We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing hotel (but service a bit disappointing)”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dwarika's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dwarika's Hotel
Ranked #10 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel (but service a bit disappointing)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

Amazing hotel, rooms, location and very good food but the service could be better. The staff (particularly on reception) didn't seem very happy and weren't very welcoming. With improved service and a smile this would get 5 stars.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluetillew70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Dwarika_Hotel, Assistant Manager - International Sales and Marketing at Dwarika's Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear bluetillew70,

Many thanks for your review of The Dwarikas Hotel and for choosing to stay with us.

We were pleased to learn that you found our hotel, rooms and food amazing.Your feedback is much appreciated and very important to us in ensuring we improve or service into the future.

Our sincere apologies that this service you encountered did not meet the high standards we strive for, however we do hope it will not deter you from staying with us in the future and please do let me know when you visit Nepal next. (sm@dwarikas.com)

Warm regards,

Bhumi Ghimire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    829
    185
    20
    8
    5
See reviews for
143
439
82
117
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
108 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

As a self proclaimed 5 star hotel, their service and attitude was pathetic and left a lot to be desired. Ambience was nice in hotel but everything was a "no" with no alternatives or adjustment. I travel about 42 weeks a year (>300,000 airline miles a year) and stay in 100s of hotels. Service and attitude is what drives hospitality and Dwarika was extremely poor. We were returning from out trek upto Everest base Camp. The spa had very limited choices and people,with very limited knowledge.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WorldtravellerKNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Dwarika_Hotel, Assistant Manager - International Sales and Marketing at Dwarika's Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear WorldTravellerHNK,

Firstly may I thank you very much for sharing your feedback on the
Dwarikas Hotel Kathmandu recent stay.

We were most disappointed to learn of your experience as this has
fallen well short of the high service levels we strive for.

I would also like present our apologies for the lack of willingness to help and
the shortfall in product knowledge that you encountered whilst your stay here.

We would very much like to learn more about your experience and would
invite you to contact me personally to allow us to follow up with the respective departments.
(sm@dwarikas.com)

I would also like to invite you to contact me directly when your travels
next bring you to Kathmandu, as I would like to take the opportunity to ensure
we deliver you an exceptional stay.

We hope to hear from you in the near future,

Warm regards,

Bhumi Ghimire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
118 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

This hotel was a wonderful respite from the bustle of Kathmandu city. It is very peaceful with lovely grounds and an excellent staff. We stayed here at the beginning of our trip to Nepal and returned at the end of our 2 weeks travelling. It is a great beginning and end. The rooms are large and beautifully maintained. The staff is incredible, they are there for your every need with out being obtrusive. There are several restaurants to choose from as well as a great bar poolside. They offer a delicious breakfast buffet with bread made on their premises and local cheeses. First time I ever had Yak cheese! Their spa offers numerous treatments and is a perfect way to end a long day touring.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nabglow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharjah, UAE
Level Contributor
118 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

This hotel is absolutely gorgeous. A short drive from the airport and not too far from Durbar Square, it is a truly tranquil spot in the middle of a dusty, busy city. Our family of three stayed in a well-appointed large room on the fifth floor with a view over the pool and lush courtyard. The food was good, and it was nice to have a selection of restaurants without leaving the property (Nepali, Japanese and International). The only downside was that although we had booked room for three and paid approximately US $80/night for our nine-year-old to share a room with us, we had to call to request that his bed be made up. And actually, after some further miscommunication (they thought we were calling for turndown service), Housekeeping ended up making up a bed for him on the sofa in the room. At $80 extra per night on top of a steep room charge, I would have thought it would be ready and waiting along with extra towels for him. Other than this, all was well and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MandanaJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Ridge, Illinois
Level Contributor
95 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed here for two nights before our trip to Everest Base Camp in March. This hotel has amazing character and is simply delightful. The courtyard is gorgeous and the rooms are just as nice. Huge bathrooms with soaking tubs and separate showers and a large living area made staying there a true sanctuary from the hustle and grim that can be Kathmandu. I have and do travel all around the world and this hotel (by itself) is a destination. All the art, antiques and traditional Nepalese styling makes this hotel a treasure for the senses.

The service is beyond compare, the food safe and interesting, and the spa was a great place to stop in at after our climb.

I could write forever about this hotel. It is that good!

Room Tip: I don't think there was a bad room in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

The first time I met my English friend Diana 5 years ago ,in Bali where she lived, she told me that the most amazing place in the world was Kathmandu .. she was absolutely right.
We were in Nepal last March and the beauty of its gorgeous artistic heritage, the colours and perfumes of its streets and markets , the kindness of its smiling people, so poor but so dignified , not to talk of the emotion to rise your eyes in the chaos of a little street at sunset and meet the Boudhanath Stupa ‘s eyes … it is really breathtaking and worthwhile going.. even if you are not a tracker…
We had only one week so we stayed mostly in Kathmandu at Dwarika ‘s hotel that I recommend. It is a bit far from Durbar square and in a quite anonymous part of the city but when you pass its threshold you enter in an oasis of peace, full of beautiful Nepali antique furniture and objects. Rooms are spacious and comfortable and try a Nepali dinner at KRISHNARPAN restaurant… it’s a real experience. There is also a nice good Japanese restaurant..

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

We stayed at Dwarika's Hotel on our last night in Nepal and from the moment we entered the courtyard, I did not want to leave. We are a family of four with two small children (4 and 6), and after the dusty, smoggy streets of Kathmandu, this place is an oasis of beauty, tranquility and cleanliness. The staff were all exceptionally friendly and kind to our children, our room was enormous and just perfect for the four of us. The beauty of the traditional woodwork and the story behind the restoration were inspiring. The food was fantastic - best coffee I had in Nepal - and there was enough space for our children to run around without being too annoying to other guests and for them to burn off some energy. The three resident dogs kept them amused, particularly the one who shared my daughter's name. This place was pure bliss and we loved every minute spent here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#33 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
2.0 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#3 of 193 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#2 of 193 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#18 of 193 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#22 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#6 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dwarika's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dwarika's Hotel

Property: Dwarika's Hotel
Address: Battisputali Rd, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#2 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#3 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#3 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dwarika's Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built upon a rich tradition of Nepali hospitality and incorporating some of the country’s most exquisite architectural traditions, The Dwarika’s Hotel in Kathmandu is an authentic experience of Nepal’s ancient cultural heritage.Originally established as a heritage restoration project, The Dwarika's hotel has become known as Nepal's premier property, and a model for heritage preservation in Nepal and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dwarika's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dwarikas Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing