We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but lack nepalese atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kathmandu Guest House
Ranked #32 of 209 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Very nice hotel in the heart of Kathmandu.
Next to Thamel shops and retaurants.
Rooms were clean and very reasonably priced.
However, full of westerners and it seems that Indian people are not always welcome and treated with friendship by some of the employees (when others were very good).

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suresh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pragyatuladhar, Guest Relations Manager at Kathmandu Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear Suresh,
Namaste,

Thank you for your stay at KGH and your review. We are glad that you loved the atmosphere and the rooms.

KGH being one of the pioneer hotels in Thamel welcome all of our guests regardless of their country, race or ethnicity. Our priority is to make sure all of our guests in the hotel feel at home, comfortable and safe.

However, we would like to apologize to you as you did not feel as welcomed at KGH. It should not have been like that and we hope you give us another chance while you are in Kathmandu next time. We will make sure that you have a wonderful time here with us.

Thank you again and hope to see you soon.

Regards,
Pragya Tuladhar
Kathmandu Guest House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,301)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

876 - 882 of 1,301 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

i stayed in this hotel for about a week. Payed about 10$ for a great room with sink and big bed (shared bathroom, but absolutely fine!), but the staff was also willing to "talk about the price".
Remember that you have to pay taxes on top of the room prices!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauraaa89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pragyatuladhar, Guest Relations Manager at Kathmandu Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Dear Laura,
Namaste,

Kathmandu Guest House thanks you for you great review and your stay with us.

Our basic room with common shower are one of our popular rooms at KGH. They start from USD 2.00, now isn't that great :) We are glad you loved the room.

The taxes are something that we also have to pay as well. Therefore there are taxes like service charges and VAT.

Thank you again and hope to see you soon!

Regards,
Pragya Tuladhar
Kathmandu Guest House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This is a true gem in kathmandu.
centrally located in thamel next to all the good shopping and food, yet manages to remain quiet and homely.
perfect for young travelers looking for a cheap, clean room OR adult travelers looking for a hotel experience (there are two sides of the hotel)
the service was exceptional and they treated us very well

Room Tip: they have many types of rooms available, some of the cheaper ones cannot be reserved but should be b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ezra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pragyatuladhar, Guest Relations Manager at Kathmandu Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Dear Ezra,
Namaste,

KGH would like to thank you for your stay with us and your wonderful words. We are all smiles that you loved your stay here.

Yes, we are indeed very proud to state that we have a room for all of our guests, from budget to luxury travelers.

Glad you loved it and hope to see you again soon!

Thank you,

Regards,
Pragya Tuladhar
Kathmandu Guest House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel in the heart of kathmandu's buzzing thammel! The manager and staff are very friendly and if you get talking to them you can score some pretty cheap rooms, three of us stayed for $15 a night! However food in the hotel is heavily priced as are the organised treks, so i strongly recommend shopping around unless you have money to spunk!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrchimpface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pragyatuladhar, Guest Relations Manager at Kathmandu Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Kathmandu Guest House would like to thank you for your stay with us and a wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Our KGH family including our managers and staff thanks you for your kind words. It is our duty to always make sure our guests are comfortable.

We thank you again and hope to see you soon in the future.

Regards,
Pragya Tuladhar
Kathmandu Guest House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

My wife and I were treated with such hostility at reception that we just turned around and walked out. My wife is Nepali and I am English, it seemed to us that they didn't want Nepali people staying there. Very angry and upset at the hotel. Please give this place a massive miss and tell everyone not to visit.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
11  Thank blinkyblink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pragyatuladhar, Guest Relations Manager at Kathmandu Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

KGH family would like to apologize for the unpleasant treatment you received at our hotel.

We at KGH welcome all our guests be it Nepali or foreign national. It is pretty shameful for our part that you were ill treated. It is definitely not our intention to ill treat us Nepalese or not welcome. Our doors are open for all our guests.

We apologize once again and hope you give us another opportunity in the future. We will make sure from all levels that you have a great stay with us.

Thank you,

Regards,
Pragya Tuladhar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Kathmandu Guest House- I spent 2 nights here and probably wouldn't stay here again. The staff were not that friendly. There were bugs in our bed on the first night, they had no issue moving us. The breakfast was below par, and they charged extra for coffee. They also charged extra for wifi. I would say the hotel is a 4/10 and over priced for what they offer.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
4  Thank liza c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pragyatuladhar, Guest Relations Manager at Kathmandu Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Kathmandu Guest House would like to apologize for the unpleasant stay at KGH.

It is our severe loss when our guests leave the hotel unhappy. We will make sure this will not happen again. We have already spoken to our Housekeeping department and are taking necessary measures for it.

We hope you give us another opportunity so that we can make things right for you.

Thank you,

Regards,
Pragya Tuladhar
Kathmandu Guest House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

This hotel is said to be the hotel that hosted the Beatles (and not "The beetles" as itsays in the say which is on the floor) during their stay in Nepal.
It has an ATM inside the hotel. The rooms are 5 stars rooms. A bottle of water, cookies, tea, coffee, and two soups as complimentary gifts welcome you in the room. The restaurant has a very good menu and the atmosphere is awesome! A live band plays music at night and breakfast is complete. I didnt want to leave this hotel. I'd love to go back. GO, dont doubt it.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. ask for the 812.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pragyatuladhar, Guest Relations Manager at Kathmandu Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Dear Paola,
Namaste,

We at KGH would like to thank you for your stay and also your wonderful review. We are glad that you loved your stay with us. We are all smiles here. :)

It was indeed our pleasure to serve you and we hope to see you soon back at KGH.

Thank you,

Regards,
Pragya Tuladhar
Kathmandu Guest House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.2 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#7 of 209 in Kathmandu
753 reviews
0 mi away
Ambassador Garden Home
Ambassador Garden Home
#37 of 209 in Kathmandu
670 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#18 of 209 in Kathmandu
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#14 of 209 in Kathmandu
600 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#9 of 209 in Kathmandu
358 reviews
3.5 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#3 of 209 in Kathmandu
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kathmandu Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kathmandu Guest House

Address: no. 16 KGH Square, Ward, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: $40 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kathmandu Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Journey is a deep ingrained memory - an experience to reminisce, an escapade to cherish, a secret to smile over. You recall, you talk, you laugh, you ponder - you face a whole range of emotions over that "particular incident" in that "particular hotel." Your memory is all the more enriched when something happens in a special hotel. In KGH you can be assured that your memory is highlight that will sparkle throughout your life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kathmandu Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kathmandu Guest House Hotel Kathmandu
Kathmandu Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing