We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (535)
Filter reviews
535 results
Traveler rating
106
238
119
45
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
106
238
119
45
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoverlooking the gardenswimming poolnice hotelclub roombreakfast spreadan oasisbusy streetnice staydustembassiestrekchaosrelaxationeverestasiaretreat
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 535 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2017 via mobile

This large hotel is not a part of the chain of the same name. Your experience here will largely depend on which room you are allocated. The rooms with a person’s name on the door are a much higher standard than those on the fourth floor. If you do receive a fourth floor room, beware those close to the club room area, where people gather at all hours (401, especially).

Stayed: October 2017, traveled solo
1  Thank MelbourneBookGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samir B, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank You for reviewing your experience at Shangri~La Hotel, Kathmandu. We value your feedback and hope to welcome you back again to a better stay in the future.
Best Regards,
Samir Banerjee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2017

The hotel is situated 20 minutes walk from central Thamel. It is in desperate need of a facelift as the rooms are really dated. The restaurant is OK - food is really expensive and of poor quality.

Drinks are the same prices as London!!

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank louisaNimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samir B, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback. Noted your comments. We always value our guest comment. So that we can look into improvements. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.
Best Regards,
Samir Banerjee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2017

We were placed here by our guide company before and after our trek to Annapurna Base Camp. The hotel clearly had seen better days. One morning, there was no water at all to the room. The phone in the room worked intermittently. The hotel staged a loud party in the common courtyard that went late into the evening preventing much needed sleep. The restaurant food/buffet was passable, but no more. The linens and surfaces showed signs of wear. All this for Western prices! I had heard this was one of the two best hotels in Kathmandu. Surely they can do better?

Room Tip: You do not want to be facing the courtyard in case they host a gathering there (loud) but the street side is loud too.
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda2327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samir B, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank You! for your feedback. Your feedback has been noted. We always value our guests comment so that we can continually improve the standard of facilities and service offered to all our guests. We assure you will see changes on your next visit at our hotel. Please let us know of your next trip to Nepal, Team Shangri~La will be happy to welcome you again.
Best Regards,
Samir Banerjee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2017

I was sick for 2 days while staying at Shangri-La. I wasn't able to go outside. A staff called my room and asked me why I hadn't been out. After knowing I had been sick she offered me light meal free of charge. Thanks.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samir B, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you! for your feedback. Your appreciation about our staff is very encouraging. We at Shangri~La are always known for our services. We would love to see you again in our hotel.
Regards,
Samir Banerjee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2017 via mobile

I booked a suite and I was pleasantly surprised when I checked in by the nice layout, and very nice gesture of complimentary fruits, snacks, drinks, etc. The room had also a small terrace overlooking the hotel garden. Unfortunately I didn’t have the time to try the hotel’s spa but tried the restaurant there and the food and service were excellent. Try the vegetarian momo, very delicious (photo attached). Recommended.

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
Thank RabieRafia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samir B, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you! for your kind feedback. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our hotel facilities and services. We do hope you will be able to enjoy our services and facilities on your next visit. Thank you and look forward to welcoming you again.
Best Regards,
Samir Banerjee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews