We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome”
Review of Dwarika's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dwarika's Hotel
Ranked #11 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The hotel was really beautiful and majestic. It was full of old but amazing artifacts and decoration of the room was absolutely perfect. The rooms were huge and they're sun beds were so comfy. The restaurants 22 course meal was delicious and filling and I would have it again any time. It was so relaxing after all that trekking and was a perfect end to the a awesome holiday!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grace N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    840
    189
    21
    8
    6
See reviews for
145
448
84
119
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
114 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

beautiful classic hotel in a charming city. lovely stay after a few weeks in chaotic india. bar, restaurant, concierge are all first-class. great location for visiting the city and all the tourist attractions.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MFHLouisville_KY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Dwarikas hotel is one of the best boutique hotel i have ever seen .When i was in Kathmandu we had a 13 course meal at their restaurant...their food was delicious,their staff were so warm,their permise was so perfect.
Beside this their entire building was on a very historical building like castle of emperor . est hotel in Kathmandu slightly away from Down town .. but hey have every thing one needs during thwir stay at kathmandu.Highly Recommended

Room Tip: Rooms facing towards the garden are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milangc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Nepal had always been a dream destination for me and my wife. Hence last week holidays we decided to venture out to the country nested by India and China. “. Pre-booking our travel was also something we were looking forward to doing as this would help us overcome the linguistic barriers and also speed up our entire process.

Nepalonsale.com ,well known fr Kathmandu packages in India , offered services encapsulating resort - Dwarika's Hotel and our other places of interest at affordable rates. The site was of multipurpose utilities as the photos and the reviews gave us vital info about an unknown place and facilitated our packings.
They had arranged for a pick up from the airport and our commute to the resort was smooth. As soon as the cab entered the resort premises my wife was ensnared by the grand entrance and the beautifully landscaped gardens. The reception area was a touch crowded but the concierge attended to us swiftly and we had a hassle - free passage to our rooms.
The rooms were decently large at around 8 mt by 6 mt in dimensions and we did not face any issues with storage. The place around the resort generally had a climate with warm days followed by cool mornings and nights. The room was equipped with all modern amenities and had excellent room service.

Local & Pokhran trips were already arranged and the best part was Kathmandu’s ancient trade route located by the resort on the Silk Road which linked India and Tibet. We also got to know that the Lhasa Newar merchants, who traversed that route had conducted trade across the Himalayas and contributed a lot to Indian culture too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Firangipanibloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Imagine a big complex constructed and decorated with decent Nepali tradition, whilst providing service, cleanness and gourmet the same class at any western 5-star hotel. That is dwarika, the best hotel you can find in Kathmandu city

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JUNHANG G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed at this hotel after completion of the Everest Marathon 2013. The architecture of this hotel is remarkable. The rooms are spacious, great bathroom,excellent bed and serves a good buffet breakfast.

This hotel was booked by Himalaya Expeditions as an upgrade to the Shanker Hotel which hosted the Everest Marathon event.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glau888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I was on my way from 7 day trip to north India where I was exhausted. After Varanasi, my expectations became so low that, I was ready for anything. When our tour bus, arrived at the entrance of dwarika's which is located at the crowded street of Kathmandu, I sensed nothing special. But when you enter inside the hotel, oh my god. Amazing, truly magnificent. Can't describe the beauty of this amazing sophisticated authentic hotel with words. Inner garden and the courtyard is so eloquent. Having said this be ready for your room. I have been Amanda resorts chains, the one and only chains and other luxury chains, but let me tell you this hotel and the rooms are one of a kind.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AresK_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#32 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
2.0 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#1 of 198 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#2 of 198 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#15 of 198 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#24 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#4 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dwarika's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dwarika's Hotel

Property: Dwarika's Hotel
Address: Battisputali Rd, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#2 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#3 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#3 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dwarika's Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built upon a rich tradition of Nepali hospitality and incorporating some of the country’s most exquisite architectural traditions, The Dwarika’s Hotel in Kathmandu is an authentic experience of Nepal’s ancient cultural heritage.Originally established as a heritage restoration project, The Dwarika's hotel has become known as Nepal's premier property, and a model for heritage preservation in Nepal and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Dwarika's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dwarikas Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing