We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent situation in a mad city!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kathmandu Guest House
Ranked #36 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent situation in a mad city!”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Good hotel especially if you have a room in the new wing as we did. Hot water and plenty of room to stretch out. The gardens are pretty and well kept and the breakfast was well cooked with choices.
Not sure if the bed linen was fresh, but the rooms were clean and tidy with noodles and tea in the room

Room Tip: Ask for room in new block - spacious and well decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackieW1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    363
    177
    92
    74
See reviews for
129
239
227
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kota Bharu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

A nice place to stay when in Kathmandu. The room is spacious. There is a nice garden to sit down and have a drink or two. The hotel is located near to the main shopping area of Thamel, Katmandhu. Hot water is available all the time even though the hotel is subject to power load shedding between 6am to 6pm. This hotel was one of the first hotels in Katmandhu catering to trekkers. It is clean and the staff are friendly. The breakfast is not that great though. There is a number good restaurants nearby such as North Face Cafe which has a live band playing Nepalese music. There are plenty of little shops selling trekking items, all kinds of scarfs, local handicraft etc etc. You can choose to buy original branded items or the not so original ones. Prices are negotiable.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the inner court yard are great but in llimited number.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamdan_Has
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We had booked KGH Garden rooms. We showed up and they didn't have these rooms we ended up in standard rooms. Our friends turned up and despite having their booking confirmation KGH told them they no longer had room for them. When we got back to Kathmandu a second time again they didn't have our rooms or our friends rooms despite us having payed for them. They would not return our money. We found them unhelpful, disinterested and unapologetic. When we did stay there the rooms were shabby for the price. Elsewhere was heaps better.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HALJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Standard type of international hotel OK but nothing more, very drab rooms a bit dingy food OK, the location was not good for sightseeing. the buffet was pretty average. Should be better, maybe they rely on their name. Staff pretty friendly

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

The overall experience was great. tried a superior room which is not bad and only has the basics. Tried the deluxe room which is really good and loved it!
The only bad point is that they forgot us at the airport when we arrived and it was late night, we got to hotel they forgot our reservation but they directly transferred us to another hotel and gave us our room the next day. To apologize they arranged an airport drop off our last day.
WiFi is free only in the restaurant.
the hotel is really beautiful, relaxing garden, great location, friendly staff, and clean!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdh4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Expensive with very average rooms at a top price. You can 100% find better accom cheaper.

We booked for one night, confirmed the room by email the day before and got a response back from the manager. We turned up at 5pm and the room had been given to someone else. This happened to another couple too while we were standing there. Their explanation was that we said we would arrive in the afternoon which we clearly did and they hadn't spoken to the booking manager to whom we had requested a pickup from the airport so knew our exact time of arrival.

Offered us a room at the same rate in potentially the worst hotel I have ever seen about a 5 minute walk away which they took me too while my fiance was left waiting. Eventually I found us a nice hotel - courtyard but what a nightmare!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonRjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

This was our second and last stay at KGH.
After the first stay in 2009, in rooms with mould and damp on the walls, no hot water and next doors disco blaring out at night i was reluctant to stay again as i thought there must be better value choices on offer in quieter areas.
However, through sheer laziness we booked again rather than start looking for alternatives and with the thought of afternoon drinks in the lovely garden, great food and atmosphere in the pretty courtyard and the convenient location in Thamel, i decided that it wouldn't be all that bad and we wouldn't spend long in the rooms anyway.....
We arrived to find that ( as happened on our first visit) the rooms we had booked and paid for months ago, were not available.
I'm not sure what the booking system at KGH is, however, having overheard other people in the lobby having the same conversation as me with the duty manager, i think they would do well to review it.
Ok, so mistakes happen and this is a very busy hotel so we were willing to have a lesser quality room, on the understanding that we'd be upgraded on our return from the trek.
I couldn't help but laugh when i saw the alternative room that we'd been given, i thought there had been a mistake.There was a small single bed ( my husband is 6ft 4") in a box room, no bathroom and with barely enough room to swing a cat, let alone store 2 suitcases and a load of trekking gear.
On complaining, we were offered an extra single mattress on the floor. After a little head scratching and trying to guess where on earth they would find some floor to put another mattress, we refused this as a solution and began with the help of our guide to look for a better option.
Eventually after about 2 hours and on telling the manager that we had found an alternative, we were given the standard of room we had initially booked. No doubt some other poor victim got the mattress on the floor and the shared toilet.
Yes, this is KGH, an old institution which is clearly still trading on its past reputation, which i can only think was established when the rooms had seen better days and customers didn't have to argue and threaten to leave before getting what they had paid for.
On a positive note, we did get our upgrade,the staff are exceedingly friendly, service in the restaurant is excellent as is the food, which is very good value and the courtyard is a lovely place to spend the evening.
It's also a great place to speak to other trekkers and guides.
I wouldn't stay here again and wouldn't recommend anybody else do so, there are better value options out there if, unlike us,you can be bothered to look! However, if you're not a disco diva and are looking for a great place to eat and spend the evening in Thamel, this is it.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, ask for a 'deluxe' room in the newer wing. And cross your fingers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#37 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#2 of 198 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#16 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#15 of 198 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ambassador Garden Home
Ambassador Garden Home
#28 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#3 of 198 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kathmandu Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kathmandu Guest House

Property: Kathmandu Guest House
Address: KGH Sqaure, Ward no. 16 | Thamel, PO Box 21218, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kathmandu Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Journey is a deep ingrained memory - an experience to reminisce, an escapade to cherish, a secret to smile over. You recall, you talk, you laugh, you ponder - you face a whole range of emotions over that "particular incident" in that "particular hotel." Your memory is all the more enriched when something happens in a special hotel. In KGH you can be assured that your memory is highlight that will sparkle throughout your life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kathmandu Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kathmandu Guest House Hotel Kathmandu
Kathmandu Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing