We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Start and finish of a brilliant trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kathmandu Guest House
Ranked #35 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Start and finish of a brilliant trip”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Starting and finishing a three week trip to Tibet the stay at the Kathmandu Guest House was a haven of calm and tranquility and exceeded anything else during the trip. The previous mentions of poor access, no free wifi and "dungeon" rooms could not be further from the truth. Sharing I had a lower ground floor room the first night, and although it had no air-con, did have a fan which proved adequate. Wifi was brilliant throughout the hotel and the service and friendliness of the staff was top class. Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel as it is ideally situated to access nightlife, food and shops... brilliant.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteDavies_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    362
    177
    92
    74
See reviews for
128
238
227
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
108 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I wish i could have stayed at the place and given some positive review about the hotel. Me and my female friend from Italy arrived late in KTM as our bus was delayed due to a strike. At around 11.30 we arrived at the KTM guest house because we were under impression that our friend was staying there (turns out she was staying at Int Guest house).
When we asked for the Gatekeeper to open the gates, he started speaking in Nepali, not a huge issue, coz lot of folks mistook me for a local due to my tanned skin. The gatekeeper started talking in Hindi (which i understand) that there are no rooms and he cannot give birth to room [sic]. We politely asked him to enquire at the reception regarding the same, but he was adamant on his stance and very rude throughout the conversation.
We had to look for another room and the very next hotel we inquired, took us in. The management might try to brush it off as a security thing of not allowing patron in at night, but leaving the tourists out on their own at night, does not bode very well with their logic. i've had hotels in Tahrir Square (egypt) accepting me at 2.00 am in the night during the revolutionary period. Being in a service industry, i guess the staff at KTM guest house could have been at least courteous when turning away prospective customers. I've travelled to a handful of countries and stayed at few places, but this was the first instance where the staff was being so rude when turning away a prospective customer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank godspeed4476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
198 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I noticed the mixed reviews for this hotel and I believe they are due to the variety of things travelers look for. The garden is lovely and I enjoyed sitting there but I hated the street entrance by all the shops. I didn't feel safe by myself outside the gate. My room was upgraded but not exceptional. I found the breakfast buffet lacking compared to other hotels and yes, it was hard to get a free wifi signal depending on where you are at. I decided to pay for wifi and then, surprise, surprise, the signal was much better.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pghs67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed at Kathmandu guesthouse on 2 occasions during our trip to Nepal. It is a nice hotel, with kind staff and right in the centre of Thamel. Our first room was very average and definitely not worth the price however, on our second stay we had a much nicer room, so if you stay here make sure you ask for a garden view room. Breakfast was ok and there is free wifi in the lobby.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chloefox93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PragyaTuladhar, Guest Relations Manager at Kathmandu Guest House, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Friend,
Namaste,

Thank you for your response and your stay with us at Kathmandu Guest House.

You will be glad to know that now we have free wifi everywhere in the hotel. We had been working on it and were not being able to provide it earlier but now our guests can enjoy free wifi anywhere in our hotel premises.

Thank you and we hope to see you again.

Regards,
Pragya Tuladhar
Kathmandu Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
381 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The battle through the narrow and clogged up, polluted Kathmadu streets is worth it when you get to the Kathmnadu Guest House, it really is a haven of calm in what is fast becoming a pretty intimidating and inhospitable city. The KGH serves as a perfect place to prepare for treks or to spend a few relaxing days after the trek, its also well located to spend some time exploring this teeming city. The food is good, the rooms functional, the garden courtyard is really very tranquil and the rooms on this courtyard are the best and among the most expensive, with a/c - many of the other rooms do not have a/c. I suppose certain parts of the hotel are a bit tired, but it has a good supply of hot water, no power outages (while we stayed) and all in all is pretty good, indeed amongst the best around I suspect for the price. The free airport pick up is a real boon as one then avoids the usual hassle, frustration, crush and chaos at arrivals,

Room Tip: Garden court yard rooms are peaceful and have a/c
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DAVID V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed here for two nights.

1) Each day there was calculated power outages which they claim are due to the city's grid. However, we stayed at another place next door for three nights and didn't have a single outage. They also claim that some rooms have generators which is why the more expensive rooms have 24 hour power. I believe that they shut off the power in certain areas of the hotel in order to save electricity.

2) We left our room at 8AM and put up the sign on door to make up the room and most importantly stock toliet paper and towels. Came back at 3PM and still nothing was done even though room service was sitting next to our door all day.

3) Wifi is NOT free. There is 'free' wifi downstairs in the restaurant but it is painfully slow. If you want real WIFI in your room, you have to pay $1.50/hour.

4) I asked for compensation for not having electricity or room service. They said they could put me in a deluxe room if I paid $30 more... which doesn't make any sense since all I want is electricity to use for my laptop. Then they offered a free $3 meal, to which I asked for two free meals one for myself and one for friend. They said no.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dzhang123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
141 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed there January 2010. Very helpful staff.Although plane was 6 hours late they picked from the airport . Good location but poor rooms. Good food reasonable prices. Needs maintenance. Hope that they have done so. Rooms looking towards the garden are more preferable because of the sun during January.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmrbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#37 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#2 of 198 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#18 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#16 of 198 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ambassador Garden Home
Ambassador Garden Home
#25 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#4 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kathmandu Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kathmandu Guest House

Property: Kathmandu Guest House
Address: KGH Sqaure, Ward no. 16 | Thamel, PO Box 21218, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kathmandu Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Journey is a deep ingrained memory - an experience to reminisce, an escapade to cherish, a secret to smile over. You recall, you talk, you laugh, you ponder - you face a whole range of emotions over that "particular incident" in that "particular hotel." Your memory is all the more enriched when something happens in a special hotel. In KGH you can be assured that your memory is highlight that will sparkle throughout your life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Kathmandu Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kathmandu Guest House Hotel Kathmandu
Kathmandu Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing