We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
Ranked #75 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

Love the garden, pool, and boutique feel of the hotel. Attentive service. Great location. Illy coffee! Fantastic bar. Nice garden view on a top floor.

If I was here in vacation I would focus on the positives but I was here on business and needed some level of comfort at night to destress.

Here are the negatives. I found a bug on the towel like the one another reviewer took a photo of. Electricity outages were more frequent here than in Yak & Yeti hotel. The central ventilation system created an audible buzz in the room such that I couldn't sleep. It was kind of a miserable night.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CocoSoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    210
    102
    39
    17
See reviews for
86
117
55
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

On a business trip, you expect little leniency, compliance, and more comfort than anything else. The hotel was welcoming, though the check-in could have been better. The room was spacious and with good amenities. The tea-coffee was not replenished the next day! The bathroom needs to be revamped. The room service and quality of food was ok, the people were warm. The bed-linen was very nice and the sleep was superb. Surprisingly, the breakfast started to wrap up 5 mins prior to the announced time of 10 am, and 10 am and oops, it looked that was not breakfast area at all. I never saw anything like this in any hotel anywhere in the world. The breakfast spread was just ok. My check-out process was not so good, may be that was one of those times when everything fails to work and they make guest wait to get the print-out.

Room Tip: Always ask for rooms on the top floors for a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank premranjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

25th time in Nepal...and despite the incessant rains I had a wonderful stay in Kathmandu. Shangri-La made it all happen from the wonderful staff to the great food and the ever smiling and positive General Manager...every aspect of the stay was better than the last time I was there. The rooms have been renovated...with their charm intact. The Friday and Saturday specials at the Garden cafe were excellent. All in all it was truly a " WELCOME BACK " as always. Please keep it up

Room Tip: Garden facing rooms are quieter...with a wonderful view of the award winning garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mel2001in
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We were booked at this hotel through our tour company Yeti Express Travels (great company by the way) and had a very pleasant experience. The hotel may not be brand spanking new, but they definitely know how to welcome you. The service was excellent especially from the housekeeping crew who took care of all our many requests. We got a room overlooking the beautiful garden at the back - ask for the rooms at the back if one is available. It is worth the view. Great location from which to do your day trips in Nepal.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the garden at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zama001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dursley, Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights whilst doing the Nepal leg of our VJV Tour 'Classic India and Nepal'. The hotel is billed as a 4 star. It is spacious and welcoming. The highlight is surely the wonderful gardens and a stroll in the quiet among the flowers is a striking contrast to the noise, dust and madness outside the front of the Hotel - but this is Kathmandu and the chaos is to be expected!
Our room was spacious and clean with large comfy beds. There was complimentary herbal/lemon tea, no coffee, and bottles of water. WIFI was available in the room at a charge of 275 R for 30mins or it was free down in the bar area.
We ate in the hotel at night and the food was nice. Wine is expensive in Nepal and India so we mostly stuck to the local beers. There was a Vietnamese restaurant just across the road which some of our group ate at and said it was nice.
There is a small pool in the gardens with sun loungers round.
The hotel staff were all very polite and friendly and most spoke very good english. There are doormen who open the door for you every time you left and entered the hotel and one in particular was really happy and smiling ALL the time! A real happy chappy and it was really welcoming!
There is a small car park directly in front the hotel and then a main road. It is very busy and noisy with cars and mopeds constantly beeping. A typical Nepali scene! But we didn't notice any noise once inside the hotel, or in the garden at the rear.
Overall, a very nice welcoming, spacious and clean hotel which if we ever visited Kathmandu again we would be happy to stay at.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Little_Blondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

i am getting so short of words right now as just mesmerised into the beautiful gardens, clean rooms with the staff making you feel of the most previliged guest to them.

In short it shall be the onlyh hotel ill plan to stay whenever in Kathmandu.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tyagirajat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

I conducted business meeting here, it was fun the arrangemnt was superb and the staff is really friendly, thdy also play live piano in the evening. the massage parlour is relaxing also the rooms are good the room service and the house keeping does a good job, the food is good breakfast is really good, the garden restaurant is good if u wish to soak the sun in december chill

Room Tip: room facing garden is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Business_Fun_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#61 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,046 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#32 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,508 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#47 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Annapurna
Hotel Annapurna
#60 of 198 in Kathmandu
519 reviews
1.9 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#12 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,072 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#38 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
Address: Lazimpat, Kathmandu 655, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Kathmandu
#15 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#27 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nepal's Own five star boutique hotel in a quite diplomatic district. 100 Deluxe suites, apartments and rooms. Beautiful serene landscaped garden and first class service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Kathmandu
Shangri La Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing