We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing jewel that Dwarika is!”
Review of Dwarika's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dwarika's Hotel
Ranked #10 of 207 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I have stayed in this unique place two times. I say place because it is not a normal hotel but a wonderful treasure of nepalese traditonal architecture where you feel as if you are almost in a paradise.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank makrevis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,100)
There are newer reviews for Dwarika's Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

491 - 497 of 1,100 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2013

I stayed at this hotel whilst on a business trip to Kathmandu. The hotel itself is stunning, beautifully restored and maintained and a true oasis in the crazy place that Kathmandu is! The facilities at this hotel are really good, the pool is great for a dip and the rooms are really spacious. The breakfasts are fantastic and the traditional Nepalese restaurant is a must, if you are a guest of the hotel or not! The only downfall is the service of front desk which I found unfriendly. This hotel is very expensive by Kathmandu's standards and the world for that matter and it is the only area I thought let the hotel down. Unsmiling and always appearing like whatever you're there to ask them is a complete hassle. We had some confusion over our car to the airport booking and I found how they dealt with this in particular really unprofessional. In saying that the rest of the staff - housekeeping, door staff, grounds staff and the various eatery staff all were loverly.

Room Tip: Interesting place to stay to experience the hotel. Not the best location for being amongst other int...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ToTheWoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Dwarika's Hotel in Kathmandu bears testimony to the magnificent heritage of Nepalese craftmanship. Staying at Dwarika's is, in itself, an experience that will be remembered long after the holiday is over. The hotel is a treasure chest of Nepalese furniture, artwork and pieces that have been salvaged, displaying these different and unique pieces around the hotel. One can spend hours marvelling at these magnificent works.
Coupled with the high standard of service, the obliging staff and the superior restaurants, are the perfectly appointed rooms and bathrooms.
It is located close to the airport and is away from the chaos of Thamel - a welcome reprieve after a day out!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lydias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I would love to stay at this hotel, but to date, they have not returned my several inquiries, emails or reservation requests. I have sent off numerous requests to book a Heritage Junior Suite for next April and have heard nothing. From the reviews I have read on Trip Advisor, I understand that they are a well thought of hotel but from my small amount of experience with them, I'm not sure what to think. I know that they are still operating from the recent reviews but I would like to think that they value all client service, both existing and in the future. Is ignoring future guests the norm for this establishment?

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
9  Thank TravelerJO2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This hidden pearl in the middle of Katmandu is unique in any global standards and especially when you talk about Katmandu.
Each room if different then the other in design and in size.
It is defiantly a must place to rest for couple of days after trekking in the Himalaya
Service is very good and the food is good and safe especially compare to other places in Katmandu.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank AM3108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We were lucky to spend 4 nights in this magnificient hotel , an oasis in chaotic Kathmandu. We had a superb junior suite with a balcony overlooking a beautiful courtyard, decorated with exquisite and authentic taste to the detail, with the comfort of a 5 star hotel. Service was impeccable , with 3 restaurants of high standard, all with welcoming and friendly staff. Definitely one of our favourite hotels.

Room Tip: A junior suite will make you feel like royalty and garantee noiseless nights
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brigitte K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We've been lucky enough to stay in some of the finest hotels in the world, and Dwarika's easily ranks in the top 5... anywhere. This is a fantastic oasis in the midst of the Kathmandu chaos. Occasionally my wife and I would walk across the hall and open the hall window to the street below just to be reminded we're really in this frenzied city.

Inside the room (we were upgraded to a Junior Suite) you don't hear a sound from the street, just some light music from the courtyard. There are often events in the courtyard in the evening but in every case they ended by 10pm and it was silent afterwards. We had the best sleep of our trip (16 days, 7 hotels) at Dwarika's. The rooms are luxurious, clean, and spacious.

The architecture - restored old style Kathmandu windows, walls, and artifacts - is stunning. The service was perfect - gracious and accommodating at every turn. The staff is highly trained and knows "why" they perform how they do, not just "how" to do it. It makes a big difference.

The food - again, wow. Every meal from breakfast to lunch to dinner was perfect. The charbroiled fish was one of the best fish entrees I've ever tasted - and we're in the Himalayas! Drinks were very good, with a good wine list. The wifi connection was strong everywhere, but internet can be intermittent - but that's just Nepal.

The location is ideal - about 5 minutes from the airport and short taxi rides (or guide rides) to major attractions. You can safely walk around just outside the hotel to get a feel for this energetic city.

If you're in Kathmandu, and can afford it, you must stay at Dwarika's. I wish we could have stayed longer than a couple nights. I guess we must return.

Room Tip: The junior suites are magnificent.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeanCEO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#32 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,571 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#48 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,164 reviews
2.0 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#2 of 207 in Kathmandu
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#26 of 207 in Kathmandu
396 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#40 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,186 reviews
1.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#66 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dwarika's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dwarika's Hotel

Address: Battisputali Rd, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#3 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#3 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#3 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: $309 - $566 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dwarika's Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built upon a rich tradition of Nepali hospitality and incorporating some of the country’s most exquisite architectural traditions, The Dwarika’s Hotel in Kathmandu is an authentic experience of Nepal’s ancient cultural heritage.Originally established as a heritage restoration project, The Dwarika's hotel has become known as Nepal's premier property, and a model for heritage preservation in Nepal and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Dwarika's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dwarikas Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing