We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just about the restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kathmandu Guest House
Ranked #34 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Decided to go here for a nice meal and have to admit the food and the overall atmosphere were both very good. However, the staff here just seemed to push us, and everyone else, out the door! They were fiddling with the salt and pepper shakers and ashtray while we were still sitting there! Getting them ready for the next customers! Same with the chairs. So what should have been a nice, relaxing meal was made very uncomfortable. Could have had such a better experience if they had just backed off. Btw, the restaurant wasnt busy at all, so no need to rush people off!

Stayed: June 2013
1  Thank slrN_c_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pragyatuladhar, Guest Relations Manager at Kathmandu Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Dear Friend of KGH,
Namaste,

Thank you for your review about our restaurant at KGH. We are glad you loved the food and atmosphere. :)

However, we are really sad that you did not feel rightfully treated by our staff. From the gate to the upper level management, it is our top priority to make sure our guests are welcomed and are comfortable once they are at KGH. It is shameful that you did not feel likewise.

We have alerted our restaurant manager about this and we will make sure you or any other guests of ours never feel ill treated. We apologize once again and hope to see you again at KGH for better memories.

Thank you,

Regards,
Pragya Tuladhar
Kathmandu Guest House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,328)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

898 - 904 of 1,328 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2013

Firstly l would like to thank Nabin Shrestha for his kind and attentive service on my 3 night stay,
This place is an institution and for me it lives up to its reputation.
The staff were friendly and helpful, there are a good assortment of rooms for various budgets and the whole place has a kind of very cosmopolitan atmosphere about it.
lts biggest plus is of course it's location, anyone who has spent time in Thamel will usually ask for direction in relation to it,s proximity to KTMGH, it is the central hub.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michael l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pragyatuladhar, Guest Relations Manager at Kathmandu Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Dear Michael,
Namaste,

Thank you for your stay at KGH and your review. We really appreciate it and we are glad you loved your stay here.

Our colleague Mr. Nabin thanks you and sends you his warm regards, including all the staff of KGH. Your support and love helps us move forward every time and give our best. :))

Thank you once again and hope to see you soon at KGH.

Regards,
Pragya Tuladhar
Kathmandu Guest House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Location is wonderful, if you stay in a back room it's very quiet, breakfast excellent, the stuff very helpfull and friendly, everybody will try to help you out with whatever you need. A place I would come back with great pleasure.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maritaelke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pragyatuladhar, Guest Relations Manager at Kathmandu Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear Friend of KGH,
Namaste,

Thank you very much for your stay at KGH and your review. :))

We are glad you loved your stay and your room. Well, even being in the crowded Thamel, most of the rooms at KGH are less noisy. At times, there is only very little we can do about the hustle and bustle of Thamel, but we know that once you walk in our main door and reach our serene garden you will be delighted, same with the rooms. :))

Thank you once again and hope to see you soon in the future.

Regards,

Pragya Tuldhar
Kathmandu Guest House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The place looks good and we had got ourselves a non AC but with a fan, a 50 $ a night room, where we had made clear that we needed to get up at 5 am to leave. It was only for a night and we thought what could go wrong. But somewhere around 1.30 in the morning, the electricity went off.. Now this is kathmandu where there is always a power cut but even a small time hotel has back up. Now these guys, to cut corners had connected their back up such that the new wing with AC's would have power but the old wing with Just the fans would have the lights working but no fans ! What the management must have figured is that most times people are sleeping so they would not figure it out and by the time they sweat and realize, it would be morning ....
Well, it happened to us. We woke up , called the reception and that was another nightmare for there was no manager on call and there were a couple of total incompetent idiots behind the desk who first stood helplessly not saying or doing anything for almost 30 minutes and then started getting agressive and macho. When I asked them to call the police, they refused to do so, I asked them to call the manager, they refused. I asked them to call management, they refused. I asked them to move us to a room where something works so we could sleep for at least a few hours more, they refused.
In summation- The property looks good but this is kathmandu- why not be in a place which costs the same and has happy friendly people, service with a smile and true hospitality for this hotel was a horrible experience for us.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Spinning75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pragyatuladhar, Guest Relations Manager at Kathmandu Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear Friend,
Namaste,

Kathmandu Guest House would like to apologize for the unpleasant experience you had to face while your stay with us.

On behalf of our front desk team and all the staff, I would like apologize and it is a shame that you were misbehaved.

Yes, as we have power cuts in Nepal, sometimes there is only so much we can do. Nevertheless, our front desk should not have acted the way you said. We have already called up an emergency meeting, especially with our front office staff to make sure this never happens in the future.

We know your first impression with our hotel was not a good one. However, we request you to give us an opportunity to serve you in the future. It is our promise that we will make sure you have one of the best stay.

Thank you once again and hope to see you again.

Regards,

Pragya Tuladhar
Kathmandu Guest House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Kathmandu Guest House was a great place to spend a week. We enjoyed the excellent service, great food and more than adequate accommodation. The price was very reasonable given that we stayed in a newly renovated room with all the required facilities, air conditioning and pristine room with a garden view. It is well located in Thamel near lots of good restaurants and shopping. The staff were very willing to help us arrange our tour in addition to connecting us to their Maruni Sanctuary Lodge in Chitwan National Park. More than we expected and a place we will always associate with our holiday in Nepal.

Special thanks to Uttam for his attention.

Room Tip: Facing the courtyard in the recently renovated wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pragyatuladhar, Guest Relations Manager at Kathmandu Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear JD,
Namaste,

Thank you very much for your stay and review. We feel great that you not only loved Kathmandu Guest House but our Chitwan Hotel, Maruni Sanctuary Lodge as well. :))

Our colleague Mr. Uttam Phuyal and all of our staff thanks you and sends you warm regards. We hope to see you soon in the future.

Thank you,

Regards,
Pragya Tuladhar
Kathmandu Guest House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Very nice hotel in the heart of Kathmandu.
Next to Thamel shops and retaurants.
Rooms were clean and very reasonably priced.
However, full of westerners and it seems that Indian people are not always welcome and treated with friendship by some of the employees (when others were very good).

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suresh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pragyatuladhar, Guest Relations Manager at Kathmandu Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear Suresh,
Namaste,

Thank you for your stay at KGH and your review. We are glad that you loved the atmosphere and the rooms.

KGH being one of the pioneer hotels in Thamel welcome all of our guests regardless of their country, race or ethnicity. Our priority is to make sure all of our guests in the hotel feel at home, comfortable and safe.

However, we would like to apologize to you as you did not feel as welcomed at KGH. It should not have been like that and we hope you give us another chance while you are in Kathmandu next time. We will make sure that you have a wonderful time here with us.

Thank you again and hope to see you soon.

Regards,
Pragya Tuladhar
Kathmandu Guest House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

i stayed in this hotel for about a week. Payed about 10$ for a great room with sink and big bed (shared bathroom, but absolutely fine!), but the staff was also willing to "talk about the price".
Remember that you have to pay taxes on top of the room prices!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauraaa89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pragyatuladhar, Guest Relations Manager at Kathmandu Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Dear Laura,
Namaste,

Kathmandu Guest House thanks you for you great review and your stay with us.

Our basic room with common shower are one of our popular rooms at KGH. They start from USD 2.00, now isn't that great :) We are glad you loved the room.

The taxes are something that we also have to pay as well. Therefore there are taxes like service charges and VAT.

Thank you again and hope to see you soon!

Regards,
Pragya Tuladhar
Kathmandu Guest House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.2 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#8 of 210 in Kathmandu
779 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#9 of 210 in Kathmandu
364 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#14 of 210 in Kathmandu
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Ambassador Garden Home
Ambassador Garden Home
#42 of 210 in Kathmandu
670 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#19 of 210 in Kathmandu
852 reviews
3.5 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#3 of 210 in Kathmandu
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kathmandu Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kathmandu Guest House

Address: no. 16 KGH Square, Ward, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: $42 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kathmandu Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Journey is a deep ingrained memory - an experience to reminisce, an escapade to cherish, a secret to smile over. You recall, you talk, you laugh, you ponder - you face a whole range of emotions over that "particular incident" in that "particular hotel." Your memory is all the more enriched when something happens in a special hotel. In KGH you can be assured that your memory is highlight that will sparkle throughout your life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kathmandu Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kathmandu Guest House Hotel Kathmandu
Kathmandu Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing