We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kathmandu Guest House
Ranked #39 of 207 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed Here for the first time for four nights in January.
Rooms were basic but clean with very old furnishings. Communal bathroom was OK and there was Hot water (after a couple hours of electricity)

The good:
-Clean rooms.
-Warm bedding.

The bad:
-The 'free' wireless is so slow its actually useless.
-They have faster wireless, but they charge you at least 3 times as much as the Internet cafe next door and you only get an hour.
-staff were quite rude and superficial, not even cracking a smile.
-overpriced

You are better off finding someplace else. You'll be getting better value for your money.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elbowRoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pragyatuladhar, Guest Relations Manager at Kathmandu Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Kathmandu Guest House would like to thank you for your review. We apologize for the negative experience you faced while your stay with us. Due to heavy use of the free wireless that we provide, it sometimes tends to be slower than the pre-paid wifi. We are also sorry as some of our staffs could not be as pleasing as they had to be. We thank you for your positive sides of us and we promise to make sure that your next visit will be a wonderful one. Thank you and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,203)
There are newer reviews for Kathmandu Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

843 - 849 of 1,203 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2013

I have stayed in many hotels in Kathmandu over the years. My best experience has been at Kathmandu Guest House. It is situated in the heart of Thamel. They have different standards for different guests. Rooms can go for $2.00 for shared rooms to $100 for luxury rooms. 24 hours of running hot water and very clean. Beautiful, well maintained gardens offer a escape from the hustle bustle of the city. Most of the hotel staff have been with the hotel for years. On one occasion I lost my luggage in a taxi standing outside the hotel. Within an hour the hotel security got it back for me, with every thing intact. In my last visit I left my cell phone and Samsung Galaxy Tab in the garden. Few hours later both items were exactly where I had left them. One would advise not to leave your suitcase unlocked in your roms. However, I do not have a habit of locking everything. I leave my keys with the housekeeping staff and come back to a clean room with nothing missing. In addition Kathmandu Guest House is a child friendly place. My eight year Jazmin old can play all day in the hotel premises under the caring watchful eyes of security and other staff. Add it all up and KGH is a great place to stay, be it business, trekking or touring.

Room Tip: Higher floors offer sunny rooms and acces to terrace.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jauhar H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pragyatuladhar, Guest Relations Manager at Kathmandu Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Kathmandu Guest House would like to thank you for your stay and your wonderful words. At KGH, we always try to provide excellent service in a casual, homely and friendly environment. We want all of our guests to feel comfortable and secured while staying with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. It was really nice to have Little Jazmin, we at KGH miss her smily face around. We thank you again and hope to see you soon in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed here in 2008 and it was fine. This time we were given a very basic room with torn and holey linen on one of the beds (the mattresses are old and sunken), no charging outlets worked when the generator was running (12-14hrs per day), prices were expensive and they don't include tax or room wifi (many other guesthouses in KTM do). The $50 room was hardly a step up from the $20 room so save your pennies. Some staff were very helpfull, others seemed to be more friendly with their higher paying customers, so, management, if you are reading this I would suggest treating all customers as equals. Hot water good and 24/7, beautiful and relaxing courtyard area.
Buffet breakfast good if included with room cost, meals expensive otherwise. We wouldn't stay again.

Room Tip: In low season don't pre-book because its unreliable and make sure you see your room before check...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LamesMcFuzzyBlog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pragyatuladhar, Guest Relations Manager at Kathmandu Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Kathmandu Guest House would like to thank you for your comment and suggestions. We are sad that you did not have the best stay the last time your were with us than your previous visit. We are taking our shortcomings with serious consideration and we will make sure you will not be disappointed in your next visit. Thank you again and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Arrived for a few days of escape- all was last minute. This booking was the best location for wandering, convenience, time wasting and general hanging about. Guest house has many, many room standards- so if you dont get one you like the first time- keep asking till you hit a room which matches your expectations. Apart from getting a suitable room, the staff are lovely, everything is very low key and cosy, and Nabin (Front end Manager) is a friendly face if you get stuck. Food in the hotel is good. Heating was a problem because power blackouts meant electric heater only switched on between 10pm and 4am. Showers may take a while to get going- but hot water is much appreciated. Free pick up from airport was a bonus!

Room Tip: keep asking and go looking till you find a reasonable room- some are bottom of the pile indeed!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sumstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pragyatuladhar, Guest Relations Manager at Kathmandu Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

KGH would like to thank you for your wonderful words about us. Our Front Office Manager, Mr. Nabin also thanks you for your kind words. Our team at KGH always believes in person to person customer service and we always try and maintain a casual, friendly and homely environment for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I chose Kathmandu Guest house initially as it had been recommended by friends as a good base for a newcomer to the city. It is really central and in the peak season chaos of Thamel it is a haven once you go through the front gates away from the music, street sellers and traffic. The rooms do vary in standard, but all have the basic essentials. I was in Nepal for 3 months and although I lived in Dhulikhel, when I came into Kathmandu I always stayed here. I generally stayed in the $40 rooms which were perfectly fine for the stay, and for my last visit before leaving Nepal I stayed in the deluxe rooms in the new wing which were complete luxury with 24hour electricity and hot water.
The staff here were friendly and helpful, and I was amazing when they remembered my name on my 2nd visit. Uttam, and the other front desk team were incredibly helpful and obliging.
I woudl highly recommend a stay here and will definately go back if ever I return to lovely Nepal

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JennyPEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pragyatuladhar, Guest Relations Manager at Kathmandu Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Kathmandu Guest House thanks you for your beautiful write up. We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay time and again with us. On behalf of Mr. Uttam, and our front office and KGH Team, I would like to thank you for your support and hope to see you soon at KGH.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Great place centrally located in Kathmandu. There is a room for almost every price range (except luxury), which makes this a sure bet for most people. All rooms are placed around an attractive green and leafy garden. There is also a restaurant, bar and different shops on site. We would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrManOnTheMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pragyatuladhar, Guest Relations Manager at Kathmandu Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

KGH team thanks you for the review. We are glad you loved the stay here. We cater to our guests with our rooms starting from a minimum budget of $2.00 to a luxury stay to splurge in, all in one place. We thank you again and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

The staff of the KGH are very hospitable and they make you feel valued. They are very willing to help you with your trip and are genuinely interested in helping make your stay a pleasant one. Sort of a home away from home.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hatravelsKathmandu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pragyatuladhar, Guest Relations Manager at Kathmandu Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

We thank you for the wonderful words and this helps us work even harder in the future to serve our guests in the best way. Thank you for your stay and we hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.3 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#20 of 207 in Kathmandu
784 reviews
3.5 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#2 of 207 in Kathmandu
445 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#41 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#14 of 207 in Kathmandu
537 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ambassador Garden Home
Ambassador Garden Home
#35 of 207 in Kathmandu
659 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#3 of 207 in Kathmandu
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kathmandu Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kathmandu Guest House

Address: KGH Square, Ward no. 16, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: $50 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kathmandu Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Journey is a deep ingrained memory - an experience to reminisce, an escapade to cherish, a secret to smile over. You recall, you talk, you laugh, you ponder - you face a whole range of emotions over that "particular incident" in that "particular hotel." Your memory is all the more enriched when something happens in a special hotel. In KGH you can be assured that your memory is highlight that will sparkle throughout your life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kathmandu Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kathmandu Guest House Hotel Kathmandu
Kathmandu Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing