We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Secret Garden in Kathmandu” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dwarika's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dwarika's Hotel
Ranked #8 of 194 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Secret Garden in Kathmandu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

When the car pulled up to the hotel, I was a bit weary but the moment you enter through the old beautiful carved doors, you step into an urban oasis. The architecture is beautiful and the courtyard is cozy and comfortable. I had a room in one of the new buildings and it was bright, spacious but oddly shaped. I took the liberty of rearranging some furniture to make it more comfortable. The room was very clean, despite the dustiness of Kathmandu.

All the meals I had in the hotel were superb and reasonably priced. The spa was also very good.

There are a few domesticated dogs (very cute!) hanging out in the courtyard. They're extremely friendly but if you're afraid of dogs, this might not be the best hotel for you.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zzzzzzgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    814
    182
    19
    8
    5
See reviews for
140
431
79
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

Stayed at the Dwarika having trekked to Everest Base Camp - just what we needed - luxury without being overly ostentatious. Perfect combination of pure comfort, selection of dining options and attentive staff.
Would loved to have stayed for longer in our junior suite - an oasis amidst the hustle and bustle of Kathmandu!
Thank you for a wonderful stay - will be back!

Room Tip: Junior Suite well worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank timmy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
60 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

Wonderful hotel with lots of character. So much better than staying in an impersonal chain hotel. It was a pleasure to explore. The only drawback was that the alcove outside our room was an ideal place for the pigeons early in the morning, as there was only a thin material on the window area to the alcove this proved a little noisy.
Nice touch was the chocolates received each evening. We had a huge bathroom & was well appointed.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monsoon09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

I stayed at the Dwarikas for one week. The hotel is in a great spot, and the staff could not be nicer. They have many different restaurants and on Friday night they have a BBQ, which should not be missed. Thanks to Dwarikas I had a great stay in Kathmandu.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Avril L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

What a stunning hotel! After a day exploring Kathmandu to be able to return to this oasis of hotel is just the peace you'll need.

As soon as the doors open you are transformed into another world. We have a beautiful room which over looked the courtyard.

Don't visit nepal in August, the weather isn't great, so even though we hiked into the mountains we still didn't see Everest.

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eastgate23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
116 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

We selected Dwarikas after reading Trip Advisor reviews of the hotel. We wanted a safe, centrally located hotel to maximize our limited time in Kathmandu. Dwarikas is located near the airport and also within easy walking distance to the Pashupatinath Temple. When we arrived at the airport, the Dwarikas shuttle representative was waiting with a sign as promised. Unfortunately one of our suitcases decided not to get on the flight so instead of hopping right in the van and zooming to the hotel we asked the the shuttle representative to help us find the Qatar Airlines office to track down our lost bag. The shuttle representative was extremely accommodating and actually went to the airport the next day and picked up our lost bag for us. After a short drive through the crazy streets of Kathmandu to the hotel, we were welcomed into the Dwarikas oasis. The center courtyard is a beautiful display of Nepalese architecture and exudes relaxation. Our room was very nice and had a view to the center courtyard. The room was spacious and clean with a comfortable bed and bathroom facilities.
We enjoyed dinner in the traditional Nepalese restaurant located on the property and also took advantage of the spa facilities. They have a few different styles of restaurants on the premises. We even ate in the library with a cozy fireplace one evening. The waitstaff was more than gracious. We also had issues with Qatar airlines canceling our return flight. The Dwarikas shuttle representative helped us out with locating the Qatar airlines office in downtown Kathmandu and getting our flight problems sorted out. The assistance was greatly appreciated and it was easy to tell that the staff cared about making the guests experience in the hotel and also in Nepal a pleasurable one.

I don't think the internet issues described in earlier reviews have been sorted out. With the price of the room there is no question that Internet should be complimentary throughout the stay for guests.

At the end of our trip, we had a 12 hour layover in Kathmandu before our international flight out of the country. We decided to come back to Dwarikas, have lunch and drinks by the pool and also get a massage. After spending a significant amount of money on these services and also our multi day stay the previous week it was frustrating that Dwarikas would not give us a complimentary internet coupon so we could check in for our flight. This was our only gripe about the hotel.
We definitely recommend this hotel and would stay again on our next visit to Kathmandu. Just loved the ambiance and overall experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doingstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Splendid effort was put into this facility. The restoration of local architecture a gift to the culture by Dwarikas. The enclave of the hotel is simply enchanting. It is set up with the feel of a small village with 2 shops, a bar, several restaurants, a pool, yoga area, etc. The room was large, lovely, and interesting. The view from it onto the courtyard inviting. The restaurants serve fabulous foods. Service is very good, too.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BAHG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#34 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,420 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#9 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
2.0 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#2 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#3 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
2.1 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#18 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#21 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dwarika's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dwarika's Hotel

Property: Dwarika's Hotel
Address: Battisputali Rd, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#2 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#3 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#3 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dwarika's Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built upon a rich tradition of Nepali hospitality and incorporating some of the country’s most exquisite architectural traditions, The Dwarika’s Hotel in Kathmandu is an authentic experience of Nepal’s ancient cultural heritage.Originally established as a heritage restoration project, The Dwarika's hotel has become known as Nepal's premier property, and a model for heritage preservation in Nepal and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Dwarika's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dwarikas Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing