We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The staff are super unfriendly, didn't even try looking at the rooms..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kathmandu Guest House
Ranked #35 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Pokhara, Nepal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The staff are super unfriendly, didn't even try looking at the rooms..”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

My wife and I were treated with such hostility at reception that we just turned around and walked out. My wife is Nepali and I am English, it seemed to us that they didn't want Nepali people staying there. Very angry and upset at the hotel. Please give this place a massive miss and tell everyone not to visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank blinkyblink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pragyatuladhar, Guest Relations Manager at Kathmandu Guest House, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
KGH family would like to apologize for the unpleasant treatment you received at our hotel.

We at KGH welcome all our guests be it Nepali or foreign national. It is pretty shameful for our part that you were ill treated. It is definitely not our intention to ill treat us Nepalese or not welcome. Our doors are open for all our guests.

We apologize once again and hope you give us another opportunity in the future. We will make sure from all levels that you have a great stay with us.

Thank you,

Regards,
Pragya Tuladhar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    353
    175
    92
    74
See reviews for
123
233
224
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Kathmandu Guest House- I spent 2 nights here and probably wouldn't stay here again. The staff were not that friendly. There were bugs in our bed on the first night, they had no issue moving us. The breakfast was below par, and they charged extra for coffee. They also charged extra for wifi. I would say the hotel is a 4/10 and over priced for what they offer.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank liza c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pragyatuladhar, Guest Relations Manager at Kathmandu Guest House, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Kathmandu Guest House would like to apologize for the unpleasant stay at KGH.

It is our severe loss when our guests leave the hotel unhappy. We will make sure this will not happen again. We have already spoken to our Housekeeping department and are taking necessary measures for it.

We hope you give us another opportunity so that we can make things right for you.

Thank you,

Regards,
Pragya Tuladhar
Kathmandu Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

This hotel is said to be the hotel that hosted the Beatles (and not "The beetles" as itsays in the say which is on the floor) during their stay in Nepal.
It has an ATM inside the hotel. The rooms are 5 stars rooms. A bottle of water, cookies, tea, coffee, and two soups as complimentary gifts welcome you in the room. The restaurant has a very good menu and the atmosphere is awesome! A live band plays music at night and breakfast is complete. I didnt want to leave this hotel. I'd love to go back. GO, dont doubt it.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. ask for the 812.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pragyatuladhar, Guest Relations Manager at Kathmandu Guest House, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Paola,
Namaste,

We at KGH would like to thank you for your stay and also your wonderful review. We are glad that you loved your stay with us. We are all smiles here. :)

It was indeed our pleasure to serve you and we hope to see you soon back at KGH.

Thank you,

Regards,
Pragya Tuladhar
Kathmandu Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dehradun, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Where to start. We stayed there once before this stay. Then it was good, so we came back. Now we got a very bad room, without bathroom, with very bad beds for 15 dollars. We asked if they would give us a discount because we would stay there for 4 nights, but no. The man at the reception was unfriendly and dident even look us In the eye. Later it was raining very much so we had to eat at the reataurant. It was very expensive and the service very bad. My friend was sick so she asked for a soup without mushrooms. But when she got the food it was filled with mushrooms. Also we could see the waighter talking to the other waithters and laughing at us. The bath was very unclean and the toilets was dirty. We left after the incesent at the restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Frkappel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pragyatuladhar, Guest Relations Manager at Kathmandu Guest House, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Kathmandu Guest House would like to apologize for the unpleasant experience you had at KGH.

We are sorry that you were not treated right and also apologize on behalf of our restaurant team for the wrong order of food you got.

It has always been our top priority to satisfy all our guests, but we failed this time on your case and we are really sad for that.

We hope you give us a next chance to set things right for you and will make sure that you have a wonderful stay at KGH again.

Thank you,

Regards,
Pragya Tuladhar
Kathmandu Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varanasi
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I only stayed one night at the guest house. At a standard single room for the prize of USD 40.00 plus tax = USD 50.00. First room they showed were very hot and the fan didn't work. Next room, which I stayed in, was dirty and the ceiling was filled with heavy fungus. I found the staff quite unfriendly and moved to a much better and much cheaper hotel down the road.

Room Tip: I didn't check out the other rooms since they were more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KlausBo67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pragyatuladhar, Guest Relations Manager at Kathmandu Guest House, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Friend,
Namaste,

Kathmandu Guest House would like to thank you for your review. We are extremely sorry that you had to leave our hotel as an unsatisfied guest.

We also want to apologize for the rooms and on behalf of our staff and let you know that we are renovating almost all of our standard and garden facing rooms. Therefore, if you give us a chance and visit us again we will make sure you have a wonderful stay with us.

Thank you once again and hope to see you soon!

Regards,
Pragya Tuladhar
Kathmandu Guest Houe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Initially had basic unrenovated room. Well worth the extra for garden view room which has been modernised. Breakfast buffet was great, ok to eat fresh salads and refill from bulk water dispensers on site. Be prepared for Kathmandu's frequent power outages (the have some backup power). Wifi was a bit hit and miss: you can pay for faster internet if desired. Travel desk was helpful in booking a good driver for the day to see sights - don't miss Bhaktapor!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melbourneVEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pragyatuladhar, Guest Relations Manager at Kathmandu Guest House, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Kathmandu Guest House would like to thank you for your stay and review. It is our pleasure to know that you loved your stay at KGH.

Our garden facing rooms are indeed one of the relaxing rooms to have as it faces our peaceful Buddha garden. Guests just enjoy just laying around in the grass, meditate, sip their favorite drink, read, or simply just relax in our garden in the midst of Thamel.

Yes, as you mentioned, power outages in Nepal is a problem faced by all of us. However we still try to provide back up in whatever way we can.

Thank you for your support and understanding and hope to see you soon!

Regards,
Pragya Tuladhar
Kathmandu Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Stayed at Kathmandu Guest House for a few nights the last couple of weeks. I paid for the standard room. Generally all ok. Airport transfers are not available despite my asking. I booked through Expedia where there didn't seem to be an option to order a transfer. I then emailed the hotal through the generic email but got no reply. I asked for a transfer back to the airport but this was rejected saying that it was only upon arrival. In short, forget about the transfers despite the advertising.

The hotel is well located and has good security. Power shortages occur at various times throughout the day which restricts things like WiFi and using power points. Not the hotels fault, it's just Nepal.

I would stay again but get an air conditioned room next time and bring a towell.

Room Tip: Choose a room with air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael_Melb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pragyatuladhar, Guest Relations Manager at Kathmandu Guest House, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Michael,
Namaste,

Thank you for your stay at KGH and your review to us. We really appreciate your comments and suggestions.

About airport transfers, we do provide free airport pick up to all our guests from the International airport to our hotel, given us the flight details at least 48 hours in advance. However, for drop off back to the airport there is a nominal charge if you would like to use our hotel vehicle which is readily available anytime.

We also would like to apologize you not receiving back an email from us regarding your airport transfer queries. We will make sure it will not happen again with you or our any other guests.

Thank you so much again and hope to see you soon at KGH.

Regards,
Pragya Tuladhar
Kathmandu Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#37 of 193 in Kathmandu
1,130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#2 of 193 in Kathmandu
1,152 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#16 of 193 in Kathmandu
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#18 of 193 in Kathmandu
441 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ambassador Garden Home
Ambassador Garden Home
#25 of 193 in Kathmandu
654 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#5 of 193 in Kathmandu
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kathmandu Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kathmandu Guest House

Property: Kathmandu Guest House
Address: KGH Sqaure, Ward no. 16 | Thamel, PO Box 21218, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kathmandu Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Journey is a deep ingrained memory - an experience to reminisce, an escapade to cherish, a secret to smile over. You recall, you talk, you laugh, you ponder - you face a whole range of emotions over that "particular incident" in that "particular hotel." Your memory is all the more enriched when something happens in a special hotel. In KGH you can be assured that your memory is highlight that will sparkle throughout your life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kathmandu Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kathmandu Guest House Hotel Kathmandu
Kathmandu Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing