We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dwarikas - an oasis of calm in the hustle bustle of Kathmandu”
Review of Dwarika's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dwarika's Hotel
Ranked #11 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2010

Dwarikas hotel is right in the heart of Kathmandu. You walk into the courtyard and you are immediately in a wonderful sactuary, away from the hustle and bustle of the city. It was constructed by an architect call Dwarikas who collected up all the antique pieces of carved wood which the locals were burning for firewood. Eventually he had so much that he decided to use it to construct this beautiful hotel. Every room is different, the service and restaurants are excellent. This is truly a "boutique" hotel. If you are staying in Kathmandu, stay here!

Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank JuliaH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

834 - 840 of 1,123 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2010

This hotel is an attraction in itself. The rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated. The style of the hotel is something else it consists of very well restaurated traditional Nepali buildings surronding a courtyard which feels like an oasis in the middle of Kathmandu. It was very nice to sit by the pool and enjoy a coctail prepared in Fusion bar.

Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
Thank kalleNewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2010

Top hotel with an unique historical atmosphere, professional staff and excellent restaurants. Worth the price in every way.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Culturetraveller12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2010

The first amazing thing with the Dwarika's is its very existence. Amid the city's chaos, dust, pollution and widespread poverty the presence of such a place borders to the miracle.
The Dwarika's is a heaven of comfort, peace and elegance in Kathmandu. Years of careful renovation have turned the building into a kind of living museum and a beautiful showcase of Nepali woodcraft and architecture. From doorlocks to windows almost every object is worth paying attention to.
Rooms (we stayed at rooms 103 and 104 during our 2 stays) are very spacious and cosy with wooden furniture and soft coloured checked linen.
Of course, one could object at the bulky TV set and the pretty much outdated cassette (!!) stereo player in the room but these are really minor details considering the charm and elegance of the place. Open space granite-covered bathrooms are extremely roomy.
Service is very efficient and professional. We had dinner at the western restaurant several times. Food was very good. I would especially recommend the Friday night barbecue around the pool. Temperature was about 10 degree celsius. However, having dinner outside, under the stars and the welcome heat provided by gas-heaters was a wonderful experience. The only downside of the hotel is the location: quite close to the airport but rather far away from downtown (20 to 35 minutes in the chaotic Kathmandu traffic). However, as we stayed in Kathmandu during a big religious festival (Maha Shivaratri) even this drawback turned to be a benefit as the hotel is a few minutes away from the main Hindu sanctuary, Pashupatinath temple.
Overall a terrific place and definitely a must-stay.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean Francois V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Dwarikas for 2 nights at the end of our honeymoon in Nepal. We trekked the Annapurna Santuary. Which I can recommend. So whilst we hadn't nbeen used on that trip to luxuty, we have both stayed at some stunning hotels in the past. This was up there.

We got a beautiful room in the new wing 'Ram palace'. There was a huge bed, sitting area, separate dressing area and an enormous bathroom. The fabrics, antiques and artefacts are superb, it was also very romantically lit.

The service (as mentionned by others) was a little slow but that could have been because the staff were attending to Richard Gere who was also staying there at the same time as us. A highlight for me!

The 16 course nepalese meal was fantastic and the service their impecable..

I would not heistate to recommend this hotel to anyone, an oasis in Kathmandu indeed.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank law6knp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2010

Dwarika's Hotel was a breath of fresh air in this city - Kathmandu is notoriously polluted but this sanctuary of old Nepalese history coupled with a high quality of staff and service make this place unforgettable. We only had 1 night stay there (we wish we stayed more!!) on our final night in Nepal and it was brilliant. The room was MASSIVE, had a seating area, huge comfy bed, a bath, big big shower, lovely soaps and shampoos (this is a godsend after trekking!) and a very relaxing beautiful environment.
The decoration in the rooms were beautiful. All with historical references and from Nepalese culture. The information provided in the rooms about the hotel was very information, but there are plenty of staff around to ask about the buildings.
The grounds are lovely - we spent time walking around the hotel looking at everything!

We had dinner in the restaurant - a traditional Nepalese dinner served over 6 courses. We had personalised menus as a souvenier! I think you have to book in advance when you book the room to get the dinner. It was a treat this meal (not the best in all of Kathmandu but VERY close!) and it was delicious. The rice pudding at the end was DELICIOUS! The staff are well trained, very polite and happy to explain their style of dress, the food you are eating and the traditions as well. I loved it.

Overall I recommend this place - it is pricier than other places, but well worth the money. It is a luxury but it supports the artistic side of Nepal and helps preserve architectural history and ideas that maybe is slowly fading away.

Also - you get to play the lion & goat game as they have boards set around the rooms and the grounds.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AussieTravelsAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2010

We should have seen the red lights flashing when we contacted Dwarika’s to arrange an airport arrival transfer, and they refused, due to the “unreliability of domestic flights” (something, by the way, that doesn’t faze the Kathmandu Hyatt.) However, Dwarika’s is a beautiful hotel, and we arrived prepared to love it. My husband and I were very happy with our large room, #62, except it was uncomfortably hot. We turned on the air-conditioning, and went to the lovely courtyard to have lunch, hoping the room would cool down. When we returned to our room two hours later, it was even hotter. We closed the curtains, since the afternoon sun was streaming in, and turned down the a/c even more, but it just got hotter. About 5:00 PM, I informed the reception clerk about our problem, and she said she would "send the engineers." After that, we stayed in the lovely courtyard, having drinks and food until 9:00, then returned to our room.

By this point, it was insanely hot in the room. We stood on the bed to feel the vent, and discovered the “a/c” was blowing hot air. We turned it off, and requested a fan from reception. We placed the fan in front of a small screened window, since the large, unscreened windows had a big sign posted: "Do not leave windows open". We didn’t want to find out what might crawl in the windows at night.

It was a chilly night, and the the room filled with wood smoke from outside. It was a lose/lose choice: be baked or be smoked. Despite the fan, the room’s brick walls continued to radiate heat absorbed during the day. We were exhausted the next day from the worst, most sleepless night in a hotel, ever....and our room was still very warm. Before we had breakfast, we informed the reception desk about the problem again, and asked to speak to the hotel manager. No manager was summoned, but we were told by the desk clerk that a new room would be made available. He also said a/c wasn't available this time of year, and that only the heat was turned on....if this was true, why weren’t we told this the night before?

Hours later, we were given a choice between two rooms--both half the size of the one we were vacating. We protested about receiving a downgrade after a horrible night of sleeplessness. The clerk coldly said the hotel was fully booked, and we could either take a small room, or he would "send a fan" to the old room. We'd already been running a fan for 15 hours...something we'd told him early that morning. A heartfelt apology would have been deeply appreciated at that point, but instead he insinuated we were inconveniencing both the hotel and other guests by asking to change rooms. Had we not known the Hyatt was also fully booked, we would have changed hotels instead.

The day before we departed, we stopped by the reception desk to arrange an airport transfer. We mentioned we had a lot of luggage, and were told by the same reception clerk that we would have to hire two taxis to take us. It seemed absurd that a hotel of Dwarika's standing couldn't arrange a car big enough to hold both us and our bags. So later that evening, we stopped by the night manager's desk, and asked the female clerk if she could arrange our transfer in one car. She didn't hesitate. She said she could get a big car, and it would cost 800 rupees, which of course was fine with us. When the car arrived the next day to pick us up, we were surprised to see a van with the Dwarika's name on it. The first clerk could not have been unaware of the existence of this vehicle, yet failed to summon it--leading us to believe he had an arrangement with the taxi drivers outside the hotel.

One difference between a poor/average hotel and a great hotel is the grace with which they handle problems with their guests. I e-mailed the Executive Manager of Dwarika’s after our return, and explained our situation, thinking perhaps it all resulted from dealing with the wrong desk clerk. But the manager never responded. If he had apologized, I likely wouldn’t be posting this review. If you experience no problems while at Dwarika’s, you’ll probably enjoy your stay. But don’t expect good service if a situation arises....and whatever you do, don’t book a room with west-facing windows, in the new wing, during warm days.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank tripartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#29 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,645 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#55 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,235 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#39 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#66 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,131 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#25 of 210 in Kathmandu
415 reviews
2 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#4 of 210 in Kathmandu
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dwarika's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dwarika's Hotel

Address: Battisputali Rd, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#2 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#3 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#3 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: $294 - $486 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dwarika's Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built upon a rich tradition of Nepali hospitality and incorporating some of the country’s most exquisite architectural traditions, The Dwarika’s Hotel in Kathmandu is an authentic experience of Nepal’s ancient cultural heritage.Originally established as a heritage restoration project, The Dwarika's hotel has become known as Nepal's premier property, and a model for heritage preservation in Nepal and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Dwarika's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dwarikas Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing