We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Man's Dream”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dwarika's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dwarika's Hotel
Ranked #11 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“One Man's Dream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Splendid effort was put into this facility. The restoration of local architecture a gift to the culture by Dwarikas. The enclave of the hotel is simply enchanting. It is set up with the feel of a small village with 2 shops, a bar, several restaurants, a pool, yoga area, etc. The room was large, lovely, and interesting. The view from it onto the courtyard inviting. The restaurants serve fabulous foods. Service is very good, too.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BAHG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    828
    185
    20
    8
    5
See reviews for
143
439
82
117
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Beautiful place. Well located. Plenty of charm. Isolated from the outside noise. Relatively friendly staff. This should be the start of a great review, but it is unfortunately not: I had high expectations upon arrival as the place is really good looking, and I found the rooms to be very "authentic" (in reality quite modern, but with a very nice historic touch) BUT (and I tried two rooms, just to see if the first one was an exception...) a hotel is ultimately there to allow one to rest, and the beds in this one are really bad (I stayed there 3 nights and my back still hurts 3 days later from having slept on a bed which seemed made of solid concrete); the rooms are poorly isolated, so one is subject to any outside noise at any point during the night; and (in my second room) it was impossible to have hot water stable without calling a plumber to fix it morning and evening. Really too bad, as the place "felt" really good and I would have loved to have a great stay there...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PPMAAVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

This historic property is really only 1 of 3 places to stay and is by far my preference in KathmanduThe many dining options, superior attentative staff and sense of place are truly special.The Hyatt has all the modern amenities but could be anywhere in the wworld. It truly is a metter of preference. The Heratiage suites are large with day beds, and plenty of space. The bathrooms are large with double sinks, separate toilet area, shower and tub are most welcome. You can exchange currency and the food options delightful. Will be back in April! And can't wait!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveller1118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartsdale, New York
Level Contributor
562 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

I have read all of the reviews and criticisms of this hotel. What trumps all of this is that you will stay in one of the most amazing hotels in the world. There is always a sterile atmosphere in most hotels but in Dwarika's, you feel as though you are staying in someone's home. And what a great feeling to have that in such an exotic faraway location. Each room is unique and every nook and cranny displays such beautiful craftmanship and detail. Also loved the environmentally friendly products and paper. They also supply a local tiger game with instructions on your coffee table.
Just strolling around the different buildings and courtyards of the hotel is fascinating. You must have someone explain the history of the collection of all of this fabulous wookwork that was to be discarded if Dwarika did not save it.
Although the food was average and the location was a bit far from the center, I would not miss this experience - phenomenal.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shapgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

Walking off the bustling streets of Kathmandu and through the doors of Dwarika's is a bit like stepping through the wardrobe in the Secret Garden. A haven to experience and enjoy like very few other places, especially in a place like KAT. After three weeks of trekking and traipsing around the country, this was the perfect wind down hotel. Amazing comforts and service among spectacular architecture and cultural expression. Loved it!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank bpmeier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

Dwarika's Village is one of those very special places you'll look back fondly as one of the more unique, authentic, and visually stunning accommodations you've stayed at during your travels. It's clearly a labor of love, incorporating Nepalese architecture, lots of brick, many antiques, stunning carved windows everywhere, a lovely pool (closed for remodeling during our stay), good exercise room, very nice spa (superb one hour massage for about $40 - terrific!), a separate, attractive bar and a wonderful restaurant serving reasonably good fare and a few standout dishes. There was also a Japanese restaurant on property, of which we did not partake. Fountains and lotus water treatments abound (one was apparently dedicated by Prince Charles during a 1998 visit to Nepal), there are a half-dozen lovely shops, and a good number of outdoor tables, lounge beds and lounge chairs.

Dwarika's rooms are large, rectangular, with dark wood floors, carved wood furniture, a very comfy King Bed and flat screen tv. With lots of wood and carved trim on the windows, it's a bit dark on a cloudy day, but there are many windows and with all curtains pulled back, it's quite light and airy when the sun is shining. There's an entry area with armoire and window seat, a two sink bathroom, decent sized shower with great hot water pressure and small WC. The bedroom end of the large room included a good sized desk. We were asked to pay for wifi, but comped a second password so we could both access simultaneously.

Service was simply impeccable. The staff was well-trained, very friendly and very competent. One word of caution. This is a "village" so there are people and voices in the courtyards below the rooms. Our room was near the front of the property, above some of the outdoor dining tables and near the bar, and proved to be a bit noisy in the mid-evening, but quieted by 10:30, which was not a problem for us.

One minor annoyance. We asked for a later checkout (since we departing Nepal at 7 pm to begin the long trip home) and were told we'd have to pay one-half the daily rate for the three hours between 11am and 2 pm, but for that, they'd let us stay until 4 pm. Given they were far from full, we found that (and the wifi fees) a bit chintzy.

Should we return to Kathmandu, we'll be staying at Dwarika's again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoCalTraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuntsholing, Bhutan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

This has to be the best hotel in Katmandu. The ambiance is amazing and the food is mind blowing.
Loved it. This has to be one of the most amazing building/hotel in Kathmandu. The architect is something to admire if you have any interest in architecture.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms closer to the pool if you have time to lounge around during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thinley P D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#32 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
2.0 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#4 of 193 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#3 of 193 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#18 of 193 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#22 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#6 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dwarika's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dwarika's Hotel

Property: Dwarika's Hotel
Address: Battisputali Rd, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#2 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#3 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#3 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dwarika's Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built upon a rich tradition of Nepali hospitality and incorporating some of the country’s most exquisite architectural traditions, The Dwarika’s Hotel in Kathmandu is an authentic experience of Nepal’s ancient cultural heritage.Originally established as a heritage restoration project, The Dwarika's hotel has become known as Nepal's premier property, and a model for heritage preservation in Nepal and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dwarika's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dwarikas Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing