We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (538)
Filter reviews
539 results
Traveler rating
108
239
119
45
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
108
239
119
45
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews overlooking the garden swimming pool nice hotel club room breakfast spread an oasis busy street nice stay dust embassies trek chaos relaxation everest asia retreat
Filter
Updating list...
395 - 400 of 539 reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2012

With a major change in this portion of our itinerary, we needed to have one overnight in Kathamndu on our way through. As such, we chose this hotel for its location and USD $150 per night charge. It was clean and in a good location for Durbar, As an and Thamel, but other than that it was just okay.
When passing back through and staying three nights in Kathamandu, we stayed at Dwarikas and it was exceptional in every way!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoffeeBuzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Kathmandu is big and busy. My tour company from Los Angeles Ca, found this hotel for me. It's rated 5 star by Nepal standards. It's clean and the staff is helpful. The Lost Horizon Bar looked nice but I didn't drink there. Breakfast is included and is served buffet style in a very pretty garden setting. I never had dinner there as my guide suggested several other better places within walking distance that had atmosphere. My room had a king size bed on the 4th floor. It looked down on the courtyard. The A/C in the room worked great. The bath had a tub/shower combo. They charge about $4 for 1/2 hour of wifi. About $13 for 24 hours. I opted to use free wifi offered at some restaurants. Bottled water is put in your room daily....a big bottle. Lighting was good in my room. Safe is in the closet. Tv was good with US channels. I watched The Descendents with no commercials. That really surprised me!
Life in Kathmandu is crazy, this hotel made me feel like I was in Shangri La every night when I got back from touring.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

A friend and I stayed at the Shangri-La hotel for a week in March; it was our base from which to see Kathmandu and environs. While the city is as interesting as ever, the traffic, dust and noise made the hotel an oasis. Within walking distance of the palace and shops, it is in a small compound, with the hotel complemented by a 'mall' containing a spa (fabulous massages), hair salon (ditto on the head massages), high end carpet and shawl store and ATM. The hotel had a nice bar, lounge with live piano music, and a great and varied buffet breakfast. But the best was the garden at the back, including pool. Beautiful and restful. Friendly and professional staff. Absolutely worth it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dennise_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

The shangri la hotel is an oasis in a city that can be noisy and dirty. The entire hotel staff from the guards who greet you at the entrance, the ladies and men who work behind the front desk and bell men all ensure that your stay is pleasant. They are all polite and helpful.

The pool is a welcome relief from the noise of cars buzzing by the hotel. The restaurant food is good and offers diversity for all travelers from the US., Europe, and Asia.

As for it's location, it seems close enough by cab or walk to the city's tourist attractions.

Be sure to ask for a room facing the gardens. Rooms facing the street are noisy til 11 pm and as early as 5 am.

Thumbs up for the Shangri La.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room facing the garden. Rooms facing the streets are noisy. Hotel is super busy during trekking season (march-may) (oct-Nov). Be sure to book early.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grace s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

The Shangri-La is sufficiently far from the centre to be away from the noise and frenzy but is within walking distance (take a torch). Taxis are cheap and there always seems to be one there when you need it. The hotel is slightly run down but comfortable and well equipped. It has a good bakery and an ATM and there are a few restaurants close by. The hotel's buffet restaurant is good if pricey and it also has an indian restaurant but it appeared pot luck as to whether it was open. There is a beautiful large garden behind the hotel which is delightful for breakfast or some relaxation. There is also a small pool. The staff are friendly and helpful.

A few hundred metres towards town there are a number of craft shops that are worth visiting.

Room Tip: Garden rather than road.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brunlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews