We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Went out of their way to ensure a good trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kathmandu Guest House
Ranked #35 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Dhaka, Bangladesh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Went out of their way to ensure a good trip”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

An excellent trip to Nepal, made all the better by the staff at Kathmandu Guest House. I stayed in the Suite room for two nights. The staff and management really helped us with a problem that we had prior to arriving and for that I must say say a big thanks. Room was good, clean and as expected for the price. Breakfast is good and there is a good coffee bar serving Illy coffee and a tea shop where you can sit and relax in a peaceful courtyard area. I also ate a good dinner here. I used the travel desk inside repception, Gurkha Encounters, to book a day rafting and I would recommend this for anyone wanting to go white water rafting. We booked a car and driver for this which was first class.

Room Tip: The location of KGH is smack bang in the middle of everything. If your on a budget there are standar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    353
    175
    92
    74
See reviews for
123
233
224
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

The Guest house is in heart of city and street is also a tourist attraction surrounded by the cafes, pubs, eating joints and shopping center from handicrafts to household items. The Hotel has ATM which was off great relief for tourist like me! Café at hotel is pretty cool place to spend a evening with coffee or Tea, and how ever hotel doesn’t allow guest accompany tourist to the room as they are limited only till cafe which I felt was good with concern to safety of other fellow tourists.
However people plz do not take the river rafting from the Travel desk! at the hotel ,instead go with professional services which offer river rafting with their own transportation facilities they might be little expensive but will save you from lot of agony.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rajesh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newdelhi
Level Contributor
128 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

it was tripadvisor where i had zeroed - in on kgh [ thanks my fellow trippers ] , and it is here that i am going to write this review vouching for the good feel of this place . a blue van awaits you at the airport as promised . the location - bang in the heart of thamel ... the tourist area . the main gate ... welcoming for guests and imposing for outsiders . and then you walk in ... beautiful cozy open air diner and bar , the decor of dragons , the feel of budha , the chinese touch , the fireplace in the lounge , the lovely manicured and aesthetically designed garden , the quiet lobby , the vibrant neighbourhood , shopping in close vicinity ............. KGH has everything .
but i must request them on two counts : 1] please provide two way airport transfer . one way is a bad gesture .---- 2] the breakfast buffet is so repetitive . and yes , every one does not eat buff .please provide alternatinve like chicken sausages .
both these will not cost you a fortune but will earn you 5/5 instead of 4/5

Room Tip: first floor - garden facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank avsharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balkanabat, Balkan, Turkmenistan
Level Contributor
69 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I hope my review does not significantly alter the overall stats for KGH, but it hosts the one bank in Kathmandu, Standard Chartered Bank, we were able to find that does not charge any additional fee for usage. The same bank ATM can also be found in Patan, fyi.

After withdrawing cash, we did wander around inside and saw the atrium and lobby to be a cut above the rest in the area, as well as gracious receptionists telling us the price of the rooms that were also a cut above the rest (i.e. not for the backpacker dirtbag budget).

Supposedly they show a daily documentary regarding mountaineering, but not when we were there during the off-season of summer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthur_Wojcicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

My group and I used the guesthouse as a base when we trekked to Everest Base Camp in November. We stayed here a few days before and after doing Everest.

The rooms were very clean and a great size for two people sharing, we had a lot of kit to sort out so space was necessary!

We never ate in the guesthouse apart from breakfast so can't comment on the menu. The breakfast was served in a buffet style and they had a great selection from cooked foods to cereal and toast.

On returning from Everest EVERYONE made use of the spa facilities as we all needed to feel a little pampered after what we went through, I had a full body massage which was a great price and so relaxing, I would beyond recommend it, I'd say it's necessary! I also had my eyebrows threaded which the girls did a great job on and the results lasted ages!

It's in a great location, there are shops all around you for your trekking needs and also great restaurants and cafes. Can not fault the place. It's also very safe to walk about as there are a lot of travellers. There is a great bar next door with shisha and live bands. All the bars/clubs close at around 12pm so don't be fooled into thinking a bar next door will affect your sleep! It's very peaceful.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank resa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Im 20 years old and visited this Guest House while travelling. Very warm welcome from all the staff nothing is to much trouble for them. The rooms are clean and basic, dont expect much more in India!! Lovely gardens to chill out with a peaceful atmosphere. Fantastic place to meet other people who are also travelling. The breakfast is basic but was ok had pancakes and basic cereals and orange juice. The hotel also offers a cleaning service i wouldnt advise you washed your clothes yourself as the water and the air is not clean therefore you clothes end up black and smelling! There is a money changing facility in the hotel and a few shops one fantastic jewelry ship you must pop in if you go!! There is one television where the reception is. The hotel is in a perfect location in the heart of Thamel, outside the hotel is all hustle and bustle there are gates surrounding the hotel. There are lovely bars and restaurants surrounding the hotel ranging from Italian, Indian and Mexican. The shops are beautiful, selling Indian ethnic items. Shop assistants are very talkative and want to know everything about your life and they want you to know about there's an exchange of culture in about 30 minutes! The hotel is value for money, I would defiantly stay at this hotel and recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

One of the famous landmarks in Kathmandu, Nepal. People from all over the world visit the place while travelling to kathmandu. There are queues to stay in the place and in case you would like to visit this, please book them from six months before your travel.
The hospitality of the staff was enormous. They would take care of everything that we wanted. It was made available to us within minutes.
The entrance lobby is fabulous, a piece of tradition with small stupas. It is very close to one of the stupa there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C505_Madhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#37 of 193 in Kathmandu
1,130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#2 of 193 in Kathmandu
1,152 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#16 of 193 in Kathmandu
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#18 of 193 in Kathmandu
441 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ambassador Garden Home
Ambassador Garden Home
#25 of 193 in Kathmandu
654 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#5 of 193 in Kathmandu
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kathmandu Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kathmandu Guest House

Property: Kathmandu Guest House
Address: KGH Sqaure, Ward no. 16 | Thamel, PO Box 21218, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kathmandu Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Journey is a deep ingrained memory - an experience to reminisce, an escapade to cherish, a secret to smile over. You recall, you talk, you laugh, you ponder - you face a whole range of emotions over that "particular incident" in that "particular hotel." Your memory is all the more enriched when something happens in a special hotel. In KGH you can be assured that your memory is highlight that will sparkle throughout your life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kathmandu Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kathmandu Guest House Hotel Kathmandu
Kathmandu Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing