We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Major Road Works”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
Ranked #72 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Cromer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Major Road Works”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Stayed here early December.
Perfectly decent hotel nice rooms ,staff ,breakfast but be aware major road-works outside resulting in dug up pavements ,dust and noise ,get a garden side room,

Local restaurants mostly given up so have to get taxi to centre (250 roops) if want to eat out

Garden very nice but seems to have receptions ,parties every afternoon and evening so can't really sit out

Bit noisy in evening with drunken singing from garden
Oh yeh and watch out for open lift shaft on floor 4 with only curtain across ,long way down!

Room Tip: Pay extra for garden view room on floor 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kishor T, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Shangrila~La Hotel, Kathmandu!
Thank you for choosing to stay at The Shangri~La Hotel during your recent visit to Kathmandu, Nepal !
With regard to your comment on Major Road Works, I am pleased to inform you that the major road works has been completed along with the installation of the new service lift . Our sincere apology for the inconvenience caused.
Feedback from our valued guests is always useful to us as we continue in our endeavor to provide a level of service and personalized experience that is second to none.
We hope to welcome you back again the next time you return to Kathmandu, Nepal.
Thank you for taking the time to share the review here on Trip Advisor.
Regards
Kishor Thakur
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    208
    100
    38
    16
See reviews for
85
116
54
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Shangri-La on three separate occasions during November. This was prior, in between and after two different treks in Nepal.
The main road from the city up to the Shangri-La is being rebuilt and therefore there's lots of traffic chaos and dust. This however is a common sight within Kathmandu. On entering the Shangri-La you're now in a hotel that's an oasis of tranquility, compared to the chaos outside.
All of the staff we encountered couldn't have been more helpful and in true Nepalese style always smiling.
The hotel rooms are well furnished however it must be made clear that this is a 4 star Nepalese hotel which should be confused with, or compared to, Western hotels. Our rooms were always supplied with two bottles of mineral water and a plate of biscuits.
The main garden restaurant provides a very good quality and a wide ranging menu. The breakfasts are buffet style and omelettes made to order. With some tables outside overlooking the garden it's a very relaxing place to eat. There's also a Illy coffee shop.
A superb place to stay in Kathmandu and only a 30 minute walk into Thamel (even through the roadworks).9

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rob1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kishor T, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Shangrila~La Hotel, Kathmandu!
Thank you for choosing to stay at The Shangri~La Hotel during your recent visit to Kathmandu, Nepal and thank you for taking the time to share the review here on Trip Advisor.
It was pleasure to have you as our guest and it is so inspiring to learn that you had enjoyed such a memorable stay with us. Your comments will be shared with our entire team which will encourage them to further strive towards achieving excellence.
Our team of staff is our greatest asset and their dedication toward extending highly personalized and exceptional service is what makes any experience at Shangri~La Hotel such a special one.
Feedback from our valued guests is always useful to us as we continue in our endeavor to provide a level of service and personalized experience that is second to none.
We hope to welcome you back again the next time you return to Kathmandu, Nepal.
Regards
Kishor Thakur
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi, New York
1 review
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Stayed in this hotel from 05/May/2013 to 08/May/2013 for 03 nights and was a comfortable & hassle free stay.The food was delicious & lavish.Staff was curtious & seem hospitable in all way.Specially the Girls in front office & the restaurant people.Room was good & spacious and we got a complimentary cake,mineral waters on the arrival.
Overall the experienced was amazing & will love to go again in future.

Room Tip: Garden Facing Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megha_Arora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kishor T, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Shangrila~La Hotel, Kathmandu!
Thank you for choosing to stay at The Shangri~La Hotel during your recent visit to Kathmandu, Nepal !
It was pleasure to have you as our guest and it is so inspiring to learn that you had enjoyed such a memorable stay with us.
We are very grateful for your recognition towards our effort in providing quality service and facility. This certainly encourages our team to further strive towards achieving excellence’
Our team of staff is our greatest asset and their dedication toward extending highly personalized and exceptional service is what makes any experience at Shangri~La Hotel such a special one.
Feedback from our valued guests is always useful to us as we continue in our endeavor to provide a level of service and personalized experience that is second to none.
We hope to welcome you back again the next time you return to Kathmandu, Nepal.
Thank you for taking the time to share the review here on Trip Advisor.
Regards
Kishor Thakur
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Spent 4 nights there recently before / after trekking in the Annapurna region .The moment you walk through the front door you enter another world leaving behind the dust and noise of the city to be embraced by the charm and friendliness of its staff. The rooms are comfortable with all mod cons , the food is varied and oh so tasteful and the gardens are a delight and just when you feel things cannot get any better they have a resident pianist who will provide a virtuoso performance of any classic you care to mention................but he does need a grand piano to match his talents.
Go on , spoil yourself , when next in Kathmandu sty at the Shangri la.............

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank didicum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kishor T, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Shangrila~La Hotel, Kathmandu!
Thank you for choosing to stay at The Shangri~La Hotel during your recent visit to Kathmandu, Nepal and taking the time to share the review here on Trip Advisor.
It was pleasure to have you as our guest and it is so inspiring to learn that you had enjoyed such a memorable stay with us.
We are very grateful for your recognition towards our effort in providing quality service and facility. This certainly encourages our team to further strive towards achieving excellence’
Our team of staff is our greatest asset and their dedication toward extending highly personalized and exceptional service is what makes any experience at Shangri~La Hotel such a special one.
Feedback from our valued guests is always useful to us as we continue in our endeavor to provide a level of service and personalized experience that is second to none.
We hope to welcome you back again the next time you return to Kathmandu, Nepal.
Regards
Kishor Thakur
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley
Level Contributor
57 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed here before, between and after trekking in both the Annapurna and Everest regions - most of the clientelle seemed to be trekkers. The rooms are well appointed and include free mineral water. Even those streetside are quiet enough to get a good nights sleep though its good to get one overlooking the garden which is quite beautiful. The staff cope very well with the complicated luggage arrangements trekkers throw at them no matter how early /late it is. Food is very good - breakfast is especially plentiful and the Friday night barbeques tasty and very good value. The only disappointment was the bar area which was a bit dark and not that well stocked Also very grateful to the concierge who arranged for one of the hotel cabs to take us to bodanath stupa and out to Bhaktapur - a bit more expensive than we would have paid for a street cab but car was clean comfortable and safe!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZanyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kishor T, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Shangrila~La Hotel, Kathmandu!
Thank you for choosing to stay at The Shangri~La Hotel during your recent visit to Kathmandu, Nepal !
We are very grateful for your recognition towards our effort in providing quality service and facility. This certainly encourages our team to further strive towards achieving excellence.
We have noted your comments on Bar and have addressed the same with the concerned department and have a wide varieties of beverages for sale.
The team at the hotel looks forward to having you with us and assure of another great stay and dining experience.
Thank you for taking the time to share the review here on Trip Advisor.
Regards
Kishor Thakur
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

If you assume that a 4 star Nepalese hotel isn't quite of the same standard as one of the same grade in the West, you won't be disappointed with the Shangri-La. There are some negative reviews but these aside, the rooms are comfortable, if a little tired in places, with decent showers and plenty of hot water, a pleasant reception and bar area with free wifi and very nice gardens in which you can eat weather permitting. The breakfast was a very varied and plentiful buffet which should satisfy all tastes and appetites. The hotel's location on "Embassy Row" is a 15/20 minute walk from the busy Thamel district which normally would be easily walkable but the road and pavements are under major reconstruction so the route is full of hazards and dust - just about OK during daylight but definitely to be avoided after dark. Hence we ventured no further than Saigon Pho, a Vietnamese restaurant directly opposite the hotel and Bhumi, serving Nepalese/Indian food, 5 minutes across the road and to the right. We had very pleasant meals at both.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gymuser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this beautiful hotel 3 nights before and 1 night after trekking in the Everest region. Is was clean and very comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful. Was 30 min walk from Thamel (which is main shopping district, had all the culture) there were extensive road development happening on the street the hotel was on which made it unpleasant to walk anywhere. Buffet breakfast was delish!!!! I would return here :-)

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Klupps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#32 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#62 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#46 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Annapurna
Hotel Annapurna
#58 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#37 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
1.9 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#11 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
Address: Lazimpat, Kathmandu 655, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Kathmandu
#15 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#27 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nepal's Own five star boutique hotel in a quite diplomatic district. 100 Deluxe suites, apartments and rooms. Beautiful serene landscaped garden and first class service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Kathmandu
Shangri La Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing