We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“superb” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dwarika's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dwarika's Hotel
Ranked #7 of 194 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Yvelines
Level Contributor
102 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

this property is not located in the center, nor is it close to any touristic place :this is the only somehow negative point , although kathmandu is not such a big city.
As you enter in the property, you leave the noise and dust of the city to enter a very quiet and peaceful place.All buildings incorporate wooden frames , doors and windows that the owner has recuperated on ancient houses in ruins, across the country: as such, it is representative of the nepalese architecture.Large rooms, furnished in nepalese old furniture,big bathrooms, excellent service( laundry ),the main restaurant is excellent, both for breakfast and for lunch or dinner , you can have a quick lunch in the garden .The traditional nepalese restaurant Krishnarpan serves a nine course dinner which samples the cuisine from all regions of the country, and is a pure delight. This hotel compares favorably to the best hotels in Asia.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gerardYvelines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    814
    182
    19
    8
    5
See reviews for
140
431
79
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

OK it is pricey for Kathmandu, but such a unique place constructed in the old Kathmandu valley style with brick and carved woodwork galore, wonderful rooms and ambience. You should also definitely aim to experience their ethnic dinner with lots of course and dishes from all over the country. And one of the best hotel breakfasts I have had anywhere...

Book early- it fills up fast!

Room Tip: I had a junior suite - large enough to play squash in - so a nice splurge if you can afford it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M_and_M006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira B, Consultant at Dwarika's Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and to have given us the chance to showcase our Nepali architecture and heritage.
The Nepali Restaurant Krishnarpan is one of the best in Nepal and my personal favorite.

My team and I would love to welcome you back to Dwarika's hotel or Dwarika's Dhulikhel Holistic Retreat opening Mid 2013. "a life Style experience" over looking the Himalayas and the surrounding valleys. Please feel free to contacts for updates on future openings at info@dwarika's.com

Wish you Happy Holidays and a wonderful New Year


Regards

Samira Burgess
Consultant
Dwarika's Group of Hotels and Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

When we stepped through the doors of Dwarika's it was as if we had left the manic bustle of the city and entered a different world. Here, in the hotel, we were cocooned in peaceful serenity in an atmosphere that exuded exclusivity. The staff were friendly and efficient, the food was flawless and our room was sufficiently spacious to have to phone my wife to speak to her!
The restaurants are very good, the wifi works, there aren't any powercuts and you can watch TV. But it's not cheap!!
It's a class act all round.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent. Ours looked over the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira B, General Manager at Dwarika's Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very pleased you did enjoy your stay with us and we hope to welcome you and your wife to Dwarika's

Regards

Samira Burgess
General Manager ( Consultant)
Dwarika's Group of Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Ths is the only place to choose when looking for a luxury hotel option in Kathmandu. Opened over 50 years ago, when Dwarikas started a project to protect the heritage of the city and used reclaimed wooden beams, doors etc... to develop what is a truly unique hotel. You step away from the busy streets of the city and into the quiet, calm courtyard of the hotel. The friendly smiles and genuine helpful nature of everyone you encounter is wonderful. There is plenty of choice within the complex - from three excellent restaurants (the best Nepalese Restaurant in the country, offering a real gastronomic experience, Japanese and International), a Bar full of character, Library/Lounge, Outdoor Swimming Pool, Shops and of course, the lovely courtyard to relax in and enjoy drinks and dining. Bedrooms are spacious and have everything you want from a luxury hotel. A wonderful touch was the hot water bottle at turndown. Breakfast is excellent, with plenty of choice. There is plenty of information about the retoration and development project that the hotel grew from and they are even restoring a local temple. The hotel is a little away from the old city, but close to some of the key sights and attractions of Kathmandu (everywhere is a cheap taxi ride away). The airport is also easily reached (traffic can be terrible in Kathmandu, so this is handy). The owners are still very much involved (third generation) and this creates a lovely family feel to the experience. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globaladventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira B, General Manager at Dwarika's Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for choosing to stay at Dwarika's.
We are pleased you had memorable experience and would love to welcome you back.

My team and I stand committed to provide the highest level of service and attention to details.

Regards

Samira Burgess
General Manager( Consultant)
Dwarika's Group of Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
109 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

After a 3-week hardcore expedition to the summit of Mera Peak, the only sensible thing to do was to check into Dwarika's for 3 days of doing absolutely nothing except partake of the glorious cuisine in the various restaurants, lounge around on the fabulous diwan in my room and watch CNN World News, or stroll the wonderful grounds awaiting my next meal. Dwarika's is THE ONLY TRUE LUXURY HOTEL IN KATHMANDU, bar none. My room - a standard one - is gigantic, gorgeous and well stocked with everything I want, including looseleaf special blend herbal tea, hot water bottles in the beautiful bed, a wonderful shower and plenty of room for suitcases, expedition bags and other goodies. I have spa appointments back to back for the next 4 days - already did the 2.15 hr Himalayan scrub/steam/massage, as well as the "Trekker's Special" which beat the kinks out of my battered body within the hour. All staff are top notch, including the doe-eyed concierge Shiva who tried his utmost to serve any upcoming request I had (reservations at the legendary Friday night BBQ, a table at Mako, the 22-dish Nepali luxury restaurant blast, etc.) I've shopped for fabulous cashmere sweaters right here in the store on Dwarika's grounds - no need to leave the compound and get all frazzled with the ugliness in K-du (sorry but I find it stressful and yes, very unattractive with all the dust and fumes). Pool, gym, fantastic breakfast brunch - aaah, I'm constantly hungry here after no food at all for weeks on the exped.

Forget staying anywhere else in K-du - just forget it. Book a standard room with dual sinks, giant bathtub made for two normal-sized people if so inclined, have drinks at the bar, watch some complimentary movies, take a yoga class and just breathe in the sophistication and stunning architecture that is Dwarikas. No request too impossible for the refined staff so eager to please. And the food. The food......... what are you waiting for? Book now!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xtacine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira B, General Manager at Dwarika's Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Dwarika's and for taking the time to write this wonderful review.
We are very pleased you had a great stay and enjoyed the facilities on offer. The cuisine we offer is carefully selected with fresh produce from our own organic farms. The Staff at Dwarika's are very thankful for your kind words specially Shiva and would love to see you back in the very near future.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Kathmandu.

Regards

Samira Burgess
General Manager( Consultant)
Dwarika's Group of Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

From the moment to enter the doors into the Dwarika courtyard from the manic streets of Kathmandu you know you are somewhere quite special.

A calmness and tranquility is everywhere - very attentive staff make sure even the simplest request is carried out with care and attention - and you're made to feel very welcome.

Huge rooms with sunken baths, strong showers, and beds you can sleep for a week in!

All the food was incredible - Nepalise, Japanese and Indian - and some of the best cocktails ever.

The spa offered incredible massages - and incredible good value

Stunning

Room Tip: All are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cliff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira B, General Manager at Dwarika's Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to note that we left you with a memorable impression. My team and I stand comitted to providing the highet level of service and attention to details. I will share your comments with the rest of the team and we look forward to welcoming you back to Dwarika's


Regards
Samira Burgess
General Manager( Consultant)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
893 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 812 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

If you get one shot at Kathmandu, as I did, I am so pleased that I chose this hotel. The overall atmosphere of this compound, with all the representative art and architecture, the ever attentive staff, the bountiful breakfast, the evening barbeque with local treats, all make for a truly unforgettable experience. Staying here, it is so hard to imagine that just outside the front door is an absolutely filthy city getting more crowded and polluted by the minute. This is indeed a welcome retreat.

I more than recommend this hotel for any visitor, tourist or business (as I was), trekker or elderly sightseer. You will definitely not regret it.

Room Tip: All rooms are superb, although the suites are worth the extra price. If you are there on a Friday, d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony-Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira B, General Manager at Dwarika's Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and on that note we would like to welcome you to Dwarika's Dhulikhel Resort situated on the edge of Kathmandu Valley which will promote health and wellbeing for a better lifestyle. Dwarika's Dhulikhel Resort will open early 2013. I will share your comments with the rest of the team and would hope you get the opportunity for another trip in the future.

Regards

Samira Burgess
General Manager(Consultant)
Dwarika's Group of Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#33 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#8 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
2.0 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#3 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#1 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
2.1 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#18 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#22 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dwarika's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dwarika's Hotel

Property: Dwarika's Hotel
Address: Battisputali Rd, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#2 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#3 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#3 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dwarika's Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built upon a rich tradition of Nepali hospitality and incorporating some of the country’s most exquisite architectural traditions, The Dwarika’s Hotel in Kathmandu is an authentic experience of Nepal’s ancient cultural heritage.Originally established as a heritage restoration project, The Dwarika's hotel has become known as Nepal's premier property, and a model for heritage preservation in Nepal and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Dwarika's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dwarikas Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing