We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Stay...great Location”
Review of The Everest Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Everest Hotel
Ranked #128 of 203 Hotels in Kathmandu
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Comfortable Stay...great Location”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

the place is buzzing. its right next to the Casino Anna. and nearby to the local eating outlets and 10 min walkt to Thamle, the night district of Kathmandu. Rooms are clean and comfy. Mine was with window. staff is helpful, they can arrange you tour attractions, transfers etc.the approach to the hotel is though an alley to the road. but u get what u pay for. its 2.5-3 star expereince hotel. Pretty satisfied.
Pros: Location, Access to Casino Annna, Access to local market & Thamel, Comfy rooms

Cons: Lacks that leisure element.

Overall- 7.5/10

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    74
    53
    28
    16
See reviews for
44
36
27
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolligen, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

The hotel is clean, a bit old-fashioned (rooms, furniture, bathrooms) and the food is okay. It is very near to the airport, therefore a bit farther away from the city. If there is no strike it takes about 45 minutes into the town (Thamel). Near the hotel there is not much to do.
Therefore it is very good for travellers just arriving and departing from Kathmandu, that's the main purpose for choosing this hotel. For visiting Kathmanda for a few days I would recommend a cheaper hotel nearer to the city.
The restaurants in the building are quite expensive compared to similar locations in town.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LSR3065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We had to book into the hotel at the last minute because of the general strike. the hotel is living on its past glories and is need of renovation. The staff are very coutious and helpful and were able to arrange transport to the airport the following morning at the time we wanted. The restaurant was ok if expensive for Khatmandu. the pool area is very close to the main road and given the smog levels, not a good place to spend any time

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kolkata
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2013

"THE EVEREST HOTEL " kathmandu. Very good service from the begining. We stayed there for 3 days. Started from welcome drinks to end of there doorstep. We got our Room service very fast. Good tea, lovely Chinese food and the main things buffet breakfast(like dosa, idly, small samosa etc in Indian style at place like Kathmandu ). The staff are very close to all the broader. All total we liked it.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floor in front side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ukb2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

As the title reads, the property is old, the lobby and corridors reek of a pungent odour, perhaps due to the rains. No free Wi-Fi, instead it is expensive at USD 5 per hour! Most hotels, world-over, provide free Wi-Fi for their transient guests.

I stayed in what were called the "Superior" rooms, which were quite inferior. The toilets do not have a hand-faucet! The bathrooms are old and the drains are clogged. I requested for better rooms and the hotel upgraded me FOC, however, the bathrooms were still in the same poor state.

The staff are very friendly. The hotel houses a great Chinese restaurant - Mandarin - which is a must-go-to if you are in the vicinity. Deliciously Chinese!

The casino is average. Free buffet and drinks for players is a welcome offering.

The hotel is 15mins from the International airport (Tribhuvan International Airport), which is a definite advantage for those seeking to live at a close proximity to the airport.

Overall, I would not recommend staying in this hotel unless it is for a short trip and you need to stay close to the airport. Bon Voyage!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
everesthotel, General Manager at The Everest Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear sir,

Greetings from The Everest Hotel, Kathmandu

At the outset, we would like to acknowledge receipt of your feedback and thank you for bringing these points to our notice.

While we regret the inconvenience you have experienced, may we assure you that we are investigating the causes and problem and rectify the same. I would additionally request you to treat this as an isolated incident and not a reflection of our normal services

At The Everest Hotel, it is our constant endeavor to provide you with high standards of personalized service and efficiency.

I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again, when we can demonstrate to you how your feedback has resulted in immediate correction and re-establish our credibility with you.
Thank you,

Best regards

Ravi Kapila

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We got placed here for 2 nights by our travel agent. Would give it a 6.5/10. The lobby is very admirable typical of a 4 star hotel and nothing much else to gloat about the hotel. The rooms need a big overhaul and so does the morning breakfast buffet in terms of cleanliness. Here are the upsides & downsides of the hotel

Upside:

Very quick and efficient service. Our room service delivered our dinner to our room in a jiffy (hot and fresh), we had ordered naan, roti and paneer butter masala and it was surprisingly good

The air-conditioning system was not working so when we had gone out for a walk( hotel location is not at all pleasant) we had informed the reception of the problem. When we reached our room the air-condition system was up and working.

Visited the in-house Chinese restaurant Mandarin, a must go, was extremely pleased with the food, superb service, ambience and the quantity is good enough. There is also an Indian restaurant but was closed

Downside:

Has a musty worn out smell when we entered our room for the first time, would recommend the staff to condition the room with a freshener.

The breakfast buffet had a wide spread but I would recommend keeping the station more hygienic as one could see unclean cutlery and creepy crawlies under the buffet spread table and over the bread station, with so many guests and such a small sitting area, would recommend to shift the breakfast to the larger hall beside it when you are expecting more people

There is a swimming pool but it was closed and am sure this is not an isolated incident.

Take an empty water bottle and fill it with the rooms tap water and voila it turns yellow. This was not the case in the other hotels in Pokhara and Begnas

We entered our room and we find a CRT which was as good as not being there. Even cafes have LCD nowadays

Internet is very expensive, around 5$/hr. Everywhere else in Kathmandu and even the small street cafes provide free Wi-fi.

Have uploaded some snaps of the hotel which is in my mind is pretty basic but thumbs up for the fast service but needs a lot of improvement

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K_KShetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
everesthotel, General Manager at The Everest Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Mr Shetty,

Greetings from The Everest Hotel, Kathmandu

At the outset, we would like to acknowledge receipt of your feedback and thank you for bringing these points to our notice.

While we regret the inconvenience you have experienced, may we assure you that we are investigating the causes and problem and rectify the same. I would additionally request you to treat this as an isolated incident and not a reflection of our normal services

At The Everest Hotel, it is our constant endeavor to provide you with high standards of personalized service and efficiency.

I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again, when we can demonstrate to you how your feedback has resulted in immediate correction and re-establish our credibility with you.
Thank you,

Best regards

Ravi Kapila

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I guess the title sums it up. The location is the biggest problem as there simply isn't anything near by and you have to take a taxi. If it was located in Thamel or near Yak and Yeti, you could justify a higher price as everything would be nearby but that is not the case. So then the location could be justified if it was a real stunner, but the hotel is looking quite dated and hasn't aged well from the last time I visited which was 2008.

The rooms are a big hit and miss. We were in a very large group, so while some people got nice clean rooms, I wasn't so lucky and the bathroom was not up to par or the room. The CRTs that we had in our room was definitely looking out of place (others had LCDs). Finally there was no free wifi. This was really unacceptable as seemingly every pub, restaurant, bar etc in Nepal has free wifi and our hotel in Pokhara (no shining star by the way) also had free wifi.

I see no reason to recommend the hotel when there are so many other options at better locations available. With a better location and free wifi, this could have been a recommended hotel if you get a great deal , but as it is you are better off paying a bit more.

Room Tip: Rooms with LCD tvs are deluxe I guess, and have free water. Don't take rooms with CRT as there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arvidc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
everesthotel, General Manager at The Everest Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear sir,

Greetings from The Everest Hotel, Kathmandu

At the outset, we would like to acknowledge receipt of your feedback and thank you for bringing these points to our notice.

While we regret the inconvenience you have experienced, may we assure you that we are investigating the causes and problem and rectify the same. I would additionally request you to treat this as an isolated incident and not a reflection of our normal services

At The Everest Hotel, it is our constant endeavor to provide you with high standards of personalized service and efficiency.

I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again, when we can demonstrate to you how your feedback has resulted in immediate correction and re-establish our credibility with you.
Thank you,

Best regards

Ravi Kapila

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
2.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
Radisson Hotel Kathmandu
#65 of 203 in Kathmandu
1,065 reviews
2.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
#81 of 203 in Kathmandu
474 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#33 of 203 in Kathmandu
1,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#10 of 203 in Kathmandu
1,092 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#46 of 203 in Kathmandu
1,140 reviews
2.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Kathmandu
Grand Hotel Kathmandu
#78 of 203 in Kathmandu
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Everest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Everest Hotel

Property: The Everest Hotel
Address: P.O.Box 659 | New Baneshwor, Kathmandu 44601, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 203 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Everest Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A premier 5-star hotel with 160 rooms, club rooms, executive club lounge & suites, 2 specialty restaurants (Chinese & Indian), coffee shop, bar, large conference / banqueting facility for up to 1500 persons, swimming pool, health club with gym, sauna, beauty parlor, tennis court, business center, shopping arcade & an international casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Everest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing