We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient for shopping”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kathmandu Guest House
Ranked #34 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here for one night only, the last night of our two week trip to Nepal. Very central and convenient location for your last minute shopping! A couple in our party stayed in the "garden view old wing" rooms. You can have much better rooms elsewhere for the same price. The DeLuxe rooms were quite nice, however, and the price (USD 100) was negotiable. Free WiFi in the lobby and restaurant area, paid access in the rooms. The garden is nice for lunch or a beer, and the hotel is worth a visit even if you don't stay there. Just don't expect too much.

Room Tip: DeLuxe rooms are fine, hostel rooms are sub-standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nohmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pragyatuladhar, Guest Relations Manager at Kathmandu Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Thank you for your review. Our location is a landmark in Thamel area. Hence shopping is just a few steps away. As per rooms also we try and cater to our budget travelers to luxury travelers. We are glad that you loved our tranquil garden, it is definitely a place to be and relax. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,328)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

967 - 973 of 1,328 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2012

The Kathmandu Guest House is very central and is only across the road from 2 supermarkets and a great little French Bakery.
The staff are very friendly and went out of their way to change my initial room which was close to the disco and rather noisy. Just realise though, that " wedding season" is in full swing, so make sure whatever room you are given is away from the reception venues, as the Nepalese sure know how to party!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pennyfrederiksen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pragyatuladhar, Guest Relations Manager at Kathmandu Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Kathmandu Guest House team thanks you for your review. As Thamel is a happening area in Kathmandu, at times it does get noisy. We however, have most of our rooms that is in the quieter side. We are concerned about our guests security and satisfaction. Therefore we try our best to give you the best. Thank you again and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Kathmandu Guest House, supposedly an institution in Thamel, Kathmandu, was a big disappointment. We were initially impressed by the nicely decorated entrance and external features of the colonial-era buildings but we soon found out that was all there is. Our rooms were small, bare-bones and dingy (although we were 'promised' nice garden-facing rooms); the front desk was not at all accommodating or helpful to our guide. We were glad it was only for a night as we couldn't wait to leave. KGH seems to have lost its sense of hospitality and let its service slipped; perhaps a victim of its own success? For us, one visit was more than enough.

Room Tip: Our rooms were small and dingy, with dim lights and smelly carpets. We were in a building visible fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank moilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pragyatuladhar, Guest Relations Manager at Kathmandu Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Kathmandu Guest House thanks you for your comment. We highly apologize for the disappointment you had to face while you were here with us. Everyday we are working very hard to make sure you have the best stay and will be trying this in the future as well. We promise to give you a wonderful stay when you are here and not let you down. Thank you again and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

This was the worst of all the six hotels we stayed in during our visit to Nepal. We paid for garden views but only got views of the street..don't let the facade fool you..the interiors are nothing much and the staff complacent...all in all a terrible let down for what is said to be an icon. The only benefit is the location smack in Thamel, where all the shopping and bars are. But there are much better value hotels in the vicinity. It needs a complete makeover from the rooms right down to the staff!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank travelmania070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pragyatuladhar, Guest Relations Manager at Kathmandu Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

KGH team thanks you for your response. We highly apologize for the inconvenient stay with us. In spite of trying our best to deliver utmost service to our valued guests like yourself we could not match your expectations. We take this opportunity to change for better and give the best. Thank you again and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

I stayed at the KGH on 2 separate occasions. The first time they checked me into a old dingy courtyard room that smelled of mothballs. This was because they were masking the smell of petrol that was produced by the crane located behind the room. When My travel agent complained I was switched to a similar room across the way, that smelled much better. It did however come with an unwanted rat that would visit in the evenings. I was very worried when I retuned to KGH after my trek as the Teahouses were better than KGH in my opinion. However, I was pleasantly surprised to receive a room in the new wing that was very clean, modern and warm. You never know what you will get when staying at KGH and I like to know what I am getting when I stay at a hotel and cannot recommend KGH.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
4  Thank Roxyos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Kathmandu Guest House is an institution in the capital, but unfortunately, it doesn't live up to its name. We booked garden facing rooms 2 weeks in advance and was promised a room. I was given a "good" room on the 5th floor, not garden facing, and looks more like a worker's quarters. I insisted on a change and got a garden facing room, but still, it costs $50 and I expected better! Furniture was old, room was dark, and manager was unfriendly. When my friend arrived the next day, they pulled the same trick, saying "Madam, sorry we have no garden facing room ... but we have a room for u." She ended up in a hole in the wall, no attached toilet. Fine she paid $12 that night, but I think an institution like this guest house has a reputation to maintain. Extremely poor service and unreliable, highly un-recommend.

Room Tip: Don't choose this hotel, unless you want to have the same bad experience. For the same amount of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kookookookoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We only stayed here for one night, thank goodness. Looking at the foyer you might believe that the hotel has high standards. I too saw the floor in the foyer being cleaned with a toothbrush but it's a pity that cleanliness seemed to stop at the foyer. The standard room we were given had been booked through our trekking company and it was very disappointing- shabby, dirty and uncomfortable. In addition the reception staff were frankly unpleasant and offhand and obviously saved their attentiveness for the guests who were staying in the higher priced rooms. To add insult to injury we were charged for wifi!

Room Tip: Stay at The Excelsior, around the corner, if you want value for money, comfort, helpful staff and fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank VBrewster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.2 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#8 of 210 in Kathmandu
779 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#9 of 210 in Kathmandu
364 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#14 of 210 in Kathmandu
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Ambassador Garden Home
Ambassador Garden Home
#42 of 210 in Kathmandu
670 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#19 of 210 in Kathmandu
852 reviews
3.5 mi away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#3 of 210 in Kathmandu
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kathmandu Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kathmandu Guest House

Address: no. 16 KGH Square, Ward, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: $42 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kathmandu Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Journey is a deep ingrained memory - an experience to reminisce, an escapade to cherish, a secret to smile over. You recall, you talk, you laugh, you ponder - you face a whole range of emotions over that "particular incident" in that "particular hotel." Your memory is all the more enriched when something happens in a special hotel. In KGH you can be assured that your memory is highlight that will sparkle throughout your life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kathmandu Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kathmandu Guest House Hotel Kathmandu
Kathmandu Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing