We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kathmandu Guest House
Ranked #35 of 207 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Very nice historic building , old Rana palace converted to hotel . Location is great thamel is main tourist area. Next to all the shops and center of activities. Clean and decent hotel . Rooms are very spacious and comfortable

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheikelahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PragyaTuladhar, Guest Relations Manager at Kathmandu Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Dear Friend,
Namaste,

We would like to thank you for your stay at Kathmandu Guest House and you write up too. :)

It was our pleasure to serve you while you were here with us and glad to know that you enjoyed it too.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to KGH whenever you are here in Nepal.

Thank you and see you soon.

Regards,
Pragya Tuladhar
Kathmandu Guest House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

734 - 740 of 1,222 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2013

I have lived in Mariott, MGM, Hilton and most of the top hotels in the U.S but never had a good experience as I had in KGH. The service provided by the staff and the excellent customer service. The staff at the front desk was polite and professional. One of the agent named Pagya was awesome. She was exceptionally helpful and courteous. She is a gem for KGH.

Room Tip: Please stay here. Period
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PragyaTuladhar, Guest Relations Manager at Kathmandu Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Dear Bryan,
Namaste,

Thank you for your wonderful words and your stay at Kathmandu Guest House. We are happy to learn that your stay was lovely.

I am also thankful and obliged with your comments. Me including the entire KGH family appreciate it and hope we can serve you in the future soon.

Thank you and have a wonderful time ahead.

Regards,
Pragya Tuladhar
Kathmandu Guest House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights in November during a work trip. I had issues booking last minute, but since I had friends staying there I assumed everything would work out - and it did.

There is a great courtyard on the inside of the property with lovely lawns, and a variety of tables and chairs where you can drink local beer and catch up on emails (free wireless).

I stayed in the modern wing on the top floor, and the room was great. For $100/Night I had a great bed (pillow ok), great marble bathroom and good size work desk.

Will definitely back to stay again, the staff were great.

Room Tip: Higher floors in new building are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidtheaussienomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

I have been staying at KGH since 1985, five trips, five favorable experiences. Though the Guest House has grown and changed over time (only a few cheap, bare bones rooms remain) and is no longer a shoestring backpacker's destination, it is still a bargain for its cleanliness, friendly and helpful staff, central Thamel location and - most important - the tranquility of its inner courtyard. After 3 or 4 weeks trekking, the bustle of Kathmandu can be a bit jarring. It is nice to have a quiet place to escape to. And it's right across the street from my favorite breakfast place, the New Orleans Cafe.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve2wheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

This venerable institution is a sanctuary in the zoo that is central Thamel. Built around a peaceful garden, it's right in the centre of the action, with supermarkets, trekking shops and restaurants at it's doorstep. The foyer is crammed with trekkers, tourists and business people, and a welcome addition to the front desk is personable Senior Front Office Manager Nabin Shrestha who can sort any problem, a great improvement on previous years in which I found the the Front Desk rather indifferent (this is my fourth stay). The staff are attentive and accommodating. There's an excellent tour desk, a business centre, and the hotel has it's own approved taxis. The trekking company Himalayan Encounters, the best in Nepal (I've trekked with three companies) has its Kathmandu office in the courtyard.

In rating this hotel, I apply Nepali, not European standards. The choice of room is critical - if you can negotiate a deal, take a garden-facing room in the new wing. These are lovely, with marble bathrooms. The cheaper, older Garden Rooms are atmospheric if at times a little scruffy, and the bottom of the range Doubles may have a view of a brick wall (could be worse!) but they're clean and everything works!

The bottom line here is location, it's unbeatable! The spread of ratings probably reflects the type of room.

Room Tip: Negotiate a deal for a Garden Facing room in the new wing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phillip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

A wonderful sanctuary right in the centre of Thamel's hustle and bustle!!! If you are looking for a clean, comfortable venue with staff who are simply attentive and professional in every respect then consider this hotel. The pricing structure also allows for all levels of budgets. It is very popular for the right reasons so book well in advance.
Having visited many times i am always impressed with the continued upgrades, improvements and developments which displays good reinvestment into a great asset - so good to see.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We arrived finally after a 3 hour queue at the airport visa desk! The location is central for the tourist area. A supermarket is close by for 'essentials'. Felt safe in the gated compound, room not much cop, our view was a brick wall with pigeon nests but for a couple of nights no problem as out most of time. Shower, bathroom in our basic room very dated but clean. Hot water a bit hit & miss. For a starting point for Everest expeditions etc should fit the bill. WiFi a bit slow and system of obtaining password (free) a little problematical. The courtyard restaurant serves the most delicious tandoori!

Room Tip: Pay a bit more to have a view?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mon0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.3 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#20 of 207 in Kathmandu
800 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ambassador Garden Home
Ambassador Garden Home
#34 of 207 in Kathmandu
660 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#43 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#5 of 207 in Kathmandu
457 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#14 of 207 in Kathmandu
555 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#7 of 207 in Kathmandu
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kathmandu Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kathmandu Guest House

Address: KGH Square, Ward no. 16, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: $38 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kathmandu Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Journey is a deep ingrained memory - an experience to reminisce, an escapade to cherish, a secret to smile over. You recall, you talk, you laugh, you ponder - you face a whole range of emotions over that "particular incident" in that "particular hotel." Your memory is all the more enriched when something happens in a special hotel. In KGH you can be assured that your memory is highlight that will sparkle throughout your life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kathmandu Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kathmandu Guest House Hotel Kathmandu
Kathmandu Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing