We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NOT a 5*..Maybe 2*” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
Ranked #65 of 194 Hotels in Kathmandu
Maputo, Mozambique
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“NOT a 5*..Maybe 2*”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

To call someplace a boutique hotel and capitalize on the Shangri-La name..say it is a 5* hotel then that is what I would expect when I check in. However if this is a 5* hotel then I have to change my standards!!
The friendliness of the staff I cannot fault, they were great. What I can find fault with is the old condition of the hotel and the lack of maintenance.
What needs to improve are:
The dirty, stained carpets in the rooms.
The tiny CRT - TV in the room, upgrade to a watchable TV
The lift. I feared for my safety because of the noise, jerkiness, door not closing or stopping inches above or below the level of the floor.
"FREE" Wifi. Why is it a $20 night hotel can supply usable free wifi and this hotel at 5* rates can't? If we cannot connect even in the public areas..then we leave and spend our money elsewhere.
This is a hotel I will NOT recommend to anyone else.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeeTurn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    197
    94
    34
    14
See reviews for
80
108
54
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maputo, Mozambique
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

As we had a bit of a schedule change at the end of our trip we had one extra night to spend in Kathmandu. Thus no research was done for the Shangri La. We had already booked the Shanker for New Years Eve a "3 Star". We were a little excited to stay at a 'Shangri La' at a 5 star hotel.
Oooops.
So it was very apparent that this Hotel Shangri La is not part of the Shangri La group that I am familiar with.
Once again the curb appeal is great, notwithstanding that road in front is under heavy construction at the moment for road widening. Having seen a couple of the other widened roads in Kathmandu the completion will certainly be a welcome sight for the hotel management.
The greeting from the door staff was very warm and welcoming as was the front desk in fact we very happy with warmth of everyone. The let downs are with the property its self. The lift is quite old and small that is poorly maintained. Having maintained lifts in my previous career, I feel qualified to make this statement. Well maintained lift will operate relatively quietly. Doors will open and close when called upon to do so. The lift will level out correctly for each floor. None of the above was witnessed. It appears the bell staff has accepted this as the norm. But what the heck .....what should we expect? This is Kathmandu after all. Oh did someone say this was a five star hotel? I would expect the lift to function correctly for a five star hotel and not pose a safety hazard for guests and staff.
The room was a solid 3 stars. The TV was an old CRT type. Not fit for a 5 star hotel.
The lounge and fire place were quite inviting and warm so we went down there use use the free internet. Well......let me tell you that was an exercise in futility. We had a strong signal with no results.When we asked lounge staff about the internet, the reply was oh.....this all you get for the free wifi. If you want do anything at all you will need to purchase your wifi. Oh did someone say this was a five star hotel? sigh.....all good.
We decided to take a walk towards the Thamel district in search of somewhere interesting to eat and free internet. (somewhat irritated). As mentioned with road construction underway walking in the dark along this road would not be something I would do a second time.
Breakfast! Well that was the shining star of our stay. It may well have been the best breakfast I have had in Asia for quite some time. Very attentive breakfast staff. The garden is gorgeous as well.

I could possibly stay here again when road work is completed and if the pricing was to reflect the state of the 3 star rooms and the lift were to be maintained.

Room Tip: A room facing the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Polar_Canadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kathmandu hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
509 reviews
163 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 506 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

The first time I enjoyed this beautiful hotel was in 1997, when it served as the meeting point for the members of a challenging two-and-a-half week trek to Everest Base Camp. At that time, it seemed like a luxurious respite from hiking, camping out and not being able to take a bath or shower. The fact this place had once been where Sir Edmund Hillary stayed in Kathmandu added to its mystique and charm. I had such fond memories of Shangri-La that I determined to stay there again when I took my wife to Kathmandu for the first time this past Autumn.
Happily, I was not disappointed. Yes, Shangri-La Hotel -- like the rest of Kathmandu and Nepal -- is not quite as charming as it seemed 14 years ago. But in view of the extremely difficult times endured by Kathmandu and the Nepalese during that period of regicide and civil war, it would be a miracle if it were. Fortunately, despite the history of the past 14 years, Shangri-La is still a wonderful place to stay and spend time in Kathmandu. The initial room given to us faced the parking lot and street. Although the room was in every way satisfactory, I knew from my previous stay that the better rooms are those facing the beautiful inner courtyard. When I asked if we could move to such a room, the friendly and efficient staff immediately arranged for us to do so. I very much appreciated their courteous attention to this request.
All the rooms I have seen or stayed in at this hotel are clean and more than satisfactory, with good bath facilities and very comfortable beds. The hotel has a very good restaurant, where my wife and I enjoyed some of the best breakfasts we had on our entire trip in Nepal, Bhutan and India. The restaurant faces on the beautiful lawn and garden that serves as the inner courtyard of the hotel.
The only drawback of our stay was the torn-up, under reconstruction condition of the Lazimpat street on which the hotel faces, which made it somewhat difficult to walk to the several excellent restaurants in the area. Of course, one may take a very reasonably priced taxi to do so.
I would certainly stay at Shangri-La should I ever return to Kathmandu in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the beautiful inner courtyard, rather than the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Level Contributor
124 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed here after a trek .... it was sensational ... unlimited hot water which was def required
The grounds are excellent
Rooms are specious and very clean
In general the service is very good (however it took me 45 minutes to check out and settle my bill, different people were apparently responsible for different things and it resulted in one person working and about 5 standing around).
Breakfast buffet was good
The associated massage place was excellent
There were a few power outages so maybe take the stairs while there
The location was a tad out of the way and with the "road widening scheme" in Kathmandu it is hard to walk anywhere from the hotel ... you need to catch a cab to get to the main shopping and resturant precincts

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whatithink2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

First of all Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu is not a part of shangri-la group. But its the first five star hotel of Kathmandu. Its a boutique hotel which have most of the five star facility.

Location wise the hotel is ideally situated in the vicinity of some embassies including Indian embassy. The Lazimpat road is under construction (widening works). Therefore walking on that road might be problem especially in night.

Rooms are good and comfortable. The hotel also has a casino where people and actually enjoy.

The food and service people are really exceptional. They are really helpful and courteous.

Room Tip: Take deluxe rooms or twin bed rooms on 4th or the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JiewJana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

Perfect value for money, nice garden, free wifi in the lobby, mini bar, good food with a nice mix of nepalese, indian and international kitchen in a buffet style, but the best of all is the internal illy espresso bar so there is really good coffee, that is often lacking in these kind of places

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eelco1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Beware of the advertisement. Yes this may be Kathmandu's first five star hotel but has not remained that way.
This should sum it up. We paid over 280 a night for a regular size room with patio.

For that price, urine should not come out of the bath tub faucet. I understand Nepal is a third world country, but when we asked for help, it took us four phone calls for someone to come up and fix it.

The food is horrible.

The front desk decided to prank phone call our room six times during evening hours.

Stay somewhere else, unless you want a golden shower-

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BaliJackson511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
2.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#34 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#57 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Annapurna
Hotel Annapurna
#51 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#42 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#36 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#21 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
Address: Lazimpat, Kathmandu 655, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Kathmandu
#14 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#23 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nepal's Own five star boutique hotel in a quite diplomatic district. 100 Deluxe suites, apartments and rooms. Beautiful serene landscaped garden and first class service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Kathmandu
Shangri La Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing