mother/daughter adventure. We will certainly be back!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank K_Billing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Manang
Hotel Manang
#49 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.0 mi away
Avataar Kathmandu Hotel
Avataar Kathmandu Hotel
#39 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#18 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Impala Garden
Hotel Impala Garden
#104 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
1.8 mi away
Royal Astoria Hotel
Royal Astoria Hotel
#145 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apsara Boutique Hotel
Apsara Boutique Hotel
#30 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marshyangdi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marshyangdi

Property: Hotel Marshyangdi
Address: | Chaksibari Marg, Thamel, Kathmandu 13321, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marshyangdi 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Marshyangdi has been providing quality services to travelers and adventurers since 1990. The hotel has rooms ranging from the standard to Deluxe, Junior suites and Suites. Hotel Marshyangdi has its roots in Manang, a remote district nestled in the western mountains of Nepal. Manang is well known among trekkers and travelers for its challenging trekking routes and unrivaled natural beauty. The name of the hotel is derived from the Marshyangdi river that flows through the mountains of Manang. Marshyangdi means "raging river" in Manangi dialect. Marshyangdi rivers is also one of the most sought after white water rafting runs in Nepal. Hotel Marshyangdi has served thousands of satisfied clients in its long and glorious history of 24 years. Hotel has groomed up a lot and gained widespread fame in the 24 years of its service. The hotel now has 3 Suites, 3 Junior Suites, 65 Deluxe besides the regular 24 standard rooms. The hotel is famous for its services and the state of the art facilities. We welcome you to our hotel situated in the heart of Thamel and look forward to serving you in the future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Marshyangdi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshyangdi Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing