We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel with poor A/C”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
Ranked #92 of 205 Hotels in Kathmandu
Reviewed March 27, 2011

I really appreciate the Hotel and its Services but they don't have any reply why their room aircondtion ducts are not working to the mark. Claiming Executive Club Room and offering a table fan to compensate the airconditioning is surprising. But I appreciate the shawer and its working, I could not find any fault with the shower as others explained.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaoNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (480)
There are newer reviews for Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

379 - 385 of 480 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2011

we stayed there for three night over new year.

We stayed at Hyatt regency when we were in Kathmandu last time. Hyatt regency is much better, but this hotel is much cheaper.

This is just average. nothing wrong about this hotel. good sleep and average room etc.

If you are not staying so long in the hotel, this hotel is fine.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank churachura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2011

While this may not be the most fantastic hotel in the world, it offers a tranquil haven after the chaos of Kathmandu. The staff are excellant, the rooms newly renovated, clean and reasonably westernized while trying to maintain a sense of Nepal. As the previous writer mentioned the water temperature in the shower is all over the place but this is Kathmandu and you can't expect everything to be perfect. I think this is a little overpriced for what it is but we were happy to pay it !

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2011

Easy walking distance to Thermal (15-20 minutes) and Assan (30 minutes).
Beautiful garden, quite pleasant to sit and enjoy the afternoon sun; also pleasant dining on the terrace for breakfast and dinner.
Food at restaurant reasonably good, but service, particularly at breakfast, quite slow. After asking for tea three times, and patiently waiting for it, I finally got up to get it myself, even though the coffee and tea pots were near the kitchen door. As I approached the pots staff grabbed my cup and gave me a disturbing look and told me they would bring me tea.
Room service was very good and food was hot when delivered.

Rooms reasonably comfortable, but big problem with plumbing. Shower would start out lukewarm, and then suddenly change to scorching hot and freezing cold - never to find lukewarm again. When told staff about the problem, three different times, three different people came to the room and showed us the direction for hot, the direction for cold and the middle for lukewarm - we finally told the third person we were not stupid and knew how to use and turn the faucet!! For four days and three nights we never got a decent shower. By day three we stopped reporting the problem.

My husband became ill, with a 102 fever.. The front desk staff was very helpful and the doctor was there within thirty minutes. We received excellent medical care.

Overall: Would recommend as long as gurantee plumbing is corrected - there is nothing worse than randomly, without warning having scalding hot and freezing cold water. Grateful we weren't burned. Other than the plumbing issue hotel was quite comfortable, staff very caring, food good, and pleasant atmosphere. Hopefully plumbing will be corrected.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelernottourist8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2011

I'll make this a short review:
* The Food is OK.
* The Rooms are GOOD.
* The Staff is excellent!
Make sure you try the chicken burger from the garden cafe!
Overall, its a good place to stay in Kathmandu city. Just 20mins drive from the airport.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milanbir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2010

Accolades to the staff and management for an outstanding and excellent hotel. It is such a welcome respit from the chaos of Kathmandu. The garden is so peaceful and beautiful and such a pleasure to look at while dining on the terrace. Choices in food were varied and very delicious. We had an early departure and they packed a fabulous take-away box which was most appreciated at the airport as there was no restaurant in the secure area. Great place and a very good value.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank LynnSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2010

We stayed for a total of 3 nights at the Shangri-La and were very satisfied overall. The rooms and public areas are clean, and the garden, though much smaller than the Yak & Yeti, were well maintained. Breakfast was good, although the Nepalese options tended to be warm rather than hot. They do have a chef cooking eggs to order, and the staff were very efficient. The hotel is slightly away from the main shops and sights, but we did walk to Thamel in about 15-20 minutes - every trip takes a lot longer if you have to try and cross the road!!
We found a couple of restaurants within a 5 minute walk of the hotel, and as we prefer to try local rather than hotel meals, we ate twice in Alina;s, which offered very good momos and Nepalese dinners - also cold Everest beer.
Overall, we would probably stay at the Yak & Yeti if we go back, but there is not much to choose between them, and if you have booked the Shangri-La I am sure you will be well looked after.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foresthouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#33 of 205 in Kathmandu
1,570 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#65 of 205 in Kathmandu
1,089 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#46 of 205 in Kathmandu
1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#40 of 205 in Kathmandu
1,186 reviews
1.9 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#8 of 205 in Kathmandu
1,099 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#25 of 205 in Kathmandu
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu

Address: Lazimpat, Kathmandu 655, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Kathmandu
#17 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#33 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: $104 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nepal's Own five star boutique hotel in a quite diplomatic district. 100 Deluxe suites, apartments and rooms. Beautiful serene landscaped garden and first class service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Kathmandu
Shangri La Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing