We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crowne Plaza”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kathmandu Guest House
Ranked #34 of 209 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Standard type of international hotel OK but nothing more, very drab rooms a bit dingy food OK, the location was not good for sightseeing. the buffet was pretty average. Should be better, maybe they rely on their name. Staff pretty friendly

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,246)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

910 - 916 of 1,246 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2012

The overall experience was great. tried a superior room which is not bad and only has the basics. Tried the deluxe room which is really good and loved it!
The only bad point is that they forgot us at the airport when we arrived and it was late night, we got to hotel they forgot our reservation but they directly transferred us to another hotel and gave us our room the next day. To apologize they arranged an airport drop off our last day.
WiFi is free only in the restaurant.
the hotel is really beautiful, relaxing garden, great location, friendly staff, and clean!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdh4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Expensive with very average rooms at a top price. You can 100% find better accom cheaper.

We booked for one night, confirmed the room by email the day before and got a response back from the manager. We turned up at 5pm and the room had been given to someone else. This happened to another couple too while we were standing there. Their explanation was that we said we would arrive in the afternoon which we clearly did and they hadn't spoken to the booking manager to whom we had requested a pickup from the airport so knew our exact time of arrival.

Offered us a room at the same rate in potentially the worst hotel I have ever seen about a 5 minute walk away which they took me too while my fiance was left waiting. Eventually I found us a nice hotel - courtyard but what a nightmare!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonRjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

This was our second and last stay at KGH.
After the first stay in 2009, in rooms with mould and damp on the walls, no hot water and next doors disco blaring out at night i was reluctant to stay again as i thought there must be better value choices on offer in quieter areas.
However, through sheer laziness we booked again rather than start looking for alternatives and with the thought of afternoon drinks in the lovely garden, great food and atmosphere in the pretty courtyard and the convenient location in Thamel, i decided that it wouldn't be all that bad and we wouldn't spend long in the rooms anyway.....
We arrived to find that ( as happened on our first visit) the rooms we had booked and paid for months ago, were not available.
I'm not sure what the booking system at KGH is, however, having overheard other people in the lobby having the same conversation as me with the duty manager, i think they would do well to review it.
Ok, so mistakes happen and this is a very busy hotel so we were willing to have a lesser quality room, on the understanding that we'd be upgraded on our return from the trek.
I couldn't help but laugh when i saw the alternative room that we'd been given, i thought there had been a mistake.There was a small single bed ( my husband is 6ft 4") in a box room, no bathroom and with barely enough room to swing a cat, let alone store 2 suitcases and a load of trekking gear.
On complaining, we were offered an extra single mattress on the floor. After a little head scratching and trying to guess where on earth they would find some floor to put another mattress, we refused this as a solution and began with the help of our guide to look for a better option.
Eventually after about 2 hours and on telling the manager that we had found an alternative, we were given the standard of room we had initially booked. No doubt some other poor victim got the mattress on the floor and the shared toilet.
Yes, this is KGH, an old institution which is clearly still trading on its past reputation, which i can only think was established when the rooms had seen better days and customers didn't have to argue and threaten to leave before getting what they had paid for.
On a positive note, we did get our upgrade,the staff are exceedingly friendly, service in the restaurant is excellent as is the food, which is very good value and the courtyard is a lovely place to spend the evening.
It's also a great place to speak to other trekkers and guides.
I wouldn't stay here again and wouldn't recommend anybody else do so, there are better value options out there if, unlike us,you can be bothered to look! However, if you're not a disco diva and are looking for a great place to eat and spend the evening in Thamel, this is it.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, ask for a 'deluxe' room in the newer wing. And cross your fingers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

The rooms here are nothing special- basic is exactly that and deluxe still does not guarantee a double bed or hot water. While the deluxe rooms do look over a beautiful garden and are worlds apart in quality compared to the basic price you will find better value for money elsewhere. Staff were somewhat confused on our two occasions we stayed and sent us to two uncleaned rooms in which they were unable to confirm when the rooms would be clean or really ready. Location is in the heart of Thamel which does make it easier to get around but there are lots of other options as well

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louisecatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Yes its old, yes its tired and yes it's a little over priced, but it is the KATHMANDU GUEST HOUSE.......... Stayed with my family of 6, including four kids aged 10, 7, 7 and 4 years. we had a ball. nice gardens, big family room and right in the middle of town. Little tip, bring back the security guards a pastry or two from the local bakery, and they will go out of their way to help with taxi prices and the like. Very friendly staff who knew all the family by name after our week holiday.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JasonPushy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

There is a vitality at the KGH which is like no other hotel in the world. The hotel caters to trekkers from around the world. The trekkers are planning their ascents in the hotel lobby and eating areas. If you have a remote interest in trekking, you will enjoy this hotel. At the same time, the KGH offers a garden which is secluded and offers a place to rest, relax and recharge. It is this juxtaposition of vitality and relaxation that makes the KGH such an attractive lodging. It is also centrally located in Thamel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFOTraveler47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#38 of 209 in Kathmandu
1,211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#8 of 209 in Kathmandu
695 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#21 of 209 in Kathmandu
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#14 of 209 in Kathmandu
574 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ambassador Garden Home
Ambassador Garden Home
#33 of 209 in Kathmandu
664 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#2 of 209 in Kathmandu
1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kathmandu Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kathmandu Guest House

Address: no. 16 KGH Square, Ward, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: $42 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kathmandu Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Journey is a deep ingrained memory - an experience to reminisce, an escapade to cherish, a secret to smile over. You recall, you talk, you laugh, you ponder - you face a whole range of emotions over that "particular incident" in that "particular hotel." Your memory is all the more enriched when something happens in a special hotel. In KGH you can be assured that your memory is highlight that will sparkle throughout your life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kathmandu Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kathmandu Guest House Hotel Kathmandu
Kathmandu Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing