We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully preserved Newari Architecture”
Review of Dwarika's Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dwarika's Hotel
Ranked #12 of 201 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Mesa, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautifully preserved Newari Architecture”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

A grand hotel that is well worth your time. This hotel has a very relaxing spirit about it. The staff treat everyone like real royalty and the food is very very tasty (I forgot how to spell that in Nepali). The rooms are a slice of heaven and the live music a real treat.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1,081 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    854
    190
    23
    8
    6
See reviews for
148
450
86
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ubud
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Dwarika's Hotel is truly a spectacular work of art! This incredible hotel started as one man's quest to save the truly unique, one-of-a-kind antique that graced many buildings around the city. As luck would have it, years later, his legacy lives on in this incredible hotel now run by his family. You would never know that just off this dusty, crowded street, behind the wooden doors, lies an oasis. Dwarika's is pure Nepalese style, beautifully combined with luxury. Rooms are incredibly spacious and beautifully appointed, the staff are lovely. What I love about this place is that the owner's late wife lives at the back of the property and you feel as though you are staying in a luxurious extension of their home. Krishnarpan is not to be missed, one of Kathmandu's dining attractions!! I have been to this hotel as a solo traveler and came back with my family including my very young daughter. We stayed for a few weeks and my daughter was treated as though she was 'Eloise' at Dwarika's! I just heard that the owner has purchased a hotel in Dhulikhel and is re-constructing it to be a destination spa focusing mainly on sustainability and including an organic farm. Can't wait to go back and try out Dwarika's in the mountains!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira B, Consultant at Dwarika's Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your amazing review. We are pleased yourself, family and the little one had a wonderful time at Dwarika's. The Dwarika's family , myself and the team loved having you stay with us and would also love to welcome you back to Dwarika's Dhulikhel opening soon.

Please feel free to contact any one of us should you require anything from Kathmandu.


Warm Regards

Samira Burgess
Consultant
Dwarika's Group of Hotels and Resorts
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, Utrecht, Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Dwarikas Hotel is a tranquil haven in the ultimate chaos of Kathmandu. The hotel is located in a fairly busy street close to the airport, but after the facade a rustic and traditional Nepalese world appears. The classic Nepalese architecture is implemented in every single detail. Rooms are very spacious, especially the large bath room gives you a feeling of luxury.

It takes about 20 minutes to get to the city center by taxi, but a taxi ride in Kathmandu is an attraction on it's own! Both restaurants offer fine food, but traditional Nepalese dinner at the Krishnarpan restaurant is an experience not to be missed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira B, Consultant at Dwarika's Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. My team and I are pleased to note you had enjoyed your stay at the Dwarika's and we look forward to your next visit.

Krishnarpan is one of the most beautiful traditional Nepali cuisine restaurant in this region and we take great pride in its originality as well as the cuisine. Most of our grains and Vegetables on offer are organically grown in our organic farms around Nepal.

It will be a pleasure welcoming you back to Kathmandu and the Dwarika's Hotel.

Warm Regards

Samira Burgess
Consultant
Dwarika's Group of Hotels and Resorts
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Staying here both before and after trekking in the Himalayas, was a special treat. It was still traditional Nepali style but also an oasis of luxury. The rooms were large, comfortable with every amenity needed. The restaurants were terrific with fair prices and the the staff was most welcoming. Definitely a fabulous place to rest weary bones!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira B, Consultant at Dwarika's Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review, It is very much appreciated by the team at Dwarika's. We are committed to giving you the best of Nepal Heritage combined with a world class hospitality service.

We look forward to your visit again.

Warm Regards

Samira Burgess
Consultant
Dwarika's Group of Hotels and Resorts
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We wanted something traditional Nepali, yet high end and a deluxe Hotel in Kathmandu. The Dwarika's was beyond our expectations! The moment you step in this Oasis, you still feel in Kathmandu but a very luxurious side of Nepal. The architecture is fabulous, every single detail is extremely well maintained and done with so much class. There are at least 4 very nice Restaurants, you can choose from traditional Nepali to International cuisine. We spent the day sightseeing and came back around 4 pm, it was so pleasant to sit down at the Courtyard of the Hotel and have a little Champagne before going up to rest in a very spacious, lovely comfortable, very Nepalese room. Then we changed and went to any of the amazing Restaurants for dinner and to end our evening, we would sit at the gorgeous Library of The Dwarika's by the fireplace having some port. When we went back to our room, turn down service had been done, new towels and the best was that each of us, had in their beds under the covers, a hot water bottle to warm you up while you sleep! And of course, some chocolates and complimentary water bottles every day in your room. The staff is very professional and treats each guest like a royal. Very nice atmosphere without being crowded. No wonder HRH Prince Charles stayed at The Dwarika's.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira B, Consultant at Dwarika's Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. My team and I are very much pleased to note that your experience at Dwarika's went beyond your expectation. Our aim is to introduce you to the great heritage of Nepal through our antique carvings and artifacts through out the hotel as well as to give you the luxury feel that you are accustomed to.

We would love to welcome you back to Dwarika's Dhulikhel, " a life style experience amid the Himalayas" opening this year.
We promise you an experience of a life time.

Warm Regards

Samira Burgess
Consultant
Dwarika's Group of Hotels and Resorts
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

This beautiful hotel is located out of the main tourist hub of Thamel, in a much more relaxed neighborhood not far from the incredible Pashupati temple. The hotel showcases the architecture and art of the Kathmandu valley, with it's brick and wood temples and fantastic woodwork. The rooms are large and have all amenities. There are 2 restaurants and a big garden with a swimming pool. We had a great time here and appreciated the kindness and warmth of the staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira B, Consultant at Dwarika's Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

"Nepal at its best" Thank you for giving us this honer. My team and I are most appreciative of your review and it makes all our staffs hard work to keep you warm and pampered worthwhile.

China is across the border and we sincerely hope you would make it a point to visit us again.

Best wishes from all of us at Dwarika's


Samira Burgess
Consultant
Dwarika's Group of Hotels and Resorts
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Amazing hotel, amazing restaurants. This heritage hotel is very charming and the room is incredible. The Nepali food restaurant is great with fair prices and breakfast is falso very good. Service super friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira B, Consultant at Dwarika's Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the very nice short review. We loved having you stay with us and hope to welcome you back to Dwarika's Kathmandu or Dwarika's Dhulikhel Resort opening Soon, a life style experience you will not want to miss.

Please feel free to contact us on info@dwarikas.com for more information on Dwarika's Dhulikhel


Warm Regards
Samira Burgess
Consultant
Dwarika's Group of Hotels and Resorts
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#32 of 201 in Kathmandu
1,531 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#45 of 201 in Kathmandu
1,120 reviews
2.0 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#1 of 201 in Kathmandu
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#38 of 201 in Kathmandu
1,164 reviews
1.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#63 of 201 in Kathmandu
1,056 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#25 of 201 in Kathmandu
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Dwarika's Hotel

Property: Dwarika's Hotel
Address: Battisputali Rd, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#3 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#3 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#3 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dwarika's Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built upon a rich tradition of Nepali hospitality and incorporating some of the country’s most exquisite architectural traditions, The Dwarika’s Hotel in Kathmandu is an authentic experience of Nepal’s ancient cultural heritage.Originally established as a heritage restoration project, The Dwarika's hotel has become known as Nepal's premier property, and a model for heritage preservation in Nepal and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Dwarika's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dwarikas Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing