We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Calm in the middle of madness!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kathmandu Guest House
Ranked #36 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Calm in the middle of madness!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

This guest house, although relatively basic, is fantastic. There is a whole new wing which is of a higher standard of accommodation so you can get anything from a backpacker dorm to a very modern good standard hotel room.

I was on a Charity Trek and as such was in a "middle" room - It was spacious, and comfortable, and had a huge wetroom.

The location of this guest house is superb - right in the middle of the hustle and bustle of the tourist area. It has a gated driveway so is surprisingly quiet, even when sitting in the front courtyard. There are gardens to the rear which are very quiet and relaxing.

It is ideally located for all kinds of sightseeing and there are plenty of taxis around - make sure you agree a price with them before you use them and stick to it. Mine tried to get me to pay him more when he dropped us off (even though I had already given him a tip). Stand your ground and walk away if they try this - it is apparently quite common. Bartering is expected everywhere - except in the supermarket type shops - and can be quite good fun.

As for local eateries - the Third Eye (out of the guest house, turn right and it's about 300 yards on the right) is very nice with a roof top terrace which is a lovely setting.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Relax74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    353
    175
    92
    74
See reviews for
123
233
224
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We were delighted with this hotel. Right in the heart of Thamel but with an internal courtyard garden which was clean and peaceful. The food from the menu is really excellent and very good value and they serve Illy coffee. We also used the travel desk to arrange trips and flights to POKHARA - do not miss this as the Himalaya views were simply stunning

Service is very attentive although the angling for tips if they know its your last day is a bit annoying. The room was what you would expect but spacious and clean and the hotel has all the amenities you could want. Although its in the heart of the Tourist area dont be put off by the thought it will be noisy - the pubs all close by 10.30 / 11pm. However I would ask for a garden facing room as the tooting of horns is incessant.

Finally - the Spa deserves a special mention - after trekking and climbing up steep hills the massages were excellent and very inexpensive.

Room Tip: Ask for garden facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

We confirmed a booking with the KGH prior to our arrival because we knew we would be too exhausted to wing it after flying for 20 hours and arriving at 11:30 pm. When we got there, we were told there were no rooms available despite our "confirmation". We were then sent to the Kathmandu Resort Hotel, and put in as dark, dingy and WAY overpriced room with horrible fluorescent lighting. I would not trust the KGH from afar. If you want to stay here, make sure you book a room in person.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Landylicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We planned our first trip to Nepal, West Bengal, Sikkim and Bhutan between August and September and didn't choose hotels in advance because it would be off season. A friend who visits Nepal frequently and who would join us showed us the Kathmandu Guest House, we loved it and it became our home base for us to return to during our entire stay. Each time we returned Mr. Nabin Shrestha greeted us with a smile as if we were long lost friends.

When we checked in for our first few days there we were shown rooms in two sections of the hotel, and older section with lower rates and a new section. We chose the new section, brand new, clean, large rooms, large bath and shower and on par with many much higher priced luxury properties at a much more reasonable price including free wifi in the cafe/lobby area.

All the staff we encountered were all very helpful and friendly, from storing bags for us while away for a number of days, arranging transportation to and from the airport, and printing online check-in info.

The restaurant with its open view kitchen offers a varied menu of good food at reasonable prices.

The hotels location in Thamel is great for those looking do do some shopping and is a short walk to the street of upscale stores and restaurants.

We would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank semrichistanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Team of 8 people, stayed 14 nights, (Sept/Oct 2012) whilst working in an orphanage. We all would go back again. Clean, respectful, honest hotel. Good restaurant, money changer, ATM, Barber, Tours Desk etc all on site. Located in the middle of Thamel. This is a busy hotel for a very good reason, good old fashioned service.

Room Tip: Pay extra and get the A/C
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John-in-Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

the hotel is beautifully laid out with lovely gardens and great restaurant and and buffet breakfast. It's pushed back off the main road of Thamel which makes it somewhat of a haven in the midst of the chaos. Several levels of accommodation, check carefully- we payed 50$ for a double which was very old and run down.

Room Tip: The standard rooms in the older part are very low standard and smelly, for 50$ quite pricey. Make s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DBeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

We are a british family with nepali links and have been travelling to Nepal for many years with our two young children (now 9 and 6). I first came to Nepal in 1996 and once I found the Kathmandu Guest House I found my home in Nepal. In fact I even based myself there during my volunteer work in 98/99 as the Guest House provide budget accommodation as well as luxury, which is still the case today. On our recent visit we were lucky to stay in the new build of the Kathmandu Guest House. Wow it's amazing. So simplistic yet so Nepali in its feel and look. It's clean, practical and spacious and we even had a baclony onto the lovely garden. Unfortunately on this particular trip several of us got sick but the Kathmandu Guest House staff looked after us like a family. They were all brilliant with the kids too and nothing was too much trouble. One of the things that striked me on this trip was the staff retention. I still receive hugs and namaste from staff who have been working there for as long as I've been travelling there - almost 15 years. It really is like coming home. I would definatley recommend the Kathmandu Guest House, having visited as a traveller, a volunteer, a professional worker and now a family visitor, it's met my requirements every time. Ask for Uttum, Nabin or Pragya on arrival, make friends, trust them and feel at home and your return to this home again and again.
Kadel Family, Kew Gardens, London, UK

Room Tip: Ask to view the room on arrival - they don't mind you changing. A room overlooking the garden is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#38 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#2 of 193 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#15 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#18 of 193 in Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ambassador Garden Home
Ambassador Garden Home
#25 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#6 of 193 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kathmandu Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kathmandu Guest House

Property: Kathmandu Guest House
Address: KGH Sqaure, Ward no. 16 | Thamel, PO Box 21218, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kathmandu Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Journey is a deep ingrained memory - an experience to reminisce, an escapade to cherish, a secret to smile over. You recall, you talk, you laugh, you ponder - you face a whole range of emotions over that "particular incident" in that "particular hotel." Your memory is all the more enriched when something happens in a special hotel. In KGH you can be assured that your memory is highlight that will sparkle throughout your life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kathmandu Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kathmandu Guest House Hotel Kathmandu
Kathmandu Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing