We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“overpriced,noisy” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kathmandu Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kathmandu Guest House
Ranked #35 of 194 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
TJNOMADI
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“overpriced,noisy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

due to being unwell i was desperate to find a quiet room,i was willing to upgrade my budget, so i took a room at KGH for 2 nites, well,let me say this place is usually loaded with young package students,and they had renovations bangin all day when i was there
For the price of the room u would think wifi would be included-NOPE! They have token cards where u have to pay 125 rupees an hour to use wifi in the room..wowsa..
restaurant staff are not friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tjgnosis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pragyatuladhar, Guest Relations Manager at Kathmandu Guest House, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Friend,
Namaste,

Thank you for your stay at KGH and your review. We are sad to hear that you did not have a pleasant stay with you.

The renovation work is being conducted to make our rooms better and we we do that only in the day time. The renovation for most of our Standard and Garden Facing rooms are almost over. We hope you give us a second chance, we will make sure you get a pleasant stay.

Apologies once again from us.

Regards,
Pragya Tuladhar
Kathmandu Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    345
    172
    90
    74
See reviews for
119
228
220
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

May 2013 was my third visit to the Kathmandu Guest House and each time was fabulous. I use the hotel for myself and my clients before and after every Everest Base Camp tour. I have stayed in almost every style of room and each one has been lovely, clean and comfortable. My favourites are the garden view rooms even though the new wing is first class. The staff are incredible, from the cleaning staff right up to the managers and owners. They make my life so much easier when I visit Nepal and I wouldn't stay anywhere else! Thank you! Natural Trekking Tours

Room Tip: The garden view rooms are delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NaturalTrekking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pragyatuladhar, Guest Relations Manager at Kathmandu Guest House, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Friend of KGH,
Namaste,

Thank you for your stay at KGH and your review. We loved serving you and your friends and we are all smiles here reading this review.

We are glad you always stay at KGH, whenever you are in Kathmandu and we will make sure you always have a comfortable stay every time.

See you soon!

Regards,
Pragya Tuladhar
Kathmandu Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

I have just come back from a 3 week stay in Nepal and spent my last 3 nights in Kathmandu guest house. From the moment we arrived I felt at ease, they nicest, most accommodating staff I have ever had the pleasure of meeting. I had hurt my ankle in Kathmandu and they provided me with crutches and a ground floor room for an extremely reasonable price. The hotel itself is an oasis of calm and the spa is extremely affordable with fantastic staff. I had a very relaxing head massage on my last day that I'll remember for years. The manager Nabin deserves the highest praise for his constant smile and easy going way with the customers. I cannot recommend this hotel enough!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraBeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pragyatuladhar, Guest Relations Manager at Kathmandu Guest House, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Laura,
Namaste,

Thank you for your stay with us at KGH and your wonderful review. We are happy happy that you enjoyed your stay.

Our colleague, Mr. Nabin thanks you and sends you his regards. We always try to make sure that each and every guests of ours feel comfortable and enjoy their stay.

Thank you and see you soon!

Regards,
Pragya Tuladhar
Kathmandu Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

KGH is an institution and rightly so. I stayed here for a few nights at the start and also the end of a top trip around Nepal.
I stayed in two different rooms. Both were lovely and clean. One had the quietest aircon I've ever experienced. Breakfast was good, although similar each day - although there was loads of variety to go at - just try something different each day. Sadly there wasn't any dinner available as the kitchen was being refitted.
The garden was a world away from the madness of Thamel.
All the staff seemed quite friendly and helpful - without a doubt though, both Uttam and Nabin were totally fantastic - nothing was too much trouble and they made us all feel really welcome.
There is clearly a large amount of diversity in the rooms and as such the clientele, but most folk I witnessed or spoke to were lovely. There did seem to be quite a lot of secondary school groups stopping over, but all were well behaved and sensible. I guess it's just that time of year.
I've stayed in a few high end hotels in Kathmandu before, but I certainly prefer KGH.
Highly recommended - I shall certainly stay here again when I'm next in Kathmandu.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravlinBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pragyatuladhar, Guest Relations Manager at Kathmandu Guest House, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Friend,
Namaste,

Thank you for your review and stay at KGH. We are glad you loved it and hope to see you soon too.

We are sorry you could not enjoy dinner or lunch at our restaurant, as we are renovating our restaurant. The new and spacious restaurant will be ready in a week or two for better serving our guests. :) In your next visit, you will love the new look and we are sure will find better/faster service.

Thank you and see you soon!

Regards,
Pragya Tuladhar
Kathmandu Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

I stayed here both before and after an Everest base camp trek. The hotel is based right in the heart ot the tourist district, Thamel, with great access to shops, bars and restaurants. The hotel itself is a little tired and could do with a sprucing up. The buffet breakfast was great and we also had an evening meal here one night which was lovely. The staff were very helpful. Overall a welcome resting place.

Room Tip: The rooms in the back annex were a little noisier than those in the main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blueannie59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pragyatuladhar, Guest Relations Manager at Kathmandu Guest House, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Friend of KGH,
Namaste,

Thank you for your stay with us at Kathmandu Guest House and your review at Tripadvisor. Glad you enjoyed it.

As our older part of the hotel, the heritage wing is a Rana Palace turned hotel, we time and again try to maintain it. Therefore, this year we have renovated most of our Standard and Garden Facing rooms. The newly renovated looks great. I am sure you will love it when you come back at KGH.

Have a wonderful time ahead and see you soon!!

Regards,
Pragya Tuladhar
Kathmandu Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

I stayed here for a few days before and after my Everest Basecamp Trip. The Lobby & Gardens are nice. Its in a good location- right in the heart of the Thamel District. I had breakfast and dinner in the restaurant downstairs and the food was good. Be aware of Taxi`s which park inside the Hotel gates as they tend to rip you off ( This happened me twice)- where I had agreed a price before departing the hotel and they tried to charge me more when we reached the destination. Overall an enjoyable stay and well needed rest after the Trek!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura87130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pragyatuladhar, Guest Relations Manager at Kathmandu Guest House, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Laura,
Namaste,

KGH family would like to thank you for you stay with and your wonderful comment. :)

We also would like to apologize for the unpleasant experience with our Hotel vehicles that did not behave right with you, this normally does not happen, but as it has, it is a shame for our Hotel. Hence, a quick meeting will be called with them and will be strictly advised to behave with our guests.

Thank you again and hope to see you soon at KGH.

Regards,
Pragya Tuladhar
Kathmandu Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

This hotel is on a lot of land, good location if you like that part of Katmandu, but over the years it has declined in every aspect as far as a hotel goes.
The service is poor, the food also poor as is the general service in the hotel - there are better places to spend your money for accommodation in Katmandu.
I think it is a typical example of poor management and accountants taking over what should be a landmark hotel in this city. The staff are poor in their duties.
Pity as it could be so much better.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pragyatuladhar, Guest Relations Manager at Kathmandu Guest House, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Tony,
Namaste,

Kathmandu Guest House family would like to thank you for your stay with us.

We apologize as you did not have a pleasant stay while at KGH. Us, KGH family alway strive to give our best, but we could not deliver that in your case.

We will make sure, given another chance, that you will have a wonderful stay. Hope to have you again.

Thank you,

Regards,
Pragya Tuladhar
Kathmandu Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#2 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#36 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#16 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#18 of 194 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ambassador Garden Home
Ambassador Garden Home
#27 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#11 of 194 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kathmandu Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kathmandu Guest House

Property: Kathmandu Guest House
Address: KGH Sqaure, Ward no. 16 | Thamel, PO Box 21218, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kathmandu Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Journey is a deep ingrained memory - an experience to reminisce, an escapade to cherish, a secret to smile over. You recall, you talk, you laugh, you ponder - you face a whole range of emotions over that "particular incident" in that "particular hotel." Your memory is all the more enriched when something happens in a special hotel. In KGH you can be assured that your memory is highlight that will sparkle throughout your life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Kathmandu Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kathmandu Guest House Hotel Kathmandu
Kathmandu Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing