We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 separate visits - 2 were good!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kathmandu Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kathmandu Guest House
Ranked #35 of 194 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“3 separate visits - 2 were good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

I have been in Nepal for 4 weeks, and have had 3 separate stays at KGH. The first was through an organised tour - and we had an awesome garden facing room that was small for 2 people but still very comfortable. The second time back, the hotel manager who is WONDERFUL and always takes the effort to say hello when you make your way through the foyer, remembered us and as there was some availablity offered is an upgrade for a minimal price for an awesome garden room - it was amazing! We were extremely happy with the room and the stay (the waiter in the garden area is just a lovely man and always has a smile and a chat - so welcoming!). I headed off on a trek and was able to leave my bag in the lock up room, though a glass item in my bag did get broken and spill all through my stuff - so make sure you pack carefully! The bags must get thrown around!
Sinc coming back I was looking so forward to getting to the comfort of the hotel, only to find that this visit I was stuck in a pretty horrible room, in the 'old' section of the hotel - right above the dining area so had to listen to people talking and the noise from dinner while I was trying to rest. The windows in the bathroom did not close properly so the room did get cold overnight (being winter and all!). The room was not so bad, but I know I could have gotten a much nicer room for much less at a different hotel just around the corner. The men there on te evening of my check in we're not very welcoming, and when I made enquiries about hot water etc I was made to feel quite stupid - which I had never experienced at my other visits. There is Internet generally provided free of charge though you do regularly get logged out and need to log back on. The shower water was always hot, and the beds comfortable.
I was very happy with the hotel at the first visits, however the third visit has made me feel I would be hesitant to recommend the hotel, and I will likely not return.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitchiono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PragyaTuladhar, Guest Relations Manager at Kathmandu Guest House, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Friend of KGH,
Namaste,

KGH family would like to thank you for your stay and your comments. Glad you enjoyed your 2 stays and sad that the 3rd was not as good like you said. We apologise for that.

We promise that you will not be disappointed the next time you visit us at KGH.

Thank you once again and hope to see you in the near future.

Regards,
Pragya Tuladhar
Kathmandu Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    343
    172
    90
    74
See reviews for
119
228
219
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bathurst, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

WARNING: I cannot emphasize this enough: DO NOT USE THE LAUNDRY SERVICE. They *will* destroy your clothes and give you very little compensation. While it is convenient to have a laundry service in the guest house, it is very unreliable in terms of quality of laundering, speed of service, politeness, friendliness, charges (e.g. what is actually a dress is classed as a nightie and charged at that rate, etc.), and overall service. In my visit this year, the laundry service succeeded in destroying two dresses and gave me the equivalent of USD12 as compensation: each dress was only worth USD30, so they weren't expensive, but USD12 does not begin to compensate the loss. They also destroyed a USD100 shirt of a colleague who also used the laundry service.
(Note: The laundry service is *not* run by KGH, but rather another business. KGH often has issues with the laundry service, but they have little power to do anything as it is contracted out.)

Now, onto the GOOD stuff...

KGH itself is a gem in the heart of Thamel, Kathmandu. The building is an old palace and it has been maintained very well. The garden in the middle of the hotel is large and is a tranquil place to escape the chaos outside. You can't hear any noise except the fountain and the occasional louder conversation. It is the perfect place to wind down after a busy day.

The staff at KGH are immensely helpful and really do their best to provide excellent service. While the hotel is not five-star, they really do provide five-star service (or try their best to - I have been in five-star hotels that do not have the level of service at KGH). Nabin and Uttam at the front desk will do their best to make your stay enjoyable and easy. They go out of their way to make sure that you are comfortable and that your needs are met. The housekeeping staff are always friendly - they will have a quick chat to you and they are always smiling. The cafe and restaurant staff are also good - they try their best to meet every need.

The hotel is very clean and is constantly being cleaned. Although you can't drink any tap water in Nepal, that is the only negative here - you can't rinse your mouth out after brushing your teeth. However, the hotel provides filtered water and water jugs for you, so you don't have to continually buy water for use in the room. (You can also fill your own water bottles to take with you when you go out.)

The rooms are good - I stay in "garden facing" rooms and these are slightly bigger than the standard rooms. It is also possible to get rooms that have 24/7 electricity, so if you need constant access to electricity, it is worth requesting these rooms. Nepal has loading shedding, so there are usually times during the day and/or night when there is no electricity and the hotel runs from generators. However, each room has at least two lights that are connected to the generators (one in the main room and one in the bathroom), so you will never be completely in the dark for more than two minutes (unless you choose to do so!).

Overall, I would recommend KGH to anyone going to Kathmandu - they are great and not expensive. They also have a good network of hotels around Nepal, and you can book these through the travel desk. You won't be disappointed here! (Just don't use the laundry service!)

Room Tip: Don't go to the rooms above the kitchen - they can be noisy in the morning with the kitchen prep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tabras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PragyaTuladhar, Guest Relations Manager at Kathmandu Guest House, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Friend of KGH,
Namaste,

Thank you for your stay at KGH, and also we thank you for your wonderful elaborated explanation.

However, we are immensely sorry that our laundry service destroyed your clothes. We are sad to know that your rest of your stay was enjoyable except the laundry problem. We will have a meeting right away with our HouseKeeping department and the laundry men.

We will make sure you or any of our other guests ever face this problem at our hotel. Mr. Uttam and Mr. Nabin sends you their regards and says thank you as well as all of at KGH.

We hope to see you soon, have a wonderful time ahead.

Regards,
Pragya Tuladhar
Kathmandu Guest House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Good hotel, excellent service throughout. Clean but with all accommodation in Thamel don't brush your teeth with the water.
Nice gardens, good restaurant, comfortable beds. A little over populated at the height of the season.
They have an ATM on site.
Excellent hair dresser.
room rates better value elsewhere i.e Hyatt Regency Boudhanath

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PragyaTuladhar, Guest Relations Manager at Kathmandu Guest House, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Simon,
Namaste,

We would like to thank you for your stay at KGH and your words. Glad you loved your stay.

Our hairdresser says thank you and so does everyone else here. However, the water issue that you brought up will be addressed immediately.

Thank you once again and hope to see you soon in the near future.

Regards,
Pragya Tuladhar
Kathmandu Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, null, Vietnam
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

By international standard this hotel is nothing special, it is a bit run down and so is staff :-)

I would however still recommend this place as other places are worse than this, but don't have too high expectations.

The cafe area in front of the hotel where dinner and breakfast is served is however very cosy, and so is the back yard..

Room Tip: Avoid the area where the generator is located, it will keep you awake all night ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tho V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PragyaTuladhar, Guest Relations Manager at Kathmandu Guest House, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Friend of KGH,
Namaste,

KGH family would like to thank you for your stay with us and also for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed it.

We would love to have you again in the future and we will make sure that we keep on overcoming our flaws to make sure our guests get the best service ever.

Thank you,

Regards,
Pragya Tuladhar
Kathmandu Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
1,020 reviews
289 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 580 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

I really enjoyed staying here.

We stayed in one of the very basic rooms with shared shower and toilet for $12 plus tax per night.  The rooms were very basic with just a bed, couple of towels and a little table. The bed was quite hard and a bit uncomfortable and the shared bathroom facilities looked very old. There was also not always hot water although we found a shower on the next floor which usually did have. The other annoying thing was that there were no power sockets in the room so we had to rely on cafés and restaurants to charge things. Obviously you can get a lot more for the same money elsewhere but the location is amazing.  It really is an oasis in the middle of Thamel which is so close to lots of nice restaurants, shops etc perfect after a tiring day trekking or sightseeing. It also has a lovely garden area to chill out in and free reliable wi fi everywhere. We also found it quiet at night so we could get some sleep.

It was also great for us as we were travelling with a friend who could stay in one of the nicer more expensive rooms.

Breakfast is not great if you have to pay for it which we had to but it is included in the more expensive rooms. Beware of the breakfast nazi who tried to charge us the full $8 breakfast price just because we had a cup of tea which we paid for separately and had sat down with a pastry which we had bought from outside.

Most of the more expensive rooms have breakfast included and the newer ones are really nice.  (The old rooms for the same price are worlds apart).

The reception staff were excellent and very friendly and helpful.

The hotel has it's own taxi service which is naturally expensive compared to what you can get on the street but if you negotiate with the drivers directly you can usually get the same price as you would if you picked a taxi up from the street. 

There is also an on site business centre, hairdressers, salon and great book and souvenir shop which the hotel doesn't seem to advertise.  There is also a travel desk but we found that it was quite expensive compared to booking elsewhere through other local agencies.  There is also an office that can arrange activities like rafting etc and an on site ATM.

The only really annoying thing about the hotel is that they like giving people's rooms away.  You can have a room booked and have the confirmation and everything but the hotel doesn't seem to care and will give your room to someone else regardless.  For us this meant that we had to spend our first night in a more expensive room whereas for others they had to spend time in cheaper rooms which lots of people really weren't happy with.  If you arrive early or around 12pm which is the check out time I think you maximise your chances of getting the room you booked.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank eatydrinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PragyaTuladhar, Guest Relations Manager at Kathmandu Guest House, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Friend of KGH,
Namaste,

Thank you for you wonderful words and you stay at Kathmandu Guest House. We are glad you enjoyed you stay.

Your comments and suggestions means everything to us. We try our best to be flawless and provide you with the best service. However some times it does not go accordingly. We love how you have wonderfully written in detail about the hotel and the services and your views and experience. Thank you again.

We hope to see you soon in the near future.

Regards,
Pragya Tuladhar
Kathmandu Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights with friends...the room was basic but clean & comfortable and although it is right in the bustling area of Thamel the hotel was a quiet retreat after the chaos of the streets. We had a great stay and would certainly stay again. Surrounded by great restaurants and plenty of shops.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ELFLIN963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PragyaTuladhar, Guest Relations Manager at Kathmandu Guest House, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Friend of KGH,
Namaste,

Kathmandu Guest House family would like to thank you for your stay with us and the review.

We are glad you loved your stay and we hope to see you soon at KGH. It will be our pleasure to serve you and your family/friends again.

Thank you and have a wonderful time ahead.

Regards,
Pragya Tuladhar
Kathmandu Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Very nice historic building , old Rana palace converted to hotel . Location is great thamel is main tourist area. Next to all the shops and center of activities. Clean and decent hotel . Rooms are very spacious and comfortable

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheikelahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PragyaTuladhar, Guest Relations Manager at Kathmandu Guest House, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Friend,
Namaste,

We would like to thank you for your stay at Kathmandu Guest House and you write up too. :)

It was our pleasure to serve you while you were here with us and glad to know that you enjoyed it too.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to KGH whenever you are here in Nepal.

Thank you and see you soon.

Regards,
Pragya Tuladhar
Kathmandu Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#1 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#36 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#16 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ambassador Garden Home
Ambassador Garden Home
#25 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#18 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
Hotel Mums Home Pvt Ltd
#9 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kathmandu Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kathmandu Guest House

Property: Kathmandu Guest House
Address: KGH Sqaure, Ward no. 16 | Thamel, PO Box 21218, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kathmandu Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Journey is a deep ingrained memory - an experience to reminisce, an escapade to cherish, a secret to smile over. You recall, you talk, you laugh, you ponder - you face a whole range of emotions over that "particular incident" in that "particular hotel." Your memory is all the more enriched when something happens in a special hotel. In KGH you can be assured that your memory is highlight that will sparkle throughout your life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kathmandu Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kathmandu Guest House Hotel Kathmandu
Kathmandu Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing